You are not logged in.

#1 2017-01-29 08:44:37

Squiz
Member
Registered: 2017-01-29
Posts: 1

sddm-helper crashes

Hello,

Since the upgrade of qt5 5.8.0, sddm is showing a black screen.

  - "systemctl status sddm" shows the following error:

 sddm-helper exited with 11

  - "sudo cat /var/lib/sddm/.local/share/sddm/xorg-session.log" displays:

 mprotect failed in ExecutableAllocator::makeExecutable: Permission denied 

I tried to remove the ~/.cache and /var/lib/sddm/.cache, tried to restore the /etc/sddm.conf to its default state and tried to rebuild sddm but nothing has worked.

Thank you

Last edited by Squiz (2017-01-29 08:48:33)

Offline

#2 2017-01-29 11:44:17

nail
Member
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 24

Re: sddm-helper crashes

Similar issues: black screen after user login using sddm - plasma shows black screen.
Last upgraded packages today:

knotifications-5.30.0-2
knotifyconfig-5.30.0-2
ktextwidgets-5.30.0-2
kwin-5.8.5-3
libnm-1.6.0-4
libnm-glib-1.6.0-4
plasma-integration-5.8.5-5
qt5-base-5.8.0-2
qt5-declarative-5.8.0-1
qt5-graphicaleffects-5.8.0-1
qt5-location-5.8.0-1
qt5-multimedia-5.8.0-1
qt5-quickcontrols-5.8.0-1
qt5-script-5.8.0-1
qt5-sensors-5.8.0-1
qt5-svg-5.8.0-1
qt5-tools-5.8.0-1
qt5-translations-5.8.0-1
qt5-webchannel-5.8.0-1
qt5-webkit-5.8.0-1
qt5-x11extras-5.8.0-1
qt5-xmlpatterns-5.8.0-1

Downgraded using archive.archlinux.org:

pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-base/qt5-base-5.7.1-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-multimedia/qt5-multimedia-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-x11extras/qt5-x11extras-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-script/qt5-script-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-svg/qt5-svg-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-xmlpatterns/qt5-xmlpatterns-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-declarative/qt5-declarative-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-quickcontrols/qt5-quickcontrols-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-graphicaleffects/qt5-graphicaleffects-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-location/qt5-location-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-sensors/qt5-sensors-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-tools/qt5-tools-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-webchannel/qt5-webchannel-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-webkit/qt5-webkit-5.7.1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/q/qt5-translations/qt5-translations-5.7.1-1-any.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/p/plasma-integration/plasma-integration-5.8.5-3-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/k/kwin/kwin-5.8.5-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/k/knotifyconfig/knotifyconfig-5.30.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/k/ktextwidgets/ktextwidgets-5.30.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/l/libnm/libnm-1.6.0-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/l/libnm-glib/libnm-glib-1.6.0-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz
pacman -U http://archive.archlinux.org/packages/k/knotifications/knotifications-5.30.0-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Last edited by nail (2017-01-29 12:12:26)


Notebook: ACER V3 771G INTEL Core i5 3230m + Intel HD 4000 + 1920x1080.
PC: AMD Phenom x6 1100T + ATI HD 4200 + 2560x1440.

Offline

#3 2017-01-29 13:03:17

volker_holthaus
Member
Registered: 2013-07-05
Posts: 11

Re: sddm-helper crashes

I had the same issue

Offline

#4 2017-01-29 15:47:56

QuackDonkey
Member
Registered: 2017-01-27
Posts: 24

Re: sddm-helper crashes

It seems after qt 5.8 upgrades some applications (sddm-greeter, krunner) start executing .qmlc files from various qmlcache directories hidden in .cache folders. It means if you have separated /var and/or /home partitions you can't use 'noexec' flag in /etc/fstab . This sucks.

Last edited by QuackDonkey (2017-01-29 15:51:08)

Offline

#5 2017-01-30 10:01:47

aexoxea
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 70
Website

Re: sddm-helper crashes

Same issue can also crop up if you're using TPE, as I found out a short while ago (my thanks for this thread though, saved me a bit of time).

I'd like to echo @QuackDonkey's sentiments; not much point having 'noexec' or TPE available if things like Qt won't work with them. Hopefully there's a way to change the (new?) behaviour; if I can get some time in a few days I'll try and have a look (though I warn in advance that I know very little about configuring Qt).

Last edited by aexoxea (2017-01-30 10:03:14)

Offline

#6 2017-01-30 10:22:38

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,562

Re: sddm-helper crashes

aexoxea wrote:

I'd like to echo @QuackDonkey's sentiments; not much point having 'noexec' or TPE available if things like Qt won't work with them. Hopefully there's a way to change the (new?) behaviour; if I can get some time in a few days I'll try and have a look (though I warn in advance that I know very little about configuring Qt).

export QML_DISABLE_DISK_CACHE=1

Offline

#7 2017-01-30 14:18:26

QuackDonkey
Member
Registered: 2017-01-27
Posts: 24

Re: sddm-helper crashes

Yes, setting QML_DISABLE_DISK_CACHE=1 in /etc/environment fixes this, thanks @arojas!!

Offline

#8 2017-01-30 14:43:19

nail
Member
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 24

Re: sddm-helper crashes

arojas wrote:

export QML_DISABLE_DISK_CACHE=1

Thanks. Fixed it!
I think this option should be added by default in QT 5.8.

Last edited by nail (2017-01-30 14:44:31)


Notebook: ACER V3 771G INTEL Core i5 3230m + Intel HD 4000 + 1920x1080.
PC: AMD Phenom x6 1100T + ATI HD 4200 + 2560x1440.

Offline

#9 2017-01-30 15:21:00

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,562

Re: sddm-helper crashes

nail wrote:
arojas wrote:

export QML_DISABLE_DISK_CACHE=1

Thanks. Fixed it!
I think this option should be added by default in QT 5.8.

Seriously? One of the biggest selling points of Qt 5.8 should be off because it doesn't work in some very particular setups?

Offline

#10 2017-01-30 15:35:59

nail
Member
Registered: 2015-09-30
Posts: 24

Re: sddm-helper crashes

arojas wrote:
nail wrote:
arojas wrote:

export QML_DISABLE_DISK_CACHE=1

Thanks. Fixed it!
I think this option should be added by default in QT 5.8.

Seriously? One of the biggest selling points of Qt 5.8 should be off because it doesn't work in some very particular setups?

Ok. Maybe we can add some notes about that here https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Qt#Troubleshooting ?
Because some of us don't want to remove 'noexec' option )

Last edited by nail (2017-01-30 15:36:20)


Notebook: ACER V3 771G INTEL Core i5 3230m + Intel HD 4000 + 1920x1080.
PC: AMD Phenom x6 1100T + ATI HD 4200 + 2560x1440.

Offline

#11 2017-01-31 09:12:58

aexoxea
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 70
Website

Re: sddm-helper crashes

That workaround has also resolved the incompatibility with TPE for me. My thanks also @arojas.

I found a bug report upstream about this (QTBUG-58508 qmlcache: apps need execution rights at every startup), however it appears the creator closed it with the workaround, so it's unclear if anything (e.g. gracefully degrading) will happen with Qt itself.

I've updated the Grsecurity, Qt and Security articles on ArchWiki under the appropriate headings; hopefully those affected in future will be able to find it there.

Offline

#12 2017-01-31 09:37:41

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,562

Re: sddm-helper crashes

aexoxea wrote:

I found a bug report upstream about this (QTBUG-58508 qmlcache: apps need execution rights at every startup), however it appears the creator closed it with the workaround, so it's unclear if anything (e.g. gracefully degrading) will happen with Qt itself.

That's really unfortunate. They should handle this case more gracefully instead of just crashing.

Offline

#13 2017-01-31 14:34:04

QuackDonkey
Member
Registered: 2017-01-27
Posts: 24

Re: sddm-helper crashes

It seems upstream bug get reopened and assigned with critical status so proper fix is on it's way smile

Offline

#14 2017-03-16 12:21:59

kazimir
Member
Registered: 2012-01-20
Posts: 72

Re: sddm-helper crashes

I mount both /var and /home with the noexec flag and was affected by this bug. I used the workaround to be able to log in KDE again.

Then came another issue related to this update that disabling the cache does not fix.
When using the "add to panel (Widget)" from the applications menu, the icon is correctly added but clicking on it fails to run said application.

First it open a windows xp like warning windows telling me to click cancel if I do not trust this program which is a mild annoyance I'd be happy to disable.

Kj8zD2JFwNMv.png

Then clicking continues raises an error "Service '/home/username/.local/share/plasma_icons/firefox.desktop' must be executable to run." about the lack of execution right on the .desktop file

-edit-
removed image as issue is now fixed
-/edit-

Is someone else experiencing the same ? Any idea how to fix it ? Where should I file a bug report ?

Last edited by kazimir (2017-03-20 14:32:48)

Offline

#15 2017-03-17 12:44:24

QuackDonkey
Member
Registered: 2017-01-27
Posts: 24

Re: sddm-helper crashes

It's not related to qml cache issue. It's related to noexec mount option for /home. I think in this case KDE (dolphin) blacklist execution of application.desktop files outside ~/.local/share/applications/ folder.

As a workaround you can do this:

Create new directory

mkdir ~/.local/share/applications/plasma_icons

Move your files from old directory to new directory

mv ~/.local/share/plasma_icons/* ~/.local/share/applications/plasma_icons

Remove old directory

rm ~/.local/share/plasma_icons

Make symlink from old directory to new directory

ln -s ~/.local/share/applications/plasma_icons ~/.local/share/plasma_icons

Now clicking on panel icon should work. You can do all those things from dolphin instead of using console.

Offline

#16 2017-03-20 14:30:20

kazimir
Member
Registered: 2012-01-20
Posts: 72

Re: sddm-helper crashes

Thank you, this did fix the issue.

I should probably file a bug report somewhere at kde.

Offline

#17 2018-05-24 14:45:01

aexoxea
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 70
Website

Re: sddm-helper crashes

Necrobumping to note that this should be fixed in the just-released Qt 5.11 (see comments from earlier in the year under QTBUG-58508).

Qt 5.11 is in the testing repositories. I'm not a testing repo user, so this is for the information of anyone affected who is (as well as a general update to anyone affected, since the workaround will hopefully no longer be required in the not-too-distant future).

Offline

#18 2018-05-24 23:06:25

circleface
Member
Registered: 2012-05-26
Posts: 615

Re: sddm-helper crashes

Please do not necrobump with PSA style posts.  I'm sure this will recieve plenty of testing and be released once it is stable.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB