You are not logged in.

#1 2006-05-10 22:04:38

Sigi
Member
From: Thurgau, Switzerland
Registered: 2005-09-22
Posts: 1,121

qpkg somehow forgot all its installed packages

I'm not quite sure how I screwed this up, but qpkg has lost its list of previously installed packages (usefull for updating them). Is there a way to rebuild this list?


Dammit, haven't been here in a while. Still rocking Arch. smile

Offline

#2 2006-05-11 18:08:57

gizmo
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2006-02-22
Posts: 27

Re: qpkg somehow forgot all its installed packages

do you still have the pkg and source cache?
do you know where this list resides?

Offline

#3 2006-05-11 19:03:29

jakob
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2005-10-27
Posts: 419

Re: qpkg somehow forgot all its installed packages

Yeah it looks like qpkg stores PKGBUILD, the files needed to be built and the filelist under ~/qpkg.cache

for bashburn, it looks like:

insgesamt 96K
-rw-r--r--  1 jakob users  74K  8. Mai 15:54 BashBurn-1.7.1.tar.gz
-rw-r--r--  1 jakob users  864  8. Mai 15:54 PKGBUILD
-rw-r--r--  1 jakob users  403  8. Mai 15:54 bashburnrc.patch
-rw-r--r--  1 jakob users 4,9K  8. Mai 15:54 filelist
/home/jakob/qpkg.cache/bashburn

So now you know, what you have to do to make it believe you installed some pkgs via qpkg!

(i just renamed a dir and did a qpkg -u. qpkg then searched for the new dir as package)

Offline

#4 2006-05-12 10:15:41

Sigi
Member
From: Thurgau, Switzerland
Registered: 2005-09-22
Posts: 1,121

Re: qpkg somehow forgot all its installed packages

Thank you both for pointing that out. I'll investigate further as soon as I'm back at home.


Dammit, haven't been here in a while. Still rocking Arch. smile

Offline

#5 2006-05-13 17:33:26

Sigi
Member
From: Thurgau, Switzerland
Registered: 2005-09-22
Posts: 1,121

Re: qpkg somehow forgot all its installed packages

Hm, there is no qpkg.cache dir on my system. Strange - I now have installed a few packages using qpkg and these are shown when running

qpkg -u

Dammit, haven't been here in a while. Still rocking Arch. smile

Offline

#6 2006-05-13 19:16:46

jakob
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2005-10-27
Posts: 419

Re: qpkg somehow forgot all its installed packages

that would explain the behaviour of qpkg: "forgetting" what was installed with it...

Offline

#7 2006-05-14 08:10:12

Sigi
Member
From: Thurgau, Switzerland
Registered: 2005-09-22
Posts: 1,121

Re: qpkg somehow forgot all its installed packages

Sure, but why does it remember the last few installed packages without having qpkg.cache?


Dammit, haven't been here in a while. Still rocking Arch. smile

Offline

#8 2006-05-14 10:41:02

jakob
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2005-10-27
Posts: 419

Re: qpkg somehow forgot all its installed packages

This questions goes out to dma147 then

Ok. I just tried moving qpkg.cache + qpkg.packages to "cache" and "packages", build a package with qpkg. I had qpkg.cache + qpkg.packages in my ~ again.

Now when I moved back cache and packages to qpkg.{cache,packages} and executed qpkg -u it only wanted to updated the newly built package. I ls'd my qpkg.cache and qpkg.packages and they only contain the files/pkg of the new package, i.e. i lost all "old" packages..

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB