You are not logged in.

#1 2016-07-26 21:55:16

p3r1c

hdparm - putting a drive directly to sleep after boot

Hi guys! I'm new to the forums, but I've been using Arch for several months now (I still have a lot of things to learn).
I am very grateful for this distro, and all the benefits and freedom it brings to it's users.

Anyway, here is my problem.

I've installed Mac OS X (hackintosh) on my old WD hdd which is 80gigs. HDD is very old and it's making a lot of noise, so I decided that I don't need it when I'm running Arch from my ssd.
I tried hdparm to put it on sleep and it worked. Then I tried running hdparm.service and putting hdd to sleep on boot, and it also worked. The problem is, when I login to my gnome session something triggers hdd back on again.
Now the apps that I have manually added to autostart are skype and guake terminal, nothing else.

At first, I created systemd service which runs hdparm on boot (like in hdparm - ArchWiki). Then I tried to add some commands by myself, and the only workaround I found out was to have sleep for around 20 seconds, but if I don't log in in that 20 seconds (before the drive spins down), it will wake up after login. It's an ugly solution to my problem, I tried to search the forums, and google for answers, but it seemed to me I couldn't find the solution.

Thank you in advance! I must say as a newcomer to Linux world that I love the idea of the open source communities! :-)

#2 2016-07-26 22:04:29

ewaller
Administrator

Re: hdparm - putting a drive directly to sleep after boot

I am going to leave this thread alone as long as it stays away from the topic of hackintosh.  https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … licitation
It really has nothing to do with this thread and I really wish you had not brought it up in the first place.

Thanks.

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday