You are not logged in.

#1 2017-01-09 02:14:11

faultylee
Member
Registered: 2014-08-07
Posts: 20

[SOLVED]Query for moved package

I've only recently found out that aur/atom-editor was was moved to community/atom. But I wouldn't have know it until I stumbled into some issue which was fixed in newer version, and have been wondering why I didn't see "atom-editor" in

pacaur -k

for a while. I had noticed other moved package like "arduino" but since the name is retained, hence I get a prompt if I want to replace it.

Now I want to know if there's any other package that have been moved and renamed, is there a way to query?

Last edited by faultylee (2017-01-10 00:46:18)

Offline

#2 2017-01-09 02:21:37

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,863
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Query for moved package

Not as such. You can find out which foreign packages you have installed (see 'man pacman'), and from that you can check which of those aren't available on the AUR. If they aren't available on the AUR, but they used to be, then they've either been removed for some reason (check the aur-requests mailing list), or they've been moved and renamed.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#3 2017-01-09 06:32:35

faultylee
Member
Registered: 2014-08-07
Posts: 20

Re: [SOLVED]Query for moved package

Thanks. I found more than a dozen, wow!!!

I wrote a simple script to check for it, in case anyone else need this.

#!/bin/bash
pacman -Qqm | while read line ; 
  do 
    aur_result=$(curl -o /dev/null --silent --head --write-out '%{http_code}\n' "https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/${line}/")
    if [[ "$aur_result" = "404" ]]; then
      echo ${line} ;
    fi
done

Also available here https://gist.github.com/faultylee/d929e … c0adbaa8fd

I'm a bash newbie, feel free to feedback smile

EDIT: Scripted updated with comment from Eschwartz

Last edited by faultylee (2017-01-10 00:50:15)

Offline

#4 2017-01-09 16:06:06

eschwartz
Fellow
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 4,097

Re: [SOLVED]Query for moved package

If you are using bash, use "[[" instead of "[" as it is much better in every way except POSIX compatibility which you already relinquished in your shebang.

"==" does the exact same thing as "=" besides for being C-compatible and not at all compatible with POSIX sh. Since you should not be conflating C and bash (or trying to remember how many "=" to use when targeting POSIX compatibility), kill this with fire everywhere you see it. You can write an angry letter to the bash maintainer but he probably won't listen. tongue

Indent your "while; do" loop...

The bash Wiki is an excellent way to learn more about bash if you are so inclined: http://mywiki.wooledge.org/

Last edited by eschwartz (2017-01-09 16:14:41)


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#5 2017-01-10 00:45:23

faultylee
Member
Registered: 2014-08-07
Posts: 20

Re: [SOLVED]Query for moved package

Thanks Eschwartz and WorMzy.

I've updated the script and thanks again for the link, sometime good resources aren't not always showing in the first page when googling smile

PS: This is 3rd time I asked a question here and I'm glad the experience has always been so much better than stackoverflow/stackexchange

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB