You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-30 03:47:58

From: Glasgow, UK
Registered: 2005-02-21
Posts: 43

Arch Install and creating Initrd

Hi. I'm a pretty big arch fan but for some reason arch never installs right for me.

For 0.7 it was the files in /boot/grub that didn't exist (stage2, reiserfs etc) but i booted into knoppix and copied them accross.

Now with 0.7.1 it's seems to be initrd26.img thats causing grub error 15.

I only have System.map26, diag1.img, grub, kconfig26 and vmlinuz26. How do i get an initrd26.img?

Cheers in advance.


#2 2006-04-30 09:06:25

Registered: 2006-04-29
Posts: 71

Re: Arch Install and creating Initrd

The wiki got a good article on that.

Hope it works.

Sebastian  A. Liem


#3 2006-05-15 08:39:22

From: In Front of My PC
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 253

Re: Arch Install and creating Initrd

Just Enquiring, nothing seriously meant.:
How are u a big ArchLinux Fan if u cant get it working??

Be yourself, because you are all that you can be


#4 2006-05-15 15:27:24

Registered: 2006-04-30
Posts: 235

Re: Arch Install and creating Initrd

Sounds to me like he has gotten them working, it's just been messy though.

mkinitrd auto

will generate a initrd for the kernel you are currently running, but if you haven't gotten grub to start up your kernel, I don't think it will work. In this case, I think you have to do a

mkinitrd kernel_version=yourkernelhere

I looked around (very breifly) and couldn't find any documentation on this so unfortunatly I can't point towards anything to look at.


Board footer

Powered by FluxBB