You are not logged in.

#1 2006-05-14 20:52:00

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

nForce3 on-board audio

Does anyone use the nForce3 on-board audio solution? I'm currently using an old SBLIVE! and it works well, has full support under linux, but it doesn't have front panel audio headers. I once tried to use nForce2 on-board audio with my previous setup but it wasn't well supported by the alsa driver (it uses intel8x0) and to get more than one simultaneous sound, I'd have to use dmix. Has this improved?

Offline

#2 2006-05-14 21:51:59

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,017

Re: nForce3 on-board audio

I'm using nForce4 (with Realtek AL850) - thus audio chip a bit newer or the same as yours, yet I have to use dmix (although dmix is said not to be needed to be configured in newer alsa, I had less problems playing more sounds at once with my previous VIA 82xx, probably due to its DXS).

Offline

#3 2006-05-15 03:28:57

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: nForce3 on-board audio

Yes, until it blew up with my power supply, I had a via 82xx and it worked very well.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB