You are not logged in.

#1 2016-07-23 18:11:17

shamans

I don't understand difference between root users and other users.

This is not a technical question. It may even be a beginner linux question in general but since I am new to Arch, the boundary between arch and other distro's is a bit blurred to me. I have a question about users in Arch/linux:

When I did my install, I believe I was doing it as the root user (correct?) and created a user profile. Now whenever I turn on my system, I am prompted to log in as the user profile (the only user profile I created). However, this user has no privileges. As a result, every time I have to install something I need to run the su command which takes me to the root user (correct?) and then I am able to run it.

My question is, if I have one user profile why doesn't it have privileges to do whatever it wants? I know I have to give it privileges but to makes no sense since there's only on user.

My other question is, what is the 'root user'? is it just another user with more privileges? Why don't I see the option of 'root user' when I am logging in?

If someone could either explain this concept to me or direct me to a documentation which has this concept explained I would be very grateful thank you.

#2 2016-07-23 18:17:29

Omar007

Re: I don't understand difference between root users and other users.

http://www.linfo.org/root.html

Furthermore, you should almost never have to switch to the root user. If you need to run a command as root (such as installation of software) you'd usually use sudo (e.g. `sudo pacman -S some-package`).

#3 2016-07-23 18:27:21

brebs

shamans wrote:

there's only on user.

No there isn't. Run this:

cat /etc/passwd

And see all the users.

There are many users for *security*, e.g. the principle of least privilege.

Also see thread.

#4 2016-07-23 18:29:48

frostschutz

My question is, if I have one user profile why doesn't it have privileges to do whatever it wants?