You are not logged in.

#1 2006-05-27 14:45:38

Luke_c
Member
From: Devon, UK
Registered: 2006-05-23
Posts: 14

Dual Booting

Hi All,
I have a machine with Arch on allready which is my test machine and works a treat so I want to start dual booting on my machine here's the setup.

2 x 80GB SATA Harddisk Striped (Running Windows XP) 160GB All
1 x 120GB IDE Harddisk (Running Arch 0.72)
1 x 160 GB SATA Harddisk (NTFS)

I have installed arch on the 120GB boot I am stuck on the booting between the two OS... Can any one help with sorting code to boot windows.


Current Desktop OS: Windows XP & Arch 0.72

Offline

#2 2006-05-27 16:55:27

wickedlester
Member
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 133

Re: Dual Booting

Luke_c , I am guessing you are using grub to boot with.
If so, you need to edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and add these lines

title    Windows XP
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1

Of course, you can give it any title you want. Also make sure the rootnoverify line points too the correct drive and partition. Grub starts numbering with zero so hd0,0 would be the first hard drive and the first partition.

Offline

#3 2006-05-27 18:26:35

Luke_c
Member
From: Devon, UK
Registered: 2006-05-23
Posts: 14

Re: Dual Booting

wickedlester wrote:

Luke_c , I am guessing you are using grub to boot with.
If so, you need to edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and add these lines

title    Windows XP
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1

Of course, you can give it any title you want. Also make sure the rootnoverify line points too the correct drive and partition. Grub starts numbering with zero so hd0,0 would be the first hard drive and the first partition.

Yeah I am using grub... What would it be for a SATA Striped harddisk though do you think.

I have these options for install

/dev/hdd  is the 120GB (arch)
/dev/sda  is the two 80gb striped (windows xp)
/dev/sdb
/dev/sdc  is the 160gb ntfs drive


Current Desktop OS: Windows XP & Arch 0.72

Offline

#4 2006-05-27 21:05:44

wickedlester
Member
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 133

Re: Dual Booting

I am not sure if there is anything extra or different to do for an SATA drive. But, if you have windows on a drive other that the first drive, you need to remap the drives in grub.
You can find an example in the wiki

Offline

#5 2006-05-27 21:25:28

Luke_c
Member
From: Devon, UK
Registered: 2006-05-23
Posts: 14

Re: Dual Booting

I have major problems I can't install the boot loader on any drive... I think I need help....  big_smile


Current Desktop OS: Windows XP & Arch 0.72

Offline

#6 2006-05-28 03:42:53

ScriptDevil
Member
From: In Front of My PC
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 253

Re: Dual Booting

install bootloader in mbr. Use lilo, if Grub is giving you headaches
for lilo the XP part is

other=/dev/sda1
       optional
       label=Windows XP

Be yourself, because you are all that you can be

Offline

#7 2006-05-28 03:43:24

ScriptDevil
Member
From: In Front of My PC
Registered: 2006-04-06
Posts: 253

Re: Dual Booting

sorry WindowsXP without a gap


Be yourself, because you are all that you can be

Offline

#8 2006-05-28 17:19:48

Luke_c
Member
From: Devon, UK
Registered: 2006-05-23
Posts: 14

Re: Dual Booting

Which one is the mbr because it only gives my choses of drives.


Current Desktop OS: Windows XP & Arch 0.72

Offline

#9 2006-05-28 19:09:44

profoX
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-04-13
Posts: 110
Website

Re: Dual Booting

Luke_c wrote:

Which one is the mbr because it only gives my choses of drives.

during installation? i think it is just named "hda"
because that would refer to the master boot record (mbr)

edit: i think you should use "hdd" in your case
(although I have no experience with multiple hard disk drives or sata drives)


Collecting data is only the first step toward wisdom.
But sharing data is the first step toward community.

Offline

#10 2006-05-28 19:31:41

wickedlester
Member
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 133

Re: Dual Booting

Your mbr should be on the first part of the drive that your pc is set to boot to in your bios.

Offline

#11 2006-05-28 19:44:07

profoX
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-04-13
Posts: 110
Website

Re: Dual Booting

wickedlester wrote:

Your mbr should be on the first part of the drive that your pc is set to boot to in your bios.

exactly

at the bootloader installation screen in the archlinux installer, you have to select the drive that is configured in your bios to boot up automatically.
For example: "hdd" if your IDE hd is configured to boot up.

You can probably check your bios by restarting the pc and holding a key like F1, DEL or ESC (depends on your computer, most of the time a message will appear on the screen, something like: press DEL to enter setup)


Collecting data is only the first step toward wisdom.
But sharing data is the first step toward community.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB