You are not logged in.

#1 2006-05-30 23:15:38

_adam_
Member
From: Dora, Alabama
Registered: 2006-05-18
Posts: 94

I can't boot into the install cd.

Alright, so i salvaged an old toshiba satellite 1555cds with 380mhz and 192mb ram last weekend. Everything was working fine on the previous winblows install but now that I'm trying to install arch, it keeps rebooting after "Loading initrd.img". It happens when using the regular kernel and the non-SCSI kernel. Im using the 0.7.1 base. Any ideas?

Offline

#2 2006-05-31 00:18:59

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: I can't boot into the install cd.

Maybe try the full initrd image and see if that helps. Edit the grub line to point to "initrd26-full.img".

(This should probably go in the CD/FTP Installation forum.)


I am a gated community.

Offline

#3 2006-05-31 05:29:42

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,045

Re: I can't boot into the install cd.

Changing the kernel line to include "acpi=off" could also help.


1000

Offline

#4 2006-05-31 11:09:02

profoX
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-04-13
Posts: 110
Website

Re: I can't boot into the install cd.

pholie wrote:

It is not i686 compatible. It's only K6-2 like I found here.

In other words: Archlinux will not work sad

The K6 family does NOT support some instructions of the Pentium Pro
and later processors (except for the Pentium MMX) so if you use 686
binaries on a K6 they will crash.

I think there is an Arch port to 585 processors available though?
K6-2 is compatible with that.


Collecting data is only the first step toward wisdom.
But sharing data is the first step toward community.

Offline

#5 2006-05-31 19:27:38

_adam_
Member
From: Dora, Alabama
Registered: 2006-05-18
Posts: 94

Re: I can't boot into the install cd.

ahhh ok. i guess i'm just gonna go with netbsd. i cant believe the architecture compliance didnt even occur to me  lol thanks.

Offline

#6 2006-06-01 09:16:02

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: I can't boot into the install cd.

You can also give Rubix a try: it's i486 and it uses pacman! I'm trying to install it on my P133 laptop right now.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB