You are not logged in.

#1 2017-01-09 13:17:56

MicroJoe
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-06-10
Posts: 21
Website

[Solved] Push new PKGBUILD to AUR is impossible because repo exists

Hello there,

After a full system upgrade, one of my AUR programs stopped working because it was using libpng12.so (it is an old and closed-source software). I copied a libpng14 PKGBUILD from AUR and tweaked it in order to build libpng12 instead of libpng14. The libpng12 package is unlisted on AUR but when I clone ssh://aur@aur.archlinux.org/libpng12.git the repository is not empty.

The question is: why the repo is not empty if the package is not listed on AUR, and how can I do to push my PKGBUILD with this name?

Thanks for your help.

Last edited by MicroJoe (2017-01-09 16:24:40)

Offline

#2 2017-01-09 15:01:36

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,835
Website

Re: [Solved] Push new PKGBUILD to AUR is impossible because repo exists

I have posted a message on the AUR-dev mailing list. The omission of the package from the index is probably a bug. It may reappear if I push it from my TU account, but it's best to let the devs analyze it first.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#3 2017-01-09 15:06:16

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 9,217

Re: [Solved] Push new PKGBUILD to AUR is impossible because repo exists

As I posted on the mailing list, this is normal. When a package is deleted from the AUR, the repo is not, so you must start with that repo when remaking the package.

It was deleted because it's already in Community: https://www.archlinux.org/packages/comm … /libpng12/

Last edited by Scimmia (2017-01-09 15:29:13)

Offline

#4 2017-01-09 15:06:48

mis
Member
Registered: 2016-03-16
Posts: 234

Re: [Solved] Push new PKGBUILD to AUR is impossible because repo exists

As far as I know the underlying git repository is not deleted if a package is removed from AUR.

Offline

#5 2017-01-09 15:15:44

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,835
Website

Re: [Solved] Push new PKGBUILD to AUR is impossible because repo exists

I didn't think to check if the package already exists in the repos. It does (community/libpng12), so it cannot be recreated in the AUR.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#6 2017-01-09 16:23:39

MicroJoe
Member
From: France
Registered: 2012-06-10
Posts: 21
Website

Re: [Solved] Push new PKGBUILD to AUR is impossible because repo exists

Oh well, my problem was so specific I only checked AUR instead of looking in community. Thanks for your help, marking this as solved.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB