You are not logged in.

#1 2016-10-22 16:58:23

anno2100

[SOLVED] Obfuscated/strange LUKS screen at startup

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to Arch and  did my first install on my new laptop a few days ago.
I searched the wiki/forum and the web but could not find an answer or anyone else with a similar problem. I hope you can help me smile

I encrypted my hard drive using cryptsetup. I have an unencrypted boot partition and then an encrypted LVM volume with virtual root, home and swap partitions.

My problem is that when I boot, after the BIOS, I don't see a nice screen prompting for my decryption password (like I had it on my VM test install) but a lot of white lines that look like over pixilated text.
See a photo of the screen here: https://postimg.org/image/jjaia12k7

I can then type in my password and it unlocks my system but I'm afraid that I might have broken something.

Has anyone ever experienced something like this and could point me in a direction?
Thanks for your help and I'm looking forward to every answer.

Best,
anno

Last edited by anno2100 (2016-10-22 23:21:44)

#2 2016-10-22 17:09:36

frostschutz

Re: [SOLVED] Obfuscated/strange LUKS screen at startup

That looks amazing.

Do you get the same issue when switching to a text terminal later on? (ctrl-alt-f1)

Or is the text normal after the password?

This could be anything from a bug in your framebuffer drivers, to a corrupt splashscreen, or just a funny font? It might be hard to find someone with the same issue. Good luck tracking this down.

Live CDs etc. work fine on this box?

#3 2016-10-22 17:34:54

anno2100

Thank for your quick reply!

Sorry I forgot to mention that after I type in my password there are about 10 more of those lines before it turn into normal text and finally my DE loads.

I don't have a CD drive but live USBs just booted fine. Maybe I have just to install it again to see if I made a config error or if something might be off with my driver.

#4 2016-10-22 17:44:39

frostschutz