You are not logged in.

#126 2016-04-19 13:50:40

surfatwork
Member
Registered: 2012-01-05
Posts: 137

Re: GTK updates

clfarron4 wrote:
bogdan2011 wrote:

- in Cinnamon, right clicking brings up the menu in a fixed place, not under the mouse cursor

I have the first one as well. It may be the case that we have to tell the CInnamon developers about this one.

It doesnt seem to be a fixed place. It seems to be the first place you right click in a window. i.e. the first time you click, the right click menu appears in the correct place. But all subsequent right-click menus appear at the same place, regardless of what or  where you right click in that window. Actually not even window - every frame.

Edit: not frame either. It seems to be every right click menu. So if a window/frame offers 2 right click menus, then both will appear in the correct location the first time they are initiated. and keep appearing there until the window/frame is destroyed.

Last edited by surfatwork (2016-04-19 13:53:41)

Offline

#127 2016-04-19 18:18:18

hippieben
Member
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 218

Re: GTK updates

axfelix wrote:

Also, my touchpad has inexplicably decided now that two finger taps are a middle click and three finger taps are a right click and I don't seem to be able to reverse that behaviour.

Roll back libinput.  I had that issue too.

Last edited by hippieben (2016-04-19 18:19:04)

Offline

#128 2016-04-20 01:49:09

TBoshoven
Member
Registered: 2013-07-25
Posts: 44

Re: GTK updates

Turns out I was wrong and breeze-git did not fix all my theme issues.
This post did.
Just change "Breeze" to "breeze" in ~/.config/gtk-3.0/settings.ini

Thanks slytux!

Offline

#129 2016-04-20 14:10:26

IgnorantGuru
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 640
Website

Re: GTK updates

stupidus wrote:

I have an issue with drag and drop in GTK3 applications. As soon as I start to drag some element, none of my i3 keybinds work, so I cannot switch to another window. It still works in GTK2 applications such as Thunderbird, but not in GTK3 applications such as Firefox or spaceFM. Of course, I am not sure if it is actually GTK3's fault, but considering all the problems it has caused the last few days, it's sort of the first candidate to blame. Does anyone else have issues with drag and drop?

On SpaceFM, please be advised that there is an issue open on a drag-n-drop crash with GTK 3.20.  Thus far I haven't been able to reproduce this (testing on Archbang with 3.20.3-1), so any additional info there is welcome, particularly a backtrace with debugging symbols intact.  Thus far it looks like this crash (which may also freeze or crash the X server) may be in GTK's code, but hopefully this can be resolved in SpaceFM shortly with more info.  Also, some other stdout warnings may appear when running SpaceFM under GTK3, although these should be innocuous.

Note that SpaceFM may be built to run on GTK 2 or 3.  The AUR includes spacefm-gtk2, which avoids the neverending GTK3 instability and breakage.

Offline

#130 2016-04-20 14:40:49

Amarildo
Member
Registered: 2013-09-21
Posts: 276
Website

Re: GTK updates

I'm kind of ignorant on this issue.

Will GTK release an update that makes it compatible with older themes?


If it ain't broke, you haven't tweaked it enough...

Offline

#131 2016-04-20 14:51:26

IgnorantGuru
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 640
Website

Re: GTK updates

Amarildo wrote:

Will GTK release an update that makes it compatible with older themes?

No, third party themes have to be updated to reflect the latest changes.  Especially with GTK3, it's vital to use a theme which has been updated for the specific version of GTK3 you're using, or serious breakage, memory leaks, etc. can result (this has been true for years with GTK3, as they originally developed it with hostility toward 3rd party themes).  They claim the API change in 3.20 will make this theme breakage less likely in the future, however.

Offline

#132 2016-04-20 18:32:08

Amarildo
Member
Registered: 2013-09-21
Posts: 276
Website

Re: GTK updates

IgnorantGuru wrote:
Amarildo wrote:

Will GTK release an update that makes it compatible with older themes?

No, third party themes have to be updated to reflect the latest changes.  Especially with GTK3, it's vital to use a theme which has been updated for the specific version of GTK3 you're using, or serious breakage, memory leaks, etc. can result (this has been true for years with GTK3, as they originally developed it with hostility toward 3rd party themes).  They claim the API change in 3.20 will make this theme breakage less likely in the future, however.

And on average, how many times per year does this happen? Because I'm almost giving up on GTK and going back to KDE.


If it ain't broke, you haven't tweaked it enough...

Offline

#133 2016-04-20 18:46:27

Steef435
Member
Registered: 2013-08-29
Posts: 554
Website

Re: GTK updates

Well, we're on the bleeding edge here, so... every update?

Offline

#134 2016-04-20 21:15:09

Chazza
Wiki Maintainer
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2013-06-02
Posts: 506

Re: GTK updates

And on average, how many times per year does this happen?

A new version of GTK+ is released as part of a new GNOME release and those happen twice annually - I believe their policy is to aim for a release in March and a release in September.

Offline

#135 2016-04-22 00:45:44

Zaza
Member
Registered: 2016-04-05
Posts: 24

Re: GTK updates

I also have problems with DE's that are using gtk3.

http://i.imgur.com/DzKPz2w.jpg > Missing textures  ( the "Real name" is actually highlighted as you can see in this screenshot http://i.imgur.com/tqSCTgy.jpg, but you can see it is highlighted because I alt-tab in another program ). Does any one know any solution to this? This is not the only problem, I have many problems with the gtk3 DE's.

Offline

#136 2016-04-22 10:10:56

sakishrist
Member
Registered: 2012-03-04
Posts: 42

Re: GTK updates

I am having these issues described here but apart from that I seem to be affected by some miss-configuration. What I mean is that when I created a new user the theme seems generally fine; not like my existing user.

I tried gsettings reset-recursively org.cinnamon but it did not have the desired effect. So to make my machine at least a bit more usable I guess I should reset my themes to their defaults. Any ideas how to do that?

Just to note that in the themes settings, on windows borders I do not have the Adwaita theme that the new user has selected ... weird.

Offline

#137 2016-04-23 10:48:48

Werzi2001
Member
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 28

Re: GTK updates

Amarildo wrote:
IgnorantGuru wrote:
Amarildo wrote:

Will GTK release an update that makes it compatible with older themes?

No, third party themes have to be updated to reflect the latest changes.  Especially with GTK3, it's vital to use a theme which has been updated for the specific version of GTK3 you're using, or serious breakage, memory leaks, etc. can result (this has been true for years with GTK3, as they originally developed it with hostility toward 3rd party themes).  They claim the API change in 3.20 will make this theme breakage less likely in the future, however.

And on average, how many times per year does this happen? Because I'm almost giving up on GTK and going back to KDE.

I'm using KDE and many applications are borken anyway (e.g. firefox and eclipse). I'll downgrade to older repository versions till the bugs are fixed.

PS: Although I'm using the standard theme Adwaita.

Last edited by Werzi2001 (2016-04-23 10:54:32)

Offline

#138 2016-04-24 18:44:29

Ropid
Member
Registered: 2015-03-09
Posts: 600

Re: GTK updates

I noticed the "Arc" theme got an update with work-arounds that make the Firefox built by Mozilla correctly show those UI widgets (check-boxes, scroll-bars) that are broken in Adwaita and other gtk3 themes. This means using the Firefox Developer Edition is possible again with Arc.

Offline

#139 2016-04-24 19:55:15

cirrus9
Member
Registered: 2016-04-15
Posts: 42

Re: GTK updates

Werzi2001 wrote:
Amarildo wrote:
IgnorantGuru wrote:

No, third party themes have to be updated to reflect the latest changes.  Especially with GTK3, it's vital to use a theme which has been updated for the specific version of GTK3 you're using, or serious breakage, memory leaks, etc. can result (this has been true for years with GTK3, as they originally developed it with hostility toward 3rd party themes).  They claim the API change in 3.20 will make this theme breakage less likely in the future, however.

And on average, how many times per year does this happen? Because I'm almost giving up on GTK and going back to KDE.

I'm using KDE and many applications are borken anyway (e.g. firefox and eclipse). I'll downgrade to older repository versions till the bugs are fixed.

PS: Although I'm using the standard theme Adwaita.


Interesting, I haven't had any problem with KDE on Arch, and I have applied all updates. KDE on OpenSuse has been another story...

Offline

#140 2016-05-01 00:25:38

IgnorantGuru
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 640
Website

Re: GTK updates

GTK+ developer Matthias Clasen has provided a more detailed explanation and documentation links for the changes in 3.20, and asks for feedback.

Offline

#141 2016-05-03 10:22:45

Eisimoor
Member
Registered: 2016-04-25
Posts: 27

Re: GTK updates

Does  my issue also have to do with GTK?


Since a few days ago, I guess after an update, I've had the strage issues. In Sublime Text 3 often times, but not always, when I'm typing text, the letters don't appear until I press a whitespace or shift+something or some special character. In firefox sometimes also when I'm typing and press the whitespace, the whitespace doesn't work and I have to press it one more time. And also in firefox  the text gets underscored as I'm typing it and only the current word, even in the search box.

I'm on XFCE and Adwaita the theme.

Last edited by Eisimoor (2016-05-03 10:23:28)

Offline

#142 2016-05-09 09:22:33

tetris11
Member
Registered: 2014-11-09
Posts: 18

Re: GTK updates

I've noticed a weird change in metacity between 3.18.3-1 and 3.18.4-1 where the grey background becomes pitchblack.
Rollback fixes this.

Not sure if related to gtk updates, but I assume metacity get its theme settings from somewhere.

Offline

#143 2016-05-09 09:48:25

gedgon
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2011-01-27
Posts: 93

Re: GTK updates

tetris11 wrote:

[...]grey background becomes pitchblack.

It's a feature https://git.gnome.org/browse/metacity/c … 4e742ad8d9

Offline

#144 2016-05-13 15:31:49

shudouken
Member
Registered: 2015-03-27
Posts: 6

Re: GTK updates

After I went through with todays updates cinnamon just crashes on me whenever I try to start it.

Window manager warning: Failed to load theme "Adwaita": Failed to find a valid file for theme Adwaita

Window manager warning: Could not find theme Adwaita. Falling back to default theme.Cjs-Message: JS LOG: About to start Cinnamon
St-Message: cogl npot texture sizes SUPPORTED
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: Cinnamon started at Fri May 13 2016 17:27:30 GMT+0200 (CEST)

(cinnamon:1417): dconf-WARNING **: failed to commit changes to dconf: GDBus.Error:org.gtk.GDBus.UnmappedGError.Quark._g_2dfile_2derror_2dquark.Code17: Cannot open dconf database: invalid gvdb header

Tried a lot but haven't found a fix yet

Offline

#145 2016-05-20 21:05:40

Potomac
Member
Registered: 2011-12-25
Posts: 481

Re: GTK updates

be careful with the last version of gtk3 : the 3.20.5 triggers a severe bug ( segfault ) when an application uses the function "save as" :

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=212811

Offline

#146 2016-05-20 21:40:07

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 27,927
Website

Re: GTK updates

This has run its course. Unstickying.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#147 2016-06-02 12:41:03

ubone
Member
Registered: 2014-08-31
Posts: 42

Re: GTK updates

gregfrankenstein wrote:

Honestly, I have no idea which package needs to be updated if the Raleigh theme is glitching out.  I mean, it's just sort of included with GTK+, is it not?  Is Raleigh deprecated and not supported anymore?  I still find it weird that I'm getting more stability with a third-party theme like Arc.

https://blogs.gnome.org/mclasen/2014/06 … e-for-gtk/
doesn't really work for gtk3 no more even if available

Offline

#148 2016-06-28 19:14:33

ReiserFS
Member
Registered: 2014-02-01
Posts: 56

Re: GTK updates

hi, do you know how i can change scrollbar width in gtk 3.20? GtkRange:slider-width doesn't work anymore.

Offline

#149 2016-06-28 19:33:00

teckk
Member
Registered: 2013-02-21
Posts: 314

Re: GTK updates

Depends on your gtk3 theme. In gtk.css, gtk-contained.css etc.
Look for something like

scrollbar, .scrollbar {
  background-color: @theme_scrollbar1_color;
  border-width: 0; }
  * {
    -GtkScrollbar-has-backward-stepper: true;
    -GtkScrollbar-has-forward-stepper: true; }
  scrollbar.top, .scrollbar.top {
    border-bottom: 1px solid @borders; }
  scrollbar.bottom, .scrollbar.bottom {
    border-top: 1px solid @borders; }
  scrollbar.left, .scrollbar.left {
    border-right: 1px solid @borders; }
  scrollbar.right, .scrollbar.right {
    border-left: 1px solid @borders; }
  scrollbar slider, scrollbar .slider, .scrollbar slider, .scrollbar .slider {
    min-width: 26px;
    min-height: 16px;
    margin: 0px;
    border: 10
    background-clip: padding-box;
    background-color: shade(@theme_bg_color, 0.7); }

If you are trying to edit a theme that you have, then you'll have to do some trial and error. Or dload a theme made for gtk 3.20

Offline

#150 2016-07-04 15:02:37

stupidus
Member
Registered: 2012-02-27
Posts: 124

Re: GTK updates

The only remaining issue I have with GTK 3.20 is the not being able to alt+tab (or any other WM related key combination) while trying to use drag+drop in Firefox. According to this bug it is fixed in GTK and is a problem with firefox now. A comment in the bug report suggests to use MOZ_USE_XINPUT2=1 to start firefox. This does not work on my system (Firefox 47.0-2 and gtk3-3.20.6-1). Is anyone able to drag+drop and alt-tab (or any other key combination) in Firefox?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB