You are not logged in.

#1 2006-05-17 13:30:31

miller0521

Genral ArchLinux Questions

Hey Guys, I am not new to Linux, but I have never used this Distro before, and I am looking for a new distro ( I use to love Gentoo, but it is just way behind on stable packages ) I just have a couple ideas that I like to see in a distro, someone tell me if ArchLinux is the way to go for me.

1) I normally prefer KDE over Gnome, is KDE supported in Arch, and which DE is the primary DE in Arch? And when a new release of one comes out, how long before I would be able to grab it via the packagemanager and update?

2) I have a wireless pci card that uses the ralink rt61 driver. How hard will it be for me to get it running in arch? NOTE : I will not have internet any other way than to use the wireless card.

3) I can't seem to find where an installation instruction manual is on the website, do I need one, or is it a graphical install like Fedora? Or if I need a manual, can you point me to it?

4) How up to date do most packages stay?

5) How hard will it be to acess a printer that is connected to a windows machine? Would that be easy or hard to configure?

Thanks guys!
Mitch

#2 2006-05-17 13:48:10

Pick2

Re: Genral ArchLinux Questions

Installation Guide Here:
http://www.archlinux.org/docs/en/guide/ … guide.html

Pick2 big_smile

Edit .... One noob to another:
there is a lot of good info on the Wiki , but it NEEDS an Index to pull it all together
The forums and community are A++ !  On Par with the best of them
The "Distro" is a Rolling upgrade , I think you'll like it !
The Forum Search function is every Noobie's friend !
http://bbs.archlinux.org/search.php

Pick2  ... or three big_smile

Just Folded Space From Arrakis

#3 2006-05-17 13:52:48

tomk
Forum Fellow

miller0521 wrote:

1) I normally prefer KDE over Gnome, is KDE supported in Arch,

Yes.

miller0521 wrote:

and which DE is the primary DE in Arch?