You are not logged in.

#1 2016-03-31 20:53:22

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 781

GTK updates

OK, I have both GTK2 and 3 installed, preferring GTK3 whenever possible, but I'm noticing issues with each update. Either failing to consistently render fonts the same as earlier versions, and after today's update I've lost menu highlighting in Firefox. This is using FF 45.0-1 (the latest two updates have their own issues, which I've posted a bug for).

Is there stuff I should be doing to have GTK behave consistently?

For info, these are NOT system wide problems, and only seem to affect FF.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 680 4Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

#2 2016-03-31 20:58:12

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 6,178

Re: GTK updates

Roken wrote:

Is there stuff I should be doing to have GTK behave consistently?

Not really. GTK updates always break things, that's just how upstream is in this case.

Last edited by Scimmia (2016-03-31 20:58:22)

Offline

#3 2016-03-31 21:18:03

Daerandin
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2013-05-07
Posts: 184

Re: GTK updates

If you are running testing then you have probably had GTK3 updated to 3.20, which is not compatible with themes that have yet to be updated. You can switch the the default GTK3 theme Adwaita until your current theme has been updated to work with the new version. I am having the same issue myself with FF which happen to be the only GTK3 program I am using.

There is an AUR package of FF for GTK2 which you may want to look into if GTK3 is too much of a pain, but I don't have any experience with that myself.

Offline

#4 2016-03-31 21:45:46

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 781

Re: GTK updates

Thanks for the replies, guys. It's not critical, so I'll make do for now. It's just good to know it's not just me. Misery loves company.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 680 4Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

#5 2016-04-07 12:25:32

SpyroRyder
Member
Registered: 2014-10-01
Posts: 3

Re: GTK updates

GTK 3.20 introduced a bunch of new CSS related themeing stuff so that they (hopefully) shouldn't have to break things so often, however Firefox hasn't yet got support for all of it.  They are working on the issue but I have no idea when that might drift through to the various channels.

Offline

#6 2016-04-09 18:10:27

GourdCaptain
Member
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 118

Re: GTK updates

Are there any compatible themes with GTK 3.20 yet? Using Adwaita makes my eyes hurt if I'm stuck on it for now...

Offline

#7 2016-04-09 18:12:37

Xabre
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 647

Re: GTK updates

I'm using gtk-theme-arc, can find it in AUR.

Offline

#8 2016-04-09 18:25:45

GourdCaptain
Member
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 118

Re: GTK updates

Xabre wrote:

I'm using gtk-theme-arc, can find it in AUR.

Not really my thing either (I'm a Numix-ArchBlue or Numix-Frost kind of guy) but base numix-themes-git is working relatively well at the moment. Bit more red than I care for, but it means I'm not going to want to scream in frustration too much while using this until those themes get updated.

GTK3: That library that for years has been a source of "Well, I could use that theme I like... wait, GTK3 broke it a month ago." It's gotten so bad I minimize the amount of GTK3 apps I have just because I can't make them not cause eye strain for me for any amount of time. It's just I don't want to compile firefox every time it updates (even on a recent, fairly high end laptop I got last year, that's a solid hour) and a few other things (Handbrake, anything associated with Pulseaudio).

Offline

#9 2016-04-09 18:29:50

headkase
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 1,670
Website

Re: GTK updates

GTK3 is plain rude to their users.  Breaking existing themes with practically every update is not a very nice way to go about things.  As with GourdCaptain, it is a major reason I avoid GTK3 apps.  I use GTK2 in place, like Atril instead of Evince, Engrampa instead of File-Roller and so on.  I don't even run the MATE environment, I use XFCE, but MATE's GTK2 apps pull in quite nicely with it.  There is even a thunar-engrampa combination in the AUR that integrates Engrampa perfectly for XFCE.


We all make choices, but in the end, our choices make us.

Offline

#10 2016-04-09 18:37:01

GourdCaptain
Member
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 118

Re: GTK updates

headkase wrote:

GTK3 is plain rude to their users.  Breaking existing themes with practically every update is not a very nice way to go about things.  As with GourdCaptain, it is a major reason I avoid GTK3 apps.  I use GTK2 in place, like Atril instead of Evince, Engrampa instead of File-Roller and so on.  I don't even run the MATE environment, I use XFCE, but MATE's GTK2 apps pull in quite nicely with it.  There is even a thunar-engrampa combination in the AUR that integrates Engrampa perfectly for XFCE.

Yeah, those are great. I also use a lot of QT apps like Okular or RSS-Guard due to them ironically working better with GTK themes than GTK does anymore.

Offline

#11 2016-04-09 18:51:52

jskier
Member
From: Minnesota, USA
Registered: 2003-07-30
Posts: 371
Website

Re: GTK updates

Putting this in pacman.conf and commenting out current will help deal with the latest gtk3 upgrade blunder over the weekend. Inherently, there are some security concerns with doing this.
Glad to know I'm not the only one mad about these gtk3 updates that break almost any theme that isn't the god awful adwaita.

[core]
SigLevel = PackageRequired
Server=https://archive.archlinux.org/repos/2016/04/08/$repo/os/$arch

[extra]
SigLevel = PackageRequired
Server=https://archive.archlinux.org/repos/2016/04/08/$repo/os/$arch

[community]
SigLevel = PackageRequired
Server=https://archive.archlinux.org/repos/2016/04/08/$repo/os/$arch

Last edited by jskier (2016-04-09 18:52:08)


--
JSkier

Offline

#12 2016-04-09 19:01:52

wkd
Member
Registered: 2016-04-04
Posts: 14

Re: GTK updates

I'm pretty sure just temporarily putting in

IgnorePkg=gtk3

will bridge the gap as well even if "partial upgrades" are not supported.
But yes, gtk3 strikes again.

Offline

#13 2016-04-09 19:04:30

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 6,178

Re: GTK updates

wkd wrote:

I'm pretty sure just temporarily putting in

IgnorePkg=gtk3

will bridge the gap as well even if "partial upgrades" are not supported.
But yes, gtk3 strikes again.

I wouldn't do that; many things will break.

Offline

#14 2016-04-09 19:10:40

wkd
Member
Registered: 2016-04-04
Posts: 14

Re: GTK updates

Scimmia wrote:

I wouldn't do that; many things will break.

Really? I had that set for over a year when gtk3 first introduced CSD and nothing broke. I suppose I could've been lucky, because I generally avoid gtk3 applications where possible.

Offline

#15 2016-04-09 20:35:36

andreyv
Member
From: Riga, Latvia
Registered: 2012-11-02
Posts: 31

Re: GTK updates

Here's a nice article on the problem: https://igurublog.wordpress.com/2012/11 … in-threes/

In 3.5 years nothing has changed.

Offline

#16 2016-04-09 21:52:22

cryzed
Member
Registered: 2010-05-11
Posts: 8

Re: GTK updates

Nevermind

Last edited by cryzed (2016-08-27 01:16:41)

Offline

#17 2016-04-09 21:58:12

gregfrankenstein
Member
Registered: 2015-09-12
Posts: 8

Re: GTK updates

Roken wrote:

For info, these are NOT system wide problems, and only seem to affect FF.

I don't know about system wide, but it's not just Firefox.  I don't use GNOME as an environment, but any GNOME-based app is glitched like crazy.  Both Firefox and gedit have invisible scroll bars and text highlighting won't show up.  Functionally I can select text, but I can't actually see what I'm selecting.  I just made a typo while writing this and had a heck of a time trying to replace those couple words.  The "save changes to document" window in gedit has no distinguishable buttons, only stray text that functions as a button.  Same with the HTML buttons in Firefox, like the "submit" button at the bottom of this reply page.  If I'm prompted for the GNOME keyring password, I'm typing into a non-existent text box.  Galculator has no buttons either.  The settings menu in Cheese is-- I don't even know what's going on.

Yeesh.  I never thought I'd wish for a browser that runs on Qt.  I'm not running testing either.  How did GNOME mess up this bad?

Last edited by gregfrankenstein (2016-04-09 21:59:56)

Offline

#18 2016-04-09 22:02:10

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 6,178

Re: GTK updates

gregfrankenstein wrote:
Roken wrote:

For info, these are NOT system wide problems, and only seem to affect FF.

I don't know about system wide, but it's not just Firefox.  I don't use GNOME as an environment, but any GNOME-based app is glitched like crazy.  Both Firefox and gedit have invisible scroll bars and text highlighting won't show up.  Functionally I can select text, but I can't actually see what I'm selecting.  I just made a typo while writing this and had a heck of a time trying to replace those couple words.  The "save changes to document" window in gedit has no distinguishable buttons, only stray text that functions as a button.  Same with the HTML buttons in Firefox, like the "submit" button at the bottom of this reply page.  If I'm prompted for the GNOME keyring password, I'm typing into a non-existent text box.  Galculator has no buttons either.  The settings menu in Cheese is-- I don't even know what's going on.

Yeesh.  I never thought I'd wish for a browser that runs on Qt.  I'm not running testing either.  How did GNOME mess up this bad?

That all sounds like theme issues. If that's the case, they didn't mess up, your theme creator is just slow.

Offline

#19 2016-04-09 22:45:42

cryzed
Member
Registered: 2010-05-11
Posts: 8

Re: GTK updates

Downgrading to firefox 45.0.1-1, icu 56.1-2 and gtk3 3.18.9-1 and adding those to IgnorePkg seems to work for now. I am aware that this can only be a temporary workaround.

Offline

#20 2016-04-09 22:46:34

SpaceCadet
Banned
Registered: 2014-10-12
Posts: 18

Re: GTK updates

Scimmia wrote:

That all sounds like theme issues. If that's the case, they didn't mess up, your theme creator is just slow.

But that's the whole problem isn't it? Minor number gtk+ updates are completely fucking up themes every single time, and they shouldn't.

Offline

#21 2016-04-09 22:58:37

gregfrankenstein
Member
Registered: 2015-09-12
Posts: 8

Re: GTK updates

Scimmia wrote:

That all sounds like theme issues. If that's the case, they didn't mess up, your theme creator is just slow.

Well I'll be.  I don't know that I like the look of this theme, but switching over to Vertex fixed most of the annoyances.  Though strangely my scroll bar is even less visible now, but at least I can highlight text and use buttons.

I guess Raleigh is what needs fixin'.

Offline

#22 2016-04-09 23:09:01

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 6,178

Re: GTK updates

SpaceCadet wrote:
Scimmia wrote:

That all sounds like theme issues. If that's the case, they didn't mess up, your theme creator is just slow.

But that's the whole problem isn't it? Minor number gtk+ updates are completely fucking up themes every single time, and they shouldn't.

"Shouldn't" isn't the right word here. If the people that code GTK+ say it should, then it should. You may wish they didn't, but it's not really under your control.

Offline

#23 2016-04-09 23:17:31

axfelix
Member
Registered: 2015-02-08
Posts: 51

Re: GTK updates

I can't believe they broke every non-Adwaita theme again. At least it seems like very few extensions were broken this time. I really like Gnome 3, I'm just sick of being an apologist, and the theme versioning is so bad. Titlebars and borders are ruined in Numix, Arc, Paper, and Vertex now.

Next time can Arch Gnome maintainers please not push Gnome updates out until at least a couple themes have updated? I don't care if it takes months, this is too frustrating.

Also, my touchpad has inexplicably decided now that two finger taps are a middle click and three finger taps are a right click and I don't seem to be able to reverse that behaviour.

Last edited by axfelix (2016-04-09 23:18:49)

Offline

#24 2016-04-09 23:31:51

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 7,267
Website

Re: GTK updates

axfelix, Arch is a rolling release distro, which means it gets updates as they come from upstream (depending on the package maintainer's free time). If this isn't ideal for you, then you should consider switching to a non-rolling distro.

For those of you who don't use gnome, but are unhappy that gtk3 updates keep breaking your themes, either switch to the default theme, or vote with your feet and switch to non-gtk3 applications. Nothing will change by moaning about the breakage here.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#25 2016-04-09 23:39:20

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 4,350
Website

Re: GTK updates

axfelix wrote:

Titlebars and borders are ruined in [...] Arc

The current gtk-theme-arc-git package seems to work just fine with GTK 3.20 wink


.- .-. -.-. ..../.. .../- .... ./-... . ... -

Arch Linux Help Guide   •   How to report a problem

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB