You are not logged in.

#76 2016-04-10 11:13:00

cju
Member
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 194

Re: GTK updates

Vain wrote:
cju wrote:

Oh thanks, you're right, the file itself works, just the identifier "VteTerminal" (using it for termite) seem's to be dead… How can I find out what "VteTerminal" is called now?

"vte-terminal" should do the trick, IIUC: https://git.gnome.org/browse/vte/commit … 094f2b3c51

Thank you, but that doesn't work… If I write

* {padding: 10px;}

, the padding is applied to termite, but with

vte-terminal {padding: 10px;}

or

VteTerminal {padding: 10px;}

, it isn't (the last one worked before the update).

Offline

#77 2016-04-10 11:21:12

Vain
Member
Registered: 2008-10-19
Posts: 179
Website

Re: GTK updates

Have you tried other VTE terminals, such as sakura? Maybe termite breaks things. On my machine, "vte-terminal" works with sakura and roxterm.

(I don't know termite, but if it comes with some kind of "daemon" or "background process", make sure to restart that one.)

- edit: Ouch, I just saw termite depends on "vte-ng" instead of GNOME's "vte". Sorry, no idea about that one.

Last edited by Vain (2016-04-10 11:21:52)

Offline

#78 2016-04-10 11:32:51

cju
Member
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 194

Re: GTK updates

Hm, is there any official proper "xprop-like" way how to get to know the CSS-identifier of a gtk-widget?

Offline

#79 2016-04-10 11:58:26

cju
Member
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 194

Re: GTK updates

Maybe this problem is related to this:

VTE needs to be recompiled against a newer gtk+ version.

(termite:8444): Vte-WARNING **: (vtegtk.cc:1718):int vte_terminal_match_add_gregex(VteTerminal*, GRegex*, GRegexMatchFlags): runtime check failed: (g_regex_get_compile_flags(gregex) & G_REGEX_MULTILINE)

Should I get this message starting termite although having my vte packages up-to-date?

local/vte-common 0.44.0-1
    Common files used by vte and vte3
local/vte3-ng 0.44.0.a-2
    Enhanced Virtual Terminal Emulator widget for use with GTK3

Or should I file a bug report, but which of these two packages would be to blame here?

Offline

#80 2016-04-10 12:45:50

Radioactiveman
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-05-13
Posts: 387

Re: GTK updates

cju wrote:

Hm, is there any official proper "xprop-like" way how to get to know the CSS-identifier of a gtk-widget?

Yes, the GtkInspector: https://wiki.gnome.org/Projects/GTK%2B/Inspector

Offline

#81 2016-04-10 13:18:16

cju
Member
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 194

Re: GTK updates

Thanks, but without a gnome-environment, the inspector doesn't seem to work… Anyway, what's about that warning concerning the need for VTE to be compiled against a newer GTK+ version?

Offline

#82 2016-04-10 14:38:45

Radioactiveman
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-05-13
Posts: 387

Re: GTK updates

Have you enabled the inspector as stated there? It works fine here without a GNOME environment (Xfce).

Offline

#83 2016-04-10 14:58:53

cju
Member
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 194

Re: GTK updates

Yes, but launching it doesn't work either way… It's perhaps because I don't have a DE…

Offline

#84 2016-04-10 15:39:10

Miles28
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-08-31
Posts: 82

Re: GTK updates

Gtk-theme-arc is working fine for me.

Offline

#85 2016-04-10 16:17:03

maces
Member
Registered: 2010-06-19
Posts: 8

Re: GTK updates

For anyone using breeze-gtk, use the AUR package https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/gnome-breeze-git but with the PKGBUILD from https://github.com/Martchus/PKGBUILDs/b … t/PKGBUILD (as described by Martchus)

Offline

#86 2016-04-10 22:52:32

SpaceCadet
Banned
Registered: 2014-10-12
Posts: 18

Re: GTK updates

Miles28 wrote:

Gtk-theme-arc is working fine for me.

It's functional, but it's not "fine"

This is what it looked like before the upgrade: http://i.imgur.com/IuJRekn.png

This is what it looks like now: http://i.imgur.com/DbKsaxN.png

Notice the ugly black separating stripes everywhere, and the (too) thick scrollbars. It's no longer clean and elegant.

Last edited by SpaceCadet (2016-04-10 23:05:27)

Offline

#87 2016-04-10 22:55:58

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,090

Re: GTK updates

The problem really starts to manifest with dark themes. I have tried so many over the last couple of days, and since the gtk3 update, they all have problems.


[img]https://www.speedtest.net/result/10030141098.png[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1070 8Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 6 HD (1 NvME PCI, 2SSD, 3Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#88 2016-04-11 01:22:37

cyberphiliac
Member
From: Golgafrincham
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 7

Re: GTK updates

Firefox is the only GTK3-based application that I use, and this theme-borking was driving me nuts. I'm perfectly happy with KDE's application of the "Breeze Dark" theme to KDE and GTK2 apps, though, so I didn't want to muck around with installing and changing themes just to unbork Firefox. Fortunately, there's an easy fix for those who use Firefox under KDE (Plasma 5):

Start up System Settings (/usr/bin/systemsettings5) and go to Appearance > Application Style > GNOME Application Style (GTK).
In the GTK Themes panel section, set "Select a GTK3 Theme" to "Default" (or presumably, to any theme that isn't broken).
Then hit the "Apply" button and you'll get back your checkboxes, input fields, scrollbar sliders, text-selection highlighting, etc. for Firefox.

At least, I did. I presume this will work just as well for other GTK3 apps. Once Breeze Dark is fixed for GTK3, I'll change it back. Until then, I can cope with Firefox being a thematic oddball if it means I can actually see things like checkboxes and selected text. Anyway, this is just FYI for anyone else in a similar situation (KDE + borked Firefox) who doesn't want to go theme-shopping for the sake of just one or two apps ...

Offline

#89 2016-04-11 01:28:41

gregfrankenstein
Member
Registered: 2015-09-12
Posts: 21

Re: GTK updates

Honestly, I have no idea which package needs to be updated if the Raleigh theme is glitching out.  I mean, it's just sort of included with GTK+, is it not?  Is Raleigh deprecated and not supported anymore?  I still find it weird that I'm getting more stability with a third-party theme like Arc.

Offline

#90 2016-04-11 03:32:44

axfelix
Member
Registered: 2015-02-08
Posts: 54

Re: GTK updates

Should I be concerned about more applications forgetting the window size and position they were last opened with? I'm assuming that's an early Gnome 3.20 theme breakage too?

Offline

#91 2016-04-11 08:19:38

marmistrz
Member
Registered: 2016-01-05
Posts: 108

Re: GTK updates

Hmm... I tried the Vertex theme, works ok for now, but have another problem. All the dialogs in Cinnamon are in the top left corner, and not in the center as they should... /edit: seems a problem with the Vertex theme.

I think it's a good idea to gather all the working themes in the Wiki. From what I tried, Adwaita and Arc both seem to work.

Last edited by marmistrz (2016-04-11 09:16:44)

Offline

#92 2016-04-11 09:33:28

ooo
Member
Registered: 2013-04-10
Posts: 1,613

Re: GTK updates

axfelix wrote:

Should I be concerned about more applications forgetting the window size and position they were last opened with?

marmistrz wrote:

All the dialogs in Cinnamon are in the top left corner, and not in the center as they should...

This is a bug in gtk apparently, and should get fixed when 3.20.3 rolls out: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=211166

Offline

#93 2016-04-11 09:38:36

Tharbad
Member
Registered: 2016-02-27
Posts: 239

Re: GTK updates

FYI

You can downgrade the package using the arch archives and pacman -U <package>
https://archive.archlinux.org/packages/g/gtk3/

1) Look in your /var/log/pacman.log for the needed version.
2) Downgrade
3) restart relevant apps (in my case: python IDLE, Firefox and gedit). Unless you're using gnome, there is no need to restart the DE itself, just the apps.
4) If all is OK add the ignore line in pacman.conf.

Offline

#94 2016-04-11 09:39:56

Chazza
Wiki Maintainer
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2013-06-02
Posts: 506

Re: GTK updates

gregfrankenstein wrote:

Honestly, I have no idea which package needs to be updated if the Raleigh theme is glitching out.  I mean, it's just sort of included with GTK+, is it not?  Is Raleigh deprecated and not supported anymore?  I still find it weird that I'm getting more stability with a third-party theme like Arc.

Its GTK+ 2 and 3 versions are indeed provided by the gtk2 and gtk3 packages. It's no longer the fallback theme for GTK+ 3 applications as of version 3.14 but I'm not aware of it not being supported anymore.

marmistrz wrote:

I think it's a good idea to gather all the working themes in the Wiki.

This has now been done: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GTK%2B#Themes. See the GTK+ 2 and GTK+ 3.20 or newer are supported section.

Last edited by Chazza (2016-04-11 10:06:02)

Offline

#95 2016-04-11 12:20:00

marmistrz
Member
Registered: 2016-01-05
Posts: 108

Re: GTK updates

@ooo: thanks!

As for the listed themes: Numix from numix-themes doesn't work for me, the whole styling is screwed.
With Vertex, the Firefox scrollbar isn't styled properly.

Besides, I can't launch Eclipse marketplace with SWT_GTK3 right now ;/ When using SWT_GTK2, the marketplace window appears properly.

Offline

#96 2016-04-11 14:08:04

TiZ
Member
Registered: 2009-02-27
Posts: 49

Re: GTK updates

I need this fix to prevent Gtk3 menus and other popups from having terrible ugly shadows with xfwm4+compton. How would I adapt it to 3.20?

.window-frame, .window-frame:backdrop {
    box-shadow: 0 0 0 black;
    border-style: none;
    margin: 0;
    border-radius: 0;
}

.titlebar { border-radius: 0; }
.window-frame.csd.popup, .header-bar { box-shadow: none; }

I'm heavily considering moving every app I can to its gtk2 version from AUR, but I'd rather just fix gtk3.

Last edited by TiZ (2016-04-11 19:13:27)

Offline

#97 2016-04-11 19:57:50

ooo
Member
Registered: 2013-04-10
Posts: 1,613

Re: GTK updates

TiZ wrote:

I need this fix to prevent Gtk3 menus and other popups from having terrible ugly shadows with xfwm4+compton. How would I adapt it to 3.20?

Not 100% sure on this, but try changing '.window-frame' to 'decoration' and '.header-bar' to 'headerbar' (both without the prepending dot)

I'm heavily considering moving every app I can to its gtk2 version from AUR, but I'd rather just fix gtk3.

If themes breaking on every update is the only thing bothering you with gtk3, it seems pointless at this time, as the changes in this release are supposed to prevent theme breakage in the future.

Offline

#98 2016-04-11 20:12:03

jedi
Member
From: Earth, usually...
Registered: 2014-01-07
Posts: 16
Website

Re: GTK updates

Aye, the dark themes seem to be the worst.  As hdd's have exploded in size, so has my collection of themes!  Out of all of them only Black-n-Blue-GTK works correctly now.  Been needing to do some "house-cleaning"... smile

Big thanks to whichever member added the new gtk 3.20 themes to the wiki!  https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GTK%2B#Themes  Trying some of them out now...

(everything from the above link in the wiki is working perfectly for me!  Again, big thanks!)

Last edited by jedi (2016-04-11 20:33:43)


My Blog | VSIDO
"No matter how smart you are you can never convince someone stupid that they are stupid."  Anonymous

Offline

#99 2016-04-11 22:06:08

coalpaw
Member
Registered: 2016-04-11
Posts: 1

Re: GTK updates

It seems like the network manager applet is messed up to, at least for me.  The main settings window cannot be resized and editing a vpn connection is impossible because the entire dialog is no longer visible.

Offline

#100 2016-04-12 00:53:58

Thorned_Rose
Member
From: Auckland, New Zealand
Registered: 2015-12-30
Posts: 36

Re: GTK updates

In case this helps anyone else as a temporary solution for the Firefox issues (or you use only a few GTK3 apps), you can set a per app theme --

First copy the .desktop file for the app you want to theme to your local folder (easy to delete when you want to revert). I'm changing Firefox's theme in this example.

$ cp /usr/share/applications/firefox.desktop ~/.local/share/applications/firefox.desktop

Then edit the locally made .desktop file with whatever text editor you want (I'm using leafpad)

$ leafpad ~/.local/share/applications/firefox.desktop

Find the line that says:

Exec=firefox %u

And change it to:

Exec=env GTK_THEME=Adwaita firefox %u

Obviously you don't have to use Adwaita. You can change it to whatever theme you want. But you may need to put in the full address e.g. /usr/share/themes/<the theme you want to use>/


Sources:
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=37487
http://worldofgnome.org/running-gtk-app … s-per-app/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB