You are not logged in.

#1 2016-09-23 20:55:12

bloemelau

[SOLVED] Getting spacemacs. Is it worth it?

I would like to use spacemacs again. This requires emacs version 24, while the current version is 25. So I go to the ALA and install the latest 24 version for my system.
On starting emacs the following appears:

emacs: error while loading shared libraries: libncursesw.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

So I figure I need a previous version of ncurses as well, but a lot of packages depend on ncurses that latest version.
I got the thought of installing the previous version of ncurses alongside the newest one.
My question is: is it worth it to try and install packages myself? I've never done anything like this before and I am worried to break things (especially since packages like bash are dependent on ncurses).

My course of action would be:

1. Looking at the current ncurses PKGBUILD and changing up the version and package name so I can install it alongside.

2. Trying to build emacs 24 from scratch using this aur package . This currently fails with a segmentation fault.

3. Trying to change the previous package's PKGBUILD to include the previous version of ncurses as in step 1

Would that be enough? The ncurses dependency in emacs is through 7 other packages (pactree emacs | grep ncurses | wc -l), so do I need to downgrade all of these as well? (as well as bash, readline, mesa, wayland)?

Thanks in advance!
bloemelau

Last edited by bloemelau (2016-09-25 00:06:09)

#2 2016-09-23 21:38:43

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Getting spacemacs. Is it worth it?

So I figure I need a previous version of ncurses as well, but a lot of packages depend on ncurses that latest version.

I highly recommend that you don't go down this rabbit hole any further. Downgrading packages is not a long-term solution, and generally isn't a great temporary work-around either. On top of this, downgrading select packages is not supported here.