You are not logged in.

#1 2006-05-12 13:15:27

Titus
Member
From: Izmir
Registered: 2006-05-11
Posts: 120
Website

a way to fluxbox

i am usşng noodle with KDE but from now i wanna use fluxbox

i only type pacman -S fluxbox and from KDM i can enter fluxbox. instead of this when i type startx i want to start fluxbox. can you help me?


In a world without walls,who need windows?

Offline

#2 2006-05-12 13:24:58

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: a way to fluxbox

Edit your ~/.xinitrc and put "exec startfluxbox".


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#3 2006-05-12 13:28:59

Titus
Member
From: Izmir
Registered: 2006-05-11
Posts: 120
Website

Re: a way to fluxbox

and now then can i remove kde


In a world without walls,who need windows?

Offline

#4 2006-05-12 16:48:11

Titus
Member
From: Izmir
Registered: 2006-05-11
Posts: 120
Website

Re: a way to fluxbox

FUBAR wrote:

Edit your ~/.xinitrc and put "exec startfluxbox".

i wanna ask something i'll write startfluxbox or only fluxbox ??


In a world without walls,who need windows?

Offline

#5 2006-05-12 16:58:19

rezza
Member
From: Edinburgh, uk
Registered: 2004-07-08
Posts: 234

Re: a way to fluxbox

Titus wrote:
FUBAR wrote:

Edit your ~/.xinitrc and put "exec startfluxbox".

i wanna ask something i'll write startfluxbox or only fluxbox ??

Write exactly what he said:

exec startfluxbox

Offline

#6 2006-05-12 16:59:15

volh
Member
From: Kiev, Ukraine
Registered: 2006-02-06
Posts: 16

Re: a way to fluxbox

Titus wrote:
FUBAR wrote:

Edit your ~/.xinitrc and put "exec startfluxbox".

i wanna ask something i'll write startfluxbox or only fluxbox ??

if you write startfluxbox , it executes your  ~/.fluxbox/startup file

Offline

#7 2006-05-12 17:01:37

Titus
Member
From: Izmir
Registered: 2006-05-11
Posts: 120
Website

Re: a way to fluxbox

i wrotw exec startfluxbox and it returns me with errors but when i changed it to only fluxbox my new desktop manager open


In a world without walls,who need windows?

Offline

#8 2006-05-12 18:18:40

Husio
Member
From: Europe
Registered: 2005-12-04
Posts: 359
Website

Re: a way to fluxbox

exec fluxbox will be ok

Offline

#9 2006-05-13 14:52:50

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: a way to fluxbox

startfluxbox is a script to start fluxbox: read flux's man page.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#10 2006-05-14 22:56:21

Titus
Member
From: Izmir
Registered: 2006-05-11
Posts: 120
Website

Re: a way to fluxbox

ok friends thanks lot i use this:
$ehco "exec fluxbox" > ~/.xinitrc

and now after login when i type startx fluxbox welcomes me.


In a world without walls,who need windows?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB