You are not logged in.

#1 2016-09-20 13:37:43

1Try

[SOLVED] Bash script for bg execution of cmus not working properly

Hi everybody,
I'm new to bash and i'm trying to write a simple script that takes one argument (a process name) checks if the process is running and, if not, opens it in background.
I thought it was a rather simple task but I can't get my script to work properly with cmus. It opens cmus in background correctly but cpu usage rises to 100% in a second. I've tried to write my script from scratch again in different ways but nothing seems to work.

I even tried to write a single line bash script to open cmus in bakcground like this:

#!/bin/bash
cmus &

But it doesn't work either

However, oddly enough, if i manullay run

cmus & 

from command line, everything works like a charm. Cmus opens up in background with no cpu usage issues.

Any idea?

Last edited by 1Try (2016-09-22 07:45:21)

#2 2016-09-20 13:53:07

ewaller
Administrator

Re: [SOLVED] Bash script for bg execution of cmus not working properly

What is the name of the script?  Tell me it is not cmus

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

#3 2016-09-20 15:15:22

1Try

No of course not lol. I called it execbg

#4 2016-09-20 15:40:18

ewaller
Administrator

I am not familiar with cmus, but I note that it is an ncurses based music player.  I have seen some bad behavior from ncurses based things (htop) if they are run without a console or terminal window. 

Assuming you urxvt installed, try

#!/bin/bash
urxvt -e cmus &

This runs a terminal window and runs cmus in that window.

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---