You are not logged in.

#1 2017-02-08 02:20:06

dcbdbis

[SOLVED] Android Development under Arch Question

Good evening fellow Archers,

I work as a volunteer at the local Veterans Hospital here in Denver. I am an old USMC vet myself, and a retired sys admin/C++ application developer - but I still dabble in coding. I've done software for our laboratory at the VA before, so I am aware of the internal VA approval processes I need to go through. I've been a volunteer there for three years now. Currently I work in the Infusion Clinic (Chemotherapy is the lions share of our patients)

The charge nurse is asking me to develop an acuity software specific and unique to our Infusion Clinic at the VA. The Acuity software in layman's terms is basically a load-balancing software that schedules patients and their care load between the nurses to balance the workload evenly, not overload any one nurse/treatment room, and minimize wait time/maximize care for our patients. I see a small database in this app. The workload can vary from a 15 minute port flush (medical term), to an 8+ hour chemotherapy infusion.

The charge nurse has already given me a lot of documentation on what she wants the software to do, and the criteria for the software to make it's decisions. So it will be the charge nurses logic that I simply transfer into a functional application.

It appears that initially it would be best to put this on an Android tablet, or a tablet where I wipe the OS off of it, and go with some flavor of mainstream linux on the tablet. I say Android, because Windows 10 is not allowed on network at the VA because it violates HIPPA requirements. That's the formal position of the local VA's IT department at the moment. I am not a Windows fan anyway even if Windows did meet HIPPA. I prefer Linux. I am not an Apple fan so I am not looking to put this solution on an iPad. Ref: http://www.hippa.com/