You are not logged in.

#1 2016-06-28 17:46:59

k4li
Member
From: Ljubljana
Registered: 2016-04-16
Posts: 25

[SOLVED]Grub won't show background image or change resolution

Grub won't show background image or resolution. Here is my:
1. /etc/default/grub

GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_TIMEOUT=5
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR="Arch"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""

# Preload both GPT and MBR modules so that they are not missed
GRUB_PRELOAD_MODULES="part_gpt part_msdos"

# Uncomment to enable Hidden Menu, and optionally hide the timeout count
#GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=5
#GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true

# Uncomment to use basic console
GRUB_TERMINAL_INPUT=console

# Uncomment to disable graphical terminal
#GRUB_TERMINAL_OUTPUT=console

# The resolution used on graphical terminal
# note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
# you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
GRUB_GFXMODE=1920x1080

# Uncomment to allow the kernel use the same resolution used by grub
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep

# Uncomment if you want GRUB to pass to the Linux kernel the old parameter 
# format "root=/dev/xxx" instead of "root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/xxx" 
#GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true

# Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY=true

# Uncomment and set to the desired menu colors.  Used by normal and wallpaper 
# modes only.  Entries specified as foreground/background.
#GRUB_COLOR_NORMAL="light-blue/black"
#GRUB_COLOR_HIGHLIGHT="light-cyan/blue"

# Uncomment one of them for the gfx desired, a image background or a gfxtheme
GRUB_BACKGROUND="/boot/grub/all_back.png"
#GRUB_THEME="/path/to/gfxtheme"

# Uncomment to get a beep at GRUB start
#GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"

#GRUB_SAVEDEFAULT="true"

2. grub.cfg

#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
insmod part_gpt
insmod part_msdos
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos 
insmod ext2
set root='hd1,msdos1'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd1,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,msdos1  2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_input console
terminal_output gfxterm
if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
  set timeout_style=menu
  set timeout=5
# Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
# unavailable.
else
  set timeout=5
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch Linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos 
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd1,msdos1'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd1,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,msdos1  2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef rw  quiet
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	 /boot/initramfs-linux.img
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Arch Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef' {
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-advanced-2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd1,msdos1'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd1,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,msdos1  2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef rw  quiet
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	 /boot/initramfs-linux.img
	}
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux (fallback initramfs)' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-fallback-2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd1,msdos1'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd1,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,msdos1  2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=2d762d26-0075-4aec-adb3-02e9993aa9ef rw  quiet
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	 /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
	}
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry 'Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sdc1)' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-BAC0CAAFC0CA70E5' {
	insmod part_msdos 
	insmod ntfs
	set root='hd2,msdos1'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd2,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd2,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci2,msdos1  BAC0CAAFC0CA70E5
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root BAC0CAAFC0CA70E5
	fi
	chainloader +1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###

How do I fix this?

Last edited by k4li (2016-07-25 19:28:06)

Offline

#2 2016-06-28 22:55:07

WFV
Member
From: ☭USSA⛧⭒⭒⭒⭒
Registered: 2013-04-23
Posts: 288

Re: [SOLVED]Grub won't show background image or change resolution

did you run

grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

after editing /etc/default/grub?

Last edited by WFV (2016-06-28 22:58:27)


∞ hard times make the strong, the strong make good times, good times make the weak, the weak make hard times ∞

Offline

#3 2016-06-29 01:33:10

Tutti
Member
Registered: 2015-02-26
Posts: 117

Re: [SOLVED]Grub won't show background image or change resolution

Is the resolution 1920x1080 a supported mode? (see the note in: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GR … resolution)

Offline

#4 2016-06-29 10:44:24

k4li
Member
From: Ljubljana
Registered: 2016-04-16
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED]Grub won't show background image or change resolution

WFV wrote:

did you run

grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

after editing /etc/default/grub?

yes, I did bit it still doesn't work.

Offline

#5 2016-06-29 18:45:50

WFV
Member
From: ☭USSA⛧⭒⭒⭒⭒
Registered: 2013-04-23
Posts: 288

Re: [SOLVED]Grub won't show background image or change resolution

yes, I did bit it still doesn't work.

what are the file permissions of the background file?
If the resolution is good as Tutti pointed out, try moving the background to / , with permissions set to root:root -rw-r--r--
When you run

grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

you should see it say whether or not if finds the background during the make process.

Last edited by WFV (2016-06-29 18:50:43)


∞ hard times make the strong, the strong make good times, good times make the weak, the weak make hard times ∞

Offline

#6 2022-01-08 11:56:45

gingerheef
Member
Registered: 2022-01-07
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED]Grub won't show background image or change resolution

Excuse me. I know this is an old post. but did you find the solution to this. I've done all the steps mention and it shows that the background image has been found during the make process

Offline

#7 2022-01-08 15:24:15

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,427

Re: [SOLVED]Grub won't show background image or change resolution

Please open your own thread instead of necroing.

Closing.

Last edited by V1del (2022-01-08 15:24:33)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB