You are not logged in.

#1 2016-09-01 07:19:42

marmistrz
Member
Registered: 2016-01-05
Posts: 108

Is it possible to specify depth for makepkg?

I have a really slow Internet connection (~300 kB/s) so when cloning big repos, even 5% less to download makes a difference to me.

Is there any option I could pass to makepkg so that it does a shallow clone of the repository (--depth 1)? There is this old bug report but nothing conclusive from it: [moderator [ewaller]: redacted link that "votes" for the bug when followed.  Bug id=34677]

Last edited by ewaller (2016-09-01 16:01:36)

Offline

#2 2016-09-01 07:55:44

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 5,282

Re: Is it possible to specify depth for makepkg?

Well, nothing for makepkg, but ...

Comment by Allan McRae (Allan) - Wednesday, 21 August 2013, 23:49 GMT
That breaks the second checkout that is done by makepkg when "extracting sources".

Just don't use the source array and manually download the source in prepare(). (i.e. basically the old style of VCS package)

Offline

#3 2016-09-01 08:06:06

marmistrz
Member
Registered: 2016-01-05
Posts: 108

Re: Is it possible to specify depth for makepkg?

Awebb wrote:

Well, nothing for makepkg, but ...

Comment by Allan McRae (Allan) - Wednesday, 21 August 2013, 23:49 GMT
That breaks the second checkout that is done by makepkg when "extracting sources".

Just don't use the source array and manually download the source in prepare(). (i.e. basically the old style of VCS package)

This requires manual editing of the PKGBUILD which makes it impossible/difficult to use this approach with helpers such as pacaur/yaourt

Offline

#4 2016-09-01 08:10:07

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 5,282

Re: Is it possible to specify depth for makepkg?

Well, that's another story and beyond the support capacity of this message board. The answer is: "There is no such a feature.", so your next stop should be the mailing list for discussion or the bug report for further reasoning, or maybe both.

Offline

#5 2016-09-01 15:42:43

eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 2,853

Re: Is it possible to specify depth for makepkg?

1) That usually ends up breaking pkgver()

2) Thank you very much for posting a bugtracker link that sneakily gets unsuspecting users who are logged in to the bugtracker, to automatically vote for that bug. Because that isn't at all dishonest.


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#6 2016-09-01 16:04:17

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 16,690

Re: Is it possible to specify depth for makepkg?

Eschwartz wrote:

Thank you very much for posting a bugtracker link that sneakily gets unsuspecting users who are logged in to the bugtracker, to automatically vote for that bug. Because that isn't at all dishonest.

This is not the first time the moderators have come across one of these links.   I hope that it is inadvertent in this case.  Regardless, the moderation team is going to become a bit more heavy handed with these in the future

Last edited by ewaller (2016-09-01 20:09:45)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#7 2016-09-01 19:18:37

marmistrz
Member
Registered: 2016-01-05
Posts: 108

Re: Is it possible to specify depth for makepkg?

Eschwartz wrote:

2) Thank you very much for posting a bugtracker link that sneakily gets unsuspecting users who are logged in to the bugtracker, to automatically vote for that bug. Because that isn't at all dishonest.

Whoops, sorry, my mistake, I didn't do this at purpose.

Offline

#8 2016-09-06 16:44:29

daniel_shub
Member
Registered: 2012-06-21
Posts: 43

Re: Is it possible to specify depth for makepkg?

Not a complete answer, but I tried to tackle this over at Stack Exchange. I think the it can be done with a custom dlagent in /etc/makepkg.conf.

There is also this older bug report: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/23065 (hopefully with no voting link).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB