You are not logged in.

#1 2006-06-15 13:20:06

brazzmonkey
Member
From: between keyboard and chair
Registered: 2006-03-16
Posts: 818

[req] rlocate

About rlocate

        rlocate for Linux (2.6 Kernel)

        Released January 27, 2005
        Copyright (c) 2004,2005 Rasto Levrinc
        Based on slocate by Kevin Lindsay

rlocate is an implementation of the ``locate'' command that is always up-to-date. The database that the original locate uses is usually updated only once a day, so newer files cannot be located right away. The behavior of rlocate is the same as slocate, but it also maintains a diff database that gets updated whenever a new file is created. This is accomplished with rlocate kernel module and daemon. The rlocate kernel module can be compiled only with Linux 2.6 kernels.

http://sourceforge.net/docman/display_d … _id=129555

i used to use this on my gentoo, it worked great, with no overhead. it's be cool to have it on arch, since imho it only has advantages when compared to slocate...


what goes up must come down

Offline

#2 2006-06-15 15:11:39

test1000
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 834

Re: [req] rlocate

the cool thing about this is that one could effectively use grep on those files and have the same functionality that beagle provides only much simpler & better smile

from a coders perspective anyway... Imagine the cool scripts one could make in bash with this big_smile


KISS = "It can scarcely be denied that the supreme goal of all theory is to make the irreducible basic elements as simple and as few as possible without having to surrender the adequate representation of a single datum of experience." - Albert Einstein

Offline

#3 2006-06-15 19:13:37

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: [req] rlocate

Working on it now. The build is not exactly package-friendly, so some patching is required.

Watch this space.

Offline

#4 2006-06-16 08:48:16

brazzmonkey
Member
From: between keyboard and chair
Registered: 2006-03-16
Posts: 818

Re: [req] rlocate

tomk wrote:

Working on it now. The build is not exactly package-friendly, so some patching is required.

Watch this space.

cool ! eagerly waiting then... thanks for such reactivity, tomk !


what goes up must come down

Offline

#5 2006-06-16 10:35:32

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: [req] rlocate

Here you go - in the AUR now, here and here.

Any problems, comments, etc can be added to the rlocate AUR page.

Offline

#6 2006-06-16 16:43:04

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: [req] rlocate

Interesting. I do wonder what kind of effect it has on write performance though.

Offline

#7 2006-06-17 11:45:04

patroclo7
Member
From: Bassano del Grappa, ITALY
Registered: 2006-01-11
Posts: 915

Re: [req] rlocate

You could look at mlocate as an alternative: a simpler way to meet similar needs.


Mortuus in anima, curam gero cutis

Offline

#8 2006-06-18 21:24:24

brazzmonkey
Member
From: between keyboard and chair
Registered: 2006-03-16
Posts: 818

Re: [req] rlocate

works great here, many many thanks tomk !!


what goes up must come down

Offline

#9 2006-06-18 21:59:39

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: [req] rlocate

Don't mention it.

I see it's got 5 votes already - if that pace keeps up, we could have this in community in about a week. smile

Offline

#10 2006-06-18 22:18:40

brazzmonkey
Member
From: between keyboard and chair
Registered: 2006-03-16
Posts: 818

Re: [req] rlocate

cool then ! 8)
a good and convenient rlocate tool is the KDE I/O Slave.
very handy !

*edit*
oh, motyR already worked on kio-locate


what goes up must come down

Offline

#11 2006-06-18 22:52:54

brazzmonkey
Member
From: between keyboard and chair
Registered: 2006-03-16
Posts: 818

Re: [req] rlocate

just one last thing : it only seems to work for root, though my user is part of the rlocate group... any suggestions ?


what goes up must come down

Offline

#12 2006-06-18 23:02:47

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: [req] rlocate

Did you log out and in again, after adding yourself to the group?

Offline

#13 2006-06-18 23:29:12

brazzmonkey
Member
From: between keyboard and chair
Registered: 2006-03-16
Posts: 818

Re: [req] rlocate

i didn't. my mistake. that's one more thing i learnt tonight. once again, thank you tomk ! wink


what goes up must come down

Offline

#14 2006-06-19 23:27:14

brazzmonkey
Member
From: between keyboard and chair
Registered: 2006-03-16
Posts: 818

Re: [req] rlocate

is it incompatible with kernel26-beyond ? i get

# modprobe rlocate
FATAL: Error inserting rlocate (/lib/modules/2.6.16-beyond/misc/rlocate.ko): Invalid module format

here's my modified PKGBUILD :

# Contributor: Tom K <tomk>

pkgname=rlocate-mod
pkgver=0.5.1
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="The rlocate kernel module, for Arch kernel26beyond"
depends=('glibc' 'kernel26beyond')
conflicts=('slocate')
source=(http://dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/rlocate/rlocate-$pkgver.tar.gz)
md5sums=('618dc98cd9c13468e8b8e1ca5f0eabbc')
url="http://rlocate.sourceforge.net/"
license="GPL"
install=$pkgname.install

_kernver=2.6.16-beyond

build() {
  cd $startdir/src/rlocate-$pkgver
  ./configure --with-kernel=/lib/modules/$_kernver/build 
  --with-moduledir=/lib/modules/$_kernver/misc
  cd src/rlocate-module
  make || return 1
  install -Dm755 rlocate.ko $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/$_kernver/misc/rlocate.ko
  sed -i -e "s/KERNEL_VERSION=.*/KERNEL_VERSION=${_kernver}/g" $startdir/$pkgname.install
}

what am i doing wrong ?


what goes up must come down

Offline

#15 2006-06-20 09:43:56

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: [req] rlocate

Works fine here with beyond.

Did you download the tarball from the AUR, or just the PKGBUILD? There's an install script in the tarball, which is required.

For a quick fix, try

depmod -a

as root.

Offline

#16 2006-06-20 10:14:53

brazzmonkey
Member
From: between keyboard and chair
Registered: 2006-03-16
Posts: 818

Re: [req] rlocate

i downloaded the tarball, sorry i didn't notice the install script...
it works now.
thanks again tomk ! i won't bother you anymore on that one...


what goes up must come down

Offline

#17 2006-08-28 07:59:23

Purch
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2006-02-23
Posts: 229

Re: [req] rlocate

I cannot get rlocate working. I used aurbuild to make rlocate and rlocate-mod packages and install them. I did try also downloading tarballs, makepkg and pacman -A. I had to change rlocate-mod PKGBUILD file a bit:
_kernver=2.6.16-ARCH --> _kernver=2.6.17-ARCH

$ sudo modprobe rlocate
FATAL: Error inserting rlocate (/lib/modules/2.6.17-ARCH/misc/rlocate.ko): Invalid argument

I tested sudo depmod -a and it does not report anything and wont help to sudo modprobe rlocate

Have I missed something?

$ pQ kernel26
kernel26 2.6.17.11-1

For debugging; strace prints following: rlocate_error.txt

Offline

#18 2006-08-28 12:13:46

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: [req] rlocate

You probably have the capability module already loaded. Just unload it:

modprobe -r capability

and try again.

Offline

#19 2006-09-28 08:32:05

Purch
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2006-02-23
Posts: 229

Re: [req] rlocate

After upgrading to 2.6.18-4 kernel rlocate-mod crashes to the configure check list. It worked with 2.6.17 kernel.
Need help with kernel version 0.0.0 smile

checking for directory with kernel source... /lib/modules/2.6.18-ARCH/build
checking for kernel version... 0.0.0
configure: error: *** rlocate needs kernel 2.6 to work
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.
==> ERROR: Build Failed.  Aborting...

Offline

#20 2006-09-28 08:56:49

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: [req] rlocate

There's a new release out. Change pkgver to 0.5.3 and you'll be OK.

I'll update it in the AUR shortly.

Offline

#21 2006-09-28 09:49:45

Purch
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2006-02-23
Posts: 229

Re: [req] rlocate

thanks

Offline

#22 2006-10-19 16:51:34

cromo
Member
From: Czestochowa, Poland
Registered: 2006-09-20
Posts: 87

Re: [req] rlocate

When run as a user:
cromo@kromka:~$ locate
locate: fatal error: Could not find user database '/var/lib/rlocate/rlocate.db':  Permission denied

Works fine when run as root.

Offline

#23 2006-10-19 16:58:36

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: [req] rlocate

rlocate install message wrote:

>>>
>>> To use rlocate, add your username to the rlocate group, and add
>>> rlocate to the MODULES and DAEMONS arrays in /etc/rc.conf.
>>>

Offline

#24 2006-10-23 09:57:03

cromo
Member
From: Czestochowa, Poland
Registered: 2006-09-20
Posts: 87

Re: [req] rlocate

Mhmm this is weird, I thought it is no longer needed to add the user to rlocate group, as stated in comments @ PKGBUILD page. Thanks anyway.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB