You are not logged in.

#1 2017-02-20 11:22:05

ficabj5

Serious problems with the operating system

Hi all,

First of all, I am sorry to be such a noob, but I'm a complete newbie to Arch.

I have a problem that I cannot define, but believe to be associated with the /boot partition.

First of all, the boot time takes a really long time. It starts with "Booting Arch Linux", followed by "Loading Linux linux ...". These two take no time, literally. However, after that "Loading initial ramdisk ..." appears, and this is what takes so long. After it finishes loading the initial ramdisk, briefly it shows the following errors:

[  0.000000] efi: requested map not found.
[  0.000000] esrt: ESRT header is not in the memory map.
starting version 232

When I say a really long time, I mean about 30 seconds, which I believe is way too much considering the whole OS is running on an SSD.

I also believe this is causing some other issues regarding other things. For instance, wpa_supplicant won't configure wpa_cli because of "wlp2s0: Failed to initialize driver interface", however the driver and everything else seems to be in place.
So far I have done everything related to the boot partition in the beginner's guide, a couple of times. I also checked whether the running kernel and the installed one are the same with  uname -a and pacman -Qi linux, and they are.
I have no idea what exactly is causing these problems and therefore have no idea on how to fix them.

I will provide output of any commands needed to get to the bottom of this.

Thank you in advance,
A complete newbie.

#2 2017-02-20 11:57:11

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Website

Re: Serious problems with the operating system