You are not logged in.

#1 2016-06-27 18:30:27

zachtib
Member
Registered: 2006-03-09
Posts: 20

All processes are reporting 0.0 CPU utilization via ps, top, htop

Short background, I posted this to Reddit earlier today. I'm still trying to debug this issue and wanted to reach out to the folks here as well. I'm not 100% sure this is the correct forum for this issue, but it seemed more relevant than most of the others...

The reddit post is at: https://www.reddit.com/r/archlinux/comm … 0_cpu_use/

Original post follows:

This holds true in top, htop, and Gnome System Monitor, even when the system is under reasonably heavy load (several virtual machines, plus Android Studio, for instance). My CPU is a Core i7-5820K.

Interestingly, the CPU graph in Gnome System Monitor still works, so it's reading CPU load correctly, just not per-process usage.

I do not have this issue on either my laptop, or my server, both of which are also running Arch.

I've tried to do some digging into this on my own, but haven't managed to find anything through Google (nor am I sure what exactly to search for), so I'm turning to this sub in hopes someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks.

EDIT: Here's an example screenshot of htop while compiling wine: http://imgur.com/AVwiSZA

EDIT2: I found this https://gitlab.com/procps-ng/procps/issues/14

EDIT3: I've built procps-ng-git from the AUR and rebooted. While the issue is closed on their tracker, I'm still seeing the 0.0 CPU behavior on my end, in both ps and top

EDIT4: I've installed and booted linux-lts, and nothing changes

EDIT5: Tried booting without intel-ucode for the hell of it, no dice

EDIT6: Additional datapoint: Running ps/top in a QEMU Linux virtual machine with the cpu type set to host-passthrough reports cpu usage as expected. Bonus datapoint: Windows looks fine, too.

---

EDIT: dmesg: http://pastebin.com/ntQ9Ucx1

EDIT: Updating my motherboard to the latest BIOS has resolved this issue

Last edited by zachtib (2016-06-27 19:16:42)

Offline

#2 2016-07-02 11:31:28

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,170

Re: All processes are reporting 0.0 CPU utilization via ps, top, htop

Hmm, interesting. I've seen the same issue where steal would be 100% (x cores) and only a reboot would help.

Can you mark this topic as solved?

Offline

#3 2016-07-02 11:39:47

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 9,909
Website

Re: All processes are reporting 0.0 CPU utilization via ps, top, htop

zachtib wrote:

EDIT: Updating my motherboard to the latest BIOS has resolved this issue

As an aside, do you have the intel-ucode package installed?


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#4 2016-07-02 13:20:28

loafer
Member
From: the pub
Registered: 2009-04-14
Posts: 1,772

Re: All processes are reporting 0.0 CPU utilization via ps, top, htop

The OP said "Tried booting without intel-ucode for the hell of it, no dice" so it does seem to be installed.


All men have stood for freedom...
For freedom is the man that will turn the world upside down.
Gerrard Winstanley.

Offline

#5 2016-07-02 19:32:12

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 9,909
Website

Re: All processes are reporting 0.0 CPU utilization via ps, top, htop

@loadfer - Ah, 6 edits, must have missed that.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB