You are not logged in.

#1 2017-02-24 14:56:48

melog

Cannot start Plasma after upgrade

Hello there,

I've been using Arch and Plasma for over 18 months now. Now I have a serious problem (again), which I cannot solve on my own.

Plasma seems to start after entering startx, but I only see a mouse cursor (which I can move btw) and a black background. Then it freezes, and even after 10 minutes there is no progress.

I updated my system before shutting down (see logfile), and after the next boot the problem occurred.

I think there is a problem with the graphics driver and OpenGL.
I have a AMD Radeon 7850 and use the open source-driver with the mesa-test-git packages from Lone_Wolf (thanks btw) and kerberizer's repo for clang and llvm. Everything else (xorg, xf86-video-ati) is from extra.
This setup worked fine for the last couple of months. I recompiled mesa every week or so, but not before the hiccups began.
If I do glxinfo, it says:"unable to open display"

Here are several logs:

sudo journalctl -b
dmesg
pacman log
pacman -Q | mesa
Xorg.0.log
.xsession-errors
picture of screen after ctrl-alt-backspace and ctrl-c
/etc/X11/xorg.conf

Here is what I tried already without success:

• switched to mesa and llvm from extra

• switched to amdgpu (here I get a pink bar on the left, where my taskbar is, when starting Plasma, but the rest is the same)

• recompiled mesa-test-git

• reinstalled plasma and driver

• installed and started xfce, which also fails (which led me to the conclusion, that I don't have OpenGL)

• Live-boot to a different distro, so my video card is working obviously

• created a new user and started plasma

• cleared *.lock-files in .cache and .config

There seems to be a problem with ksmserver, but Google doesn't offer much (or more likely, I'm unable to identify the error).
I already switched from infinality to freetype!
I can start xterm, and a terminal opens with a mouse cursor.

Does anybody have a solution for me? Thank you very much!