You are not logged in.

#1 2016-06-03 22:48:41

Albertaman
Member
Registered: 2014-03-28
Posts: 4

[SOLVED] Cinnamon - add to desktop

Hello folks,

Since updating to Cinnamon 3.0.5-1 I can no longer right click on a menu item to add it to the desktop. This happens (or doesn't happen) now on both my desktop and laptop. I can add to panel, but not the desktop. Any ideas?

Thanks

Last edited by Albertaman (2016-07-04 02:41:03)

Offline

#2 2016-06-04 03:40:57

cirrus9
Member
Registered: 2016-04-15
Posts: 33

Re: [SOLVED] Cinnamon - add to desktop

I have noticed the same thing. I have 3 systems with cinnamon, and they are all acting this way. It's either a bug in the new cinnamon version,
or they changed something intentionally. I tried to manually add a launcher to the desktop, and it did work, but right click from the menu doesn't.

I googled this a couple of days ago, and found nothing. This is the first I've heard anyone else mention it.

Offline

#3 2016-06-05 04:20:43

Eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 2,120

Re: [SOLVED] Cinnamon - add to desktop

I do not see any such issue. With cinnamon 3.0.5-1 installed on a fully up-to-date system, I can right-click on any menu item and see the usual options to "Add to panel" "Add to desktop" "Add to favorites".


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#4 2016-06-05 04:30:24

cirrus9
Member
Registered: 2016-04-15
Posts: 33

Re: [SOLVED] Cinnamon - add to desktop

Eschwartz wrote:

I do not see any such issue. With cinnamon 3.0.5-1 installed on a fully up-to-date system, I can right-click on any menu item and see the usual options to "Add to panel" "Add to desktop" "Add to favorites".

My systems are fully up-to-date too. I see the options as well. However, add to desktop does nothing. Add to panel, and add to favorites
work as expected. I'm not sure when this happened. I don't use icons on desktop (other than for my shared data, and backup drives), but
I just happened to notice that add to desktop no longer works.

Offline

#5 2016-06-05 06:11:44

Eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 2,120

Re: [SOLVED] Cinnamon - add to desktop

Okay, now I see what you mean. Clicking on "Add to desktop" simply does nothing -- it doesn't even get rid of the options sub-submenu.
Though, I have never really used it either, and wouldn't notice except I saw this thread...

Already been reported upstream though, the problem seems to be cinnamon-menus is out of date: https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon/issues/5357

Last edited by Eschwartz (2016-06-05 06:16:31)


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#6 2016-07-04 01:49:09

Albertaman
Member
Registered: 2014-03-28
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Cinnamon - add to desktop

[SOLVED} The issue appears to have now been corrected, no doubt with the latest update.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB