You are not logged in.

#1 2017-02-14 05:34:05

tethoril
Member
Registered: 2017-02-14
Posts: 7

[Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

Arch Users--I'm pulling my hair out on this one and will gladly take any
suggestions.

Basic problem:  wireless works on an open network but fails with
WPA/WPA2 Personal authentication

Hardware:  Dell XPS 13 (9360)
        Killer 1535 wireless card


lspci -k:

3a:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter (rev 32)
        Subsystem: Bigfoot Networks, Inc. Device 1535
        Kernel driver in use: ath10k_pci
        Kernel modules: ath10k_pci

       
lsmod:

ath10k_core           290816  1 ath10k_pci
ath10k_pci             45056  0 

uname -a

Linux <HOSTNAME> 4.9.8-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Feb 6 12:59:40 CET 2017 x86_64 GNU/Linux

relevant packages:
linux-firmware, dialog, wpa_supplicant, netctl, wpa_actiond
        all updated as of an hour ago

This has been an issue since the time the system was built (3 days ago).
At that time, I just switched my network security to none, thinking I
could fix it later, got the machine built, installed wpa_supplicant and
other pacakges, but it still doesn't work when I switch the network back
to WPA/WPA2 personal.  I tried variations of WPA vs WPA2 with AES vs
TKIP to no avail.

Error messages:  from wifi-menu (normal way I connect to a network the first
time)

Interface 'wlan0' is controlled by netctl-auto
WPA association/authentication failed for interface 'wlan0'

Ok.  Not ideal.  I compared the file /etc/netctl/wlan0-myssid to one
from another laptop that is working with security on this network.  They
are identical up to the interface name.

        Description='Automatically generated profile by wifi-menu'
        Interface=wlan0
        Connection=wireless
        Security=wpa
        ESSID=myssid
        IP=dhcp
        Key=mypassphrase

So I started walking through the instructions from the manual
configuration from https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wi … figuration

iw dev wlan0 scan | less 

finds my my access point, reports the ssid, apparently reasonable
security settings, RSN and WPA blocks.

now the trouble starts

wpa_supplicant -D nl80211,wext -i wlan0 -c <(wpa_passphrase "myssid" "mypassphrase")

fails with

Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
wlan0: SME: Trying to authenticate with 40:4a:03:f1:9e:f0 (SSID='myssid' freq=2447 MHz)
wlan0: Trying to associate with 40:4a:03:f1:9e:f0 (SSID='myssid' freq=2447 MHz)
wlan0: Associated with 40:4a:03:f1:9e:f0
wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-SUBNET-STATUS-UPDATE status=0
wlan0: Authentication with 40:4a:03:f1:9e:f0 timed out.
wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=40:4a:03:f1:9e:f0 reason=3 locally_generated=1
wlan0: WPA: 4-Way Handshake failed - pre-shared key may be incorrect
wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-SSID-TEMP-DISABLED id=0 ssid="myssid" auth_failures=1 duration=10 reason=WRONG_KEY

I double checked mypassphrase.  I tried putting the output of

wpa_passphrase "myssid" "mypassphrase" 

into a config file and passing the file instead of the commandline redirect.  No change.  I compared
the hash from wpa_passphrase to the hash from a working laptop on the
network--they are the same.  Just to be sure, I issued the wpa_supplicant command on the working laptop (after taking netctl_auto down) and everything worked fine.

I'm at a loss--suggestions?

(edit: added [ code ] blocks)
(edit: marked solved)

Last edited by tethoril (2017-02-22 15:01:27)

Offline

#2 2017-02-14 06:28:45

Docbroke
Member
From: India
Registered: 2015-06-13
Posts: 1,433

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

disable/stop netctl-auto and try with manual method again

Offline

#3 2017-02-14 13:03:26

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 50,931

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

ensure nothing else (nothing! dhcpcd, networkmanager, systemd-network, wicd) tries to configure the network ("systemctl list-units | grep ...") and pass "cryptmode=1" to ath10k_core (software encryption)
Also compare the two system locales (though that should not concern the hash)

Offline

#4 2017-02-14 14:02:33

tethoril
Member
Registered: 2017-02-14
Posts: 7

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

Docbroke--In my original post I forgot to mentioned that when wifi-menu failed, I shut down netctl-auto

systemctl stop netctl-auto@wlan0.service

Working on tests from seth--I didn't see anything at a glance, but need to look more closely.  Figuring out how to pass cryptmode to kernel module.

Last edited by tethoril (2017-02-15 01:06:50)

Offline

#5 2017-02-14 15:14:35

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 50,931

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

"man modprobe.d"

Offline

#6 2017-02-14 16:10:55

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,517
Website

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

Welcome to the forums tethoril.  Thanks for a complete and detailed description of the problem.  If you wouldn't mind going back and adding [ code ] tags to blocks of commands and/or command output that would help.  You can edit the post by clicking the "edit" link in your first post.

(edit: thanks)

Last edited by Trilby (2017-02-15 02:20:19)


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#7 2017-02-15 04:27:53

tethoril
Member
Registered: 2017-02-14
Posts: 7

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

I _think_ I have everything cleaned out of any service that tries to
configure the network.

I added /etc/modprobe.d/ath10k_core.conf

with

 option ath10k_core "cryptmode=1"

now

iw dev

returns empty.

That's a change.

dmesg | grep ath10k

[   28.484334] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[   28.486168] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: pci irq msi oper_irq_mode 2 irq_mode 0 reset_mode 0
[   28.748745] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/pre-cal-pci-0000:3a:00.0.bin failed with error -2
[   28.748758] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/cal-pci-0000:3a:00.0.bin failed with error -2
[   28.748999] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/firmware-5.bin failed with error -2
[   28.749001] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: could not fetch firmware file 'ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/firmware-5.bin': -2
[   28.750242] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: qca6174 hw3.2 target 0x05030000 chip_id 0x00340aff sub 1a56:1535
[   28.750244] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: kconfig debug 0 debugfs 1 tracing 0 dfs 0 testmode 0
[   28.750843] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: firmware ver WLAN.RM.2.0-00180-QCARMSWPZ-1 api 4 features wowlan,ignore-otp,no-4addr-pad crc32 75dee6c5
[   28.814074] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: board_file api 2 bmi_id N/A crc32 6fc88fe7
[   28.814075] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: cryptmode > 0 requires raw mode support from firmware
[   28.814075] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: fatal problem with firmware features: -22
[   28.814092] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: could not probe fw (-22)

So unfortunately, the firmware I have doesn't support that
mode.  There are also a bunch of firmware load failures.
Those are not new, but I had not worried about them as
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=223056 reported no problems
with the same errors & the same chipset.

There is a ath10k_firmware file in AUR, but it is out of date.

For what it is worth,

 locate firmware |grep QCA6174 

returns

/usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174
/usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174/hw2.1
/usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0
/usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174/hw2.1/board-2.bin
/usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174/hw2.1/board.bin
/usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174/hw2.1/firmware-5.bin
/usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174/hw2.1/notice_ath10k_firmware-5.txt
/usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/board-2.bin
/usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/board.bin
/usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/firmware-4.bin
/usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/notice_ath10k_firmware-4.txt

Commenting out the modprobe option and rebooting

dmesg |grep ath10k

[   15.559020] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[   15.561262] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: pci irq msi oper_irq_mode 2 irq_mode 0 reset_mode 0
[   15.821212] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/pre-cal-pci-0000:3a:00.0.bin failed with error -2
[   15.821230] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/cal-pci-0000:3a:00.0.bin failed with error -2
[   15.821570] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/firmware-5.bin failed with error -2
[   15.821573] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: could not fetch firmware file 'ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/firmware-5.bin': -2
[   15.823244] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: qca6174 hw3.2 target 0x05030000 chip_id 0x00340aff sub 1a56:1535
[   15.823246] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: kconfig debug 0 debugfs 1 tracing 0 dfs 0 testmode 0
[   15.824058] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: firmware ver WLAN.RM.2.0-00180-QCARMSWPZ-1 api 4 features wowlan,ignore-otp,no-4addr-pad crc32 75dee6c5
[   15.887205] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: board_file api 2 bmi_id N/A crc32 6fc88fe7
[   18.006474] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: htt-ver 3.26 wmi-op 4 htt-op 3 cal otp max-sta 32 raw 0 hwcrypto 1
[   18.092593] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0 wlan0: renamed from wlan0

(from here on behviour is as before, but I am now sure there is nothing
else trying to control interface)

 iw dev

now returns the interface and information.

[root@marble hw2.1]# ip link show wlan0

2: wlan0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 9c:b6:d0:d6:23:cd brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
[root@marble hw2.1]# wpa_supplicant -D nl80211,wext -i wlan0 -c <(wpa_passphrase "myssid" "mypassphrase")

Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
wlan0: SME: Trying to authenticate with 40:4a:03:f1:9e:f0 (SSID='myssid' freq=2447 MHz)
wlan0: Trying to associate with 40:4a:03:f1:9e:f0 (SSID='myssid' freq=2447 MHz)
wlan0: Associated with 40:4a:03:f1:9e:f0
wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-SUBNET-STATUS-UPDATE status=0
wlan0: Authentication with 40:4a:03:f1:9e:f0 timed out.
wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=40:4a:03:f1:9e:f0 reason=3 locally_generated=1
wlan0: WPA: 4-Way Handshake failed - pre-shared key may be incorrect
wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-SSID-TEMP-DISABLED id=0 ssid="myssid" auth_failures=1 duration=10 reason=WRONG_KEY
nl80211: deinit ifname=p2p-dev-wlan0 disabled_11b_rates=0
p2p-dev-wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-TERMINATING 
nl80211: deinit ifname=wlan0 disabled_11b_rates=0
wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-TERMINATING 

Offline

#8 2017-02-15 04:54:28

tethoril
Member
Registered: 2017-02-14
Posts: 7

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

Digging around some more, I found a couple more things to try.

I passed "skip_otp=y" to the ath10k_core module.  It didn't hurt
anything, but didn't help either.

After spending more time searching I came across a couple of threads
from ~6.2016 that seemed relevant
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=213500  But the focus was on
the QCA6174 firmware files, which seem to be more up to date from
linux-firmware.

For lack of a better plan, I replaced /lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174 with
the versions from str0g github repo as done in the above post.  Nothing
seemed to stop working, but still can't get past wpa_supplicant.

I did check the /etc/locale.gen--both the working & non-working systems are using

 
#.....
en_US.UTF-8 UTF-8 
#en_US ISO-8859-1
#....
 
cat /etc/locale.conf
 LANG=en_US.UTF-8

Offline

#9 2017-02-15 08:14:55

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 50,931

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

options ath10k_core cryptmode=1

No leading blank, "optionS" and while i'm not sure whether the quotes harm, they don't belong there either.

To check the running configuration:

systool -vm ath10k_core

You don't have to reboot (for gods sake ;-)

modprobe -r ath10k_pci
modprobe -r ath10k_core # probably not required
modprobe ath10k_pci

About locales:

localectl
locale
locale -a

Snippets of some config file are initially worth nothing - you want to knwo what is, not what is supposed to be ;-)

Offline

#10 2017-02-15 13:19:48

R00KIE
Forum Fellow
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 4,734

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

That "reason=WRONG_KEY" would make me take a closer look at the router's configuration and any known problems if you are sure the password is correct. If you can also try connecting with other equipment (phone or laptop) and see what happens. If you have the possibility also try connecting to a router of a different brand or different model.

Connecting manually with another laptop might be helpful to get the wpa_supplicant messages and compare with the case where it doesn't work, if need be increase the verbosity level as some hint may be hiding in things that are not normally shown.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#11 2017-02-15 14:30:39

tethoril
Member
Registered: 2017-02-14
Posts: 7

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

cryptmode test round 2:

[root@marble modprobe.d]# cat /etc/modprobe.d/ath10k_core.conf 
options ath10k_core cryptmode=1
#options ath10k_core "skip-otp=y"
[root@marble modprobe.d]# 

[root@marble modprobe.d]# modprobe -r ath10k_pci
[root@marble modprobe.d]# modprobe -r ath10k_core
[root@marble modprobe.d]# modprobe ath10k_pci
[root@marble modprobe.d]# 

[root@marble modprobe.d]# iw dev
[root@marble modprobe.d]# 


[root@marble modprobe.d]# dmesg |grep ath10k
.
.
.
[ 5331.785927] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: pci irq msi oper_irq_mode 2 irq_mode 0 reset_mode 0
[ 5332.042533] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/pre-cal-pci-0000:3a:00.0.bin failed with error -2
[ 5332.042563] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/cal-pci-0000:3a:00.0.bin failed with error -2
[ 5332.042587] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/firmware-5.bin failed with error -2
[ 5332.042594] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: could not fetch firmware file 'ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/firmware-5.bin': -2
[ 5332.043302] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: qca6174 hw3.2 target 0x05030000 chip_id 0x00340aff sub 1a56:1535
[ 5332.043309] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: kconfig debug 0 debugfs 1 tracing 0 dfs 0 testmode 0
[ 5332.045971] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: firmware ver WLAN.RM.2.0-00180-QCARMSWPZ-1 api 4 features wowlan,ignore-otp,no-4addr-pad crc32 75dee6c5
[ 5332.108250] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: board_file api 2 bmi_id N/A crc32 6fc88fe7
[ 5332.108251] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: cryptmode > 0 requires raw mode support from firmware
[ 5332.108254] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: fatal problem with firmware features: -22
[ 5332.108293] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: could not probe fw (-22)

[root@marble modprobe.d]# systool -vm ath10k_core
Module = "ath10k_core"

  Attributes:
    coresize            = "290816"
    initsize            = "0"
    initstate           = "live"
    refcnt              = "1"
    taint               = ""
    uevent              = <store method only>

  Parameters:
    cryptmode           = "1"
    debug_mask          = "0"
    rawmode             = "N"
    skip_otp            = "N"
    uart_print          = "N"

  Sections:
    .altinstr_replacement= "0xffffffffa09da361"
    .altinstructions    = "0xffffffffa09e8be8"
    .bss                = "0xffffffffa09ed280"
    .data.unlikely      = "0xffffffffa09ecf10"
    .data               = "0xffffffffa09eb000"
    .gnu.linkonce.this_module= "0xffffffffa09ecf40"
    .note.gnu.build-id  = "0xffffffffa09db000"
    .parainstructions   = "0xffffffffa09e8a40"
    .rodata.str1.1      = "0xffffffffa09e67fa"
    .rodata.str1.8      = "0xffffffffa09e0f28"
    .rodata             = "0xffffffffa09db1e0"
    .smp_locks          = "0xffffffffa09e8b8c"
    .strtab             = "0xffffffffa08ae1b0"
    .symtab             = "0xffffffffa08a8000"
    .text               = "0xffffffffa09af000"
    __bug_table         = "0xffffffffa09e8afc"
    __kcrctab           = "0xffffffffa09db140"
    __ksymtab_strings   = "0xffffffffa09e9e08"
    __ksymtab           = "0xffffffffa09db030"
    __mcount_loc        = "0xffffffffa09e8c38"
    __param             = "0xffffffffa09e9f98"

[root@marble modprobe.d]# 

So it got the cryptmode flag, but is not happy about it.  I commented
out all of the ath10k_core flags and reloaded ath10k_pci.

[root@marble modprobe.d]# dmesg
.
.
.
[ 5794.431623] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: pci irq msi oper_irq_mode 2 irq_mode 0 reset_mode 0
[ 5794.688918] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/pre-cal-pci-0000:3a:00.0.bin failed with error -2
[ 5794.688946] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/cal-pci-0000:3a:00.0.bin failed with error -2
[ 5794.688971] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/firmware-5.bin failed with error -2
[ 5794.688978] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: could not fetch firmware file 'ath10k/QCA6174/hw3.0/firmware-5.bin': -2
[ 5794.689600] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: qca6174 hw3.2 target 0x05030000 chip_id 0x00340aff sub 1a56:1535
[ 5794.689607] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: kconfig debug 0 debugfs 1 tracing 0 dfs 0 testmode 0
[ 5794.692267] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: firmware ver WLAN.RM.2.0-00180-QCARMSWPZ-1 api 4 features wowlan,ignore-otp,no-4addr-pad crc32 75dee6c5
[ 5794.754601] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: board_file api 2 bmi_id N/A crc32 6fc88fe7
[ 5796.874459] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0: htt-ver 3.26 wmi-op 4 htt-op 3 cal otp max-sta 32 raw 0 hwcrypto 1
[ 5796.947813] ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x69
[ 5796.947815] ath: EEPROM indicates we should expect a direct regpair map
[ 5796.947816] ath: Country alpha2 being used: 00
[ 5796.947817] ath: Regpair used: 0x69
[ 5796.949906] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0 wlan0: renamed from wlan0

[root@marble modprobe.d]# systool -vm ath10k_core
Module = "ath10k_core"

  Attributes:
    coresize            = "290816"
    initsize            = "0"
    initstate           = "live"
    refcnt              = "1"
    taint               = ""
    uevent              = <store method only>

  Parameters:
    cryptmode           = "0"
    debug_mask          = "0"
    rawmode             = "N"
    skip_otp            = "N"
    uart_print          = "N"

  Sections:
    .altinstr_replacement= "0xffffffffa0a52361"
    .altinstructions    = "0xffffffffa0a60be8"
    .bss                = "0xffffffffa0a65280"
    .data.unlikely      = "0xffffffffa0a64f10"
    .data               = "0xffffffffa0a63000"
    .gnu.linkonce.this_module= "0xffffffffa0a64f40"
    .note.gnu.build-id  = "0xffffffffa0a53000"
    .parainstructions   = "0xffffffffa0a60a40"
    .rodata.str1.1      = "0xffffffffa0a5e7fa"
    .rodata.str1.8      = "0xffffffffa0a58f28"
    .rodata             = "0xffffffffa0a531e0"
    .smp_locks          = "0xffffffffa0a60b8c"
    .strtab             = "0xffffffffa04921b0"
    .symtab             = "0xffffffffa048c000"
    .text               = "0xffffffffa0a27000"
    __bug_table         = "0xffffffffa0a60afc"
    __kcrctab           = "0xffffffffa0a53140"
    __ksymtab_strings   = "0xffffffffa0a61e08"
    __ksymtab           = "0xffffffffa0a53030"
    __mcount_loc        = "0xffffffffa0a60c38"
    __param             = "0xffffffffa0a61f98"

[root@marble modprobe.d]# 

[root@marble modprobe.d]# iw dev
phy#0
	Interface wlan0
		ifindex 3
		wdev 0x1
		addr 9c:b6:d0:d6:23:cd
		type managed
		txpower 0.00 dBm
[root@marble modprobe.d]# 

So while cryptmode=1 may be useful, it is not available with my present
firmware. :(

On locale questions, you are correct of course.  From the non-working
machine,

[root@marble modprobe.d]# localectl
   System Locale: LANG=en_US.UTF-8
       VC Keymap: n/a
      X11 Layout: n/a
[root@marble modprobe.d]# 

[root@marble modprobe.d]# locale
LANG=en_US.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MESSAGES="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_PAPER="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_NAME="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_ADDRESS="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=
[root@marble modprobe.d]# 

[root@marble modprobe.d]# locale -a
C
en_US.utf8
POSIX
[root@marble modprobe.d]# 

It is identical on the working machine.

Offline

#12 2017-02-15 14:33:08

tethoril
Member
Registered: 2017-02-14
Posts: 7

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

ROOKIE:  I have tried another laptop (levono x120e, so very different hardware).  It connects to the network with no problems.  As I mentioned in the initial post, when I compare the outputs of wpa_passphrase from the two machines, the hashes are the same, which is why I thought that there was a problem other than the router.  I am hoping to be able to borrow a neighbor's network this evening to double check that. 

Before my first question, I went through the manual mode on the working machine through the wpa_supplicant step where it connected and was happy, but I have not looked at that output in detail (nor looked with additional verbosity).  One issue that I have not check in detail is that the network is presently configured for WPA/WPA2 Personal accepting either TKIP or AES encrypttion.  I do not know which method the working laptop is using, nor which the non-working one is trying.  I can set the network to only use one set.  I tried that briefly and saw that I still couldn't connect with the non-working machine and moved on.  That might be worth revisiting.

Offline

#13 2017-02-15 15:09:07

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 50,931

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

modinfo ath10k_core
modprobe -v ath10k_core # try this w/ the parameter after unloading the modules
lsmod | grep ath10k # loaded?
systool -vm ath10k_core # used options?

The parameter should be supported

Offline

#14 2017-02-15 16:29:42

R00KIE
Forum Fellow
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 4,734

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

When I said different hardware maybe I should have been more specific, as long as the wireless card is different it should be enough.

While you are at it, it wouldn't hurt to keep note of the hardware you have tried so far, as that information might be useful or provide clues. Take note of wireless card brand, model, revision, vendor id and product id (use lspci -nn and it will be printed at the end of each line). Also take note of router brand, model and revision (if it is stated in a sticker somewhere). This might help you google for know incompatibilities or known problems.

Things I would check on the router configuration include channel aggregation/bonding, turbo modes or any other option meant to increase speed as that might be causing trouble somehow, although if it works without encryption I guess it should also work with encryption.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#15 2017-02-15 18:11:59

nasser
Member
Registered: 2016-01-23
Posts: 56

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

Try use wpa_cli I had a similer problem and this helped me
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/WPA_supplicant

Offline

#16 2017-02-15 22:20:11

Soukyuu
Member
Registered: 2014-04-08
Posts: 854

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

Just a stab in the dark, maybe your router is using a wireless channel the WLAN card is configured not to use by default? Keyword regulatory domain.


[ Arch x86_64 | linux | Framework 13 | AMD Ryzen™ 5 7640U | 32GB RAM | KDE Plasma Wayland ]

Offline

#17 2017-02-16 23:51:46

Steef435
Member
Registered: 2013-08-29
Posts: 577
Website

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

wlan0: Authentication with 40:4a:03:f1:9e:f0 timed out.

I'm probably being naive, but maybe it will help to increase the time out duration for authentication (if at all possible)?

Last edited by Steef435 (2017-02-16 23:52:05)

Offline

#18 2017-02-22 15:00:43

tethoril
Member
Registered: 2017-02-14
Posts: 7

Re: [Solved] Wifi works with open network, but not WPA/WPA2 Personal

So I finally have this working, though I don't really understand why.

Short Version:  Enabled WMM on wireless router (note:  I also set 802.11 mode to "802.11g Only", but this by itself did not get things working.  I didn't try with WMM enabled and 802.11 set to 801.11b/g)

Notes on suggestions:

Seth:  setting cryptmode to 1 _is_ supported by ath10k_core.  Unfortunately, to see a device, I need both ath10k_core and ath10k_pci.  ath10k_pci is the one that throws the errors.

wpa_cli:  This gave interactive feedback, but all of the information was the same as what I got from wpa_supplicant

Router: This may have been the biggest difference.  I tried a neighbor's router AND EVERYTHING WORKED.  That system was running WPA2/AES.  I tried WPA2/AES on my router, but to no avail.  However, I at least knew this was a router/client interface issue.

I then started going through my wireless router options & changing settings--and found that enabling WMM made things work.

One errer that I should have perhaps caught to give me a hint was

 [root@marble ~]# dmesg |grep WMM |tail -n 4
[ 1888.086056] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0 wlan0: disabling HT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[ 1888.086060] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0 wlan0: disabling VHT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[ 1912.426473] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0 wlan0: disabling HT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[ 1912.426477] ath10k_pci 0000:3a:00.0 wlan0: disabling VHT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[root@marble ~]# 

For what it is worth, my router hardware:

Zyxel PK5000Z (quite dated)

Neighbor's Router hardware:

Asus RT-N66R (reasonably modern)

Thanks to everyone for the suggestions and help with this.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB