You are not logged in.

#1 2016-10-22 13:24:29

shrinathk

Installing with UEFI Secure Boot - OS Loader signature issue

Greetings everyone !!

I bought a new Dell Inspiron 5559 (with factory installed Ubuntu) and wanted to set it up with Arch Linux. I am not a newbie and have used Arch Linux earlier, so I have some linux knowledge. But I am new to Secure Boot and I have many questions around it.

Question #1 - Is Arch Linux ISO signed or unsigned ? https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Secure_Boot says "Since archlinux-2016.06.01-dual.iso, bootx64.efi (PreLoader) and HashTool.efi in archiso are not signed."

Question #2 - If it is signed, is the ISO signed or something else ? I mean, is the ipxe.efi on https://www.archlinux.org/releng/netboot/ signed ? There is PGP signature (.sig file) next to it - not sure what to do with it.

Question #3 - After some reading (https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=215566), I realized that I can configure the UEFI to boot from the efi file. So I did that and tried to boot into the netboot efi file and I got the error "Operating system loader has no signature. Incompatible with Secure Boot". Should I configure the .sig file somewhere in the UEFI ?? In the Dell UEFI I see some "expert key management" with options like PK, db, dbx etc. nothing like "sig". Also, by modifying this, am I messing too much with UEFI ?

Question #4 - If I disable secure boot and install Arch Linux, do I have to keep the secure boot always disabled as long as I use Arch Linux ?

I tried netboot by booting into the ipxe.efi and it is failing because of the error "operating system loader has no signature". I also tried "dd"ing the full 800+ MB "archlinux-2016.10.01-dual.iso" and booting and still got the same "Operating system loader has no signature. Incompatible with Secure Boot" error.

Where do I go from here ?

Thanks !!

#2 2016-10-22 20:00:57

ukhippo

Re: Installing with UEFI Secure Boot - OS Loader signature issue