You are not logged in.

#1 2017-03-05 21:34:57

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 142
Website

[SOLVED]I'm getting the following ACPI Error messages on each start up

I'm getting the following errors every time I start my laptop. I'm running an HP pavilion dv6-3210us with the amd gpu. I'm using the graphics driver from the repos.

[   14.338399] ACPI Error: Field [D128] at 1040 exceeds Buffer [NULL] size 160 (bits) (20160831/dsopcode-236)
[   14.342489] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed [\_SB.WMID.HWMC] (Node ffff88010b4b81e0), AE_AML_BUFFER_LIMIT (20160831/psparse-543)
[   14.346397] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed [\_SB.WMID.WMAD] (Node ffff88010b4b8fc8), AE_AML_BUFFER_LIMIT (20160831/psparse-543)
[   14.350741] ACPI Error: Field [D128] at 1040 exceeds Buffer [NULL] size 160 (bits) (20160831/dsopcode-236)
[   14.354535] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed [\_SB.WMID.HWMC] (Node ffff88010b4b81e0), AE_AML_BUFFER_LIMIT (20160831/psparse-543)
[   14.358496] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed [\_SB.WMID.WMAD] (Node ffff88010b4b8fc8), AE_AML_BUFFER_LIMIT (20160831/psparse-543)
[   14.362774] ACPI Error: Field [D128] at 1040 exceeds Buffer [NULL] size 160 (bits) (20160831/dsopcode-236)
[   14.367255] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed [\_SB.WMID.HWMC] (Node ffff88010b4b81e0), AE_AML_BUFFER_LIMIT (20160831/psparse-543)
[   14.371819] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed [\_SB.WMID.WMAD] (Node ffff88010b4b8fc8), AE_AML_BUFFER_LIMIT (20160831/psparse-543)
[   14.376430] ACPI Error: Field [D128] at 1040 exceeds Buffer [NULL] size 160 (bits) (20160831/dsopcode-236)
[   14.380521] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed [\_SB.WMID.HWMC] (Node ffff88010b4b81e0), AE_AML_BUFFER_LIMIT (20160831/psparse-543)
[   14.384836] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed [\_SB.WMID.WMAD] (Node ffff88010b4b8fc8), AE_AML_BUFFER_LIMIT (20160831/psparse-543)
[   14.389155] ACPI Error: Field [D128] at 1040 exceeds Buffer [NULL] size 160 (bits) (20160831/dsopcode-236)
[   14.393451] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed [\_SB.WMID.HWMC] (Node ffff88010b4b81e0), AE_AML_BUFFER_LIMIT (20160831/psparse-543)
[   14.398033] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed [\_SB.WMID.WMAD] (Node ffff88010b4b8fc8), AE_AML_BUFFER_LIMIT (20160831/psparse-543)

I found a similar post on the Ubuntu forums, though there were no responses.
I started seeing these errors a couple of Kernel updates ago, though I'm not 100% sure

Last edited by wchouser3 (2017-03-19 19:28:17)


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

#2 2017-03-17 21:42:46

paulkerry
Member
From: Sheffield, UK
Registered: 2014-10-02
Posts: 339

Re: [SOLVED]I'm getting the following ACPI Error messages on each start up

Is a BIOS update available for your laptop? Even though you are getting the messages, does your laptop work correctly?

Last edited by paulkerry (2017-03-17 21:45:48)

Offline

#3 2017-03-18 01:52:40

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 142
Website

Re: [SOLVED]I'm getting the following ACPI Error messages on each start up

paulkerry wrote:

Is a BIOS update available for your laptop? Even though you are getting the messages, does your laptop work correctly?

no...this laptop is from 2010, shipped with windows 7. The last bios update was years ago, and it was a windows executable anyway. I'm not getting any trouble. I was wondering if it was because I'm using the "acpi-backlight=vendor" kernel parameter. I do this because if I don't, the machine loads two configurations during boot; the acpi setting, and the ati one. I'm not having any problems with anything really. I imagine it's just something I'll have to live with.


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

#4 2017-03-18 19:59:11

paulkerry
Member
From: Sheffield, UK
Registered: 2014-10-02
Posts: 339

Re: [SOLVED]I'm getting the following ACPI Error messages on each start up

wchouser3 wrote:

The last bios update was years ago, and it was a windows executable anyway.

If it's a HP sp12345.exe bios package file for instance, you can usually extract those with...

file-roller sp12345.exe

to get the ?.bin bios file.

You then normally have to copy that to a fat32 USB stick in the specific location mentioned by your computer bios when trying to perform a bios upgrade from within bios startup, i.e. to Hewlett-Packard/BIOS/New

Offline

#5 2017-03-19 10:29:09

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 142
Website

Re: [SOLVED]I'm getting the following ACPI Error messages on each start up

paulkerry wrote:

If it's a HP sp12345.exe bios package file for instance, you can usually extract those with...

file-roller sp12345.exe

to get the ?.bin bios file.

You then normally have to copy that to a fat32 USB stick in the specific location mentioned by your computer bios when trying to perform a bios upgrade from within bios startup, i.e. to Hewlett-Packard/BIOS/New

right...I just it up; the last available bios update (from HP anyway) was back in 2013, which is the version I'm running. I think it's time for a clean install. I like to do it once a year or so. I think the last time I did one to this machine was about 2 years ago.

That usually clears up the problems I can't seem to figure out.


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

#6 2017-03-19 11:55:19

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 3,027

Re: [SOLVED]I'm getting the following ACPI Error messages on each start up

There's a good chance these errors have been there earlier than a few kernels ago, their log severity was changed in the 4.9 cycle so that they get actually shown during boot as opposed to simply being logged normally. Unless something actively doesn't work (anymore) you shouldn't worry too much. You can use e.g. a

journalctl -b1 #Or -b2 if your log has been cleaned up so far that the kernel messages aren't present anymore

or something to get a log from a pre 4.9 kernel and you will most likely notice that these errors were present already just the same.

Last edited by V1del (2017-03-19 12:01:04)

Offline

#7 2017-03-19 11:59:58

Trilby
Forum Fellow
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 17,437
Website

Re: [SOLVED]I'm getting the following ACPI Error messages on each start up

Doing a clean install every year to "clear up problems" is like burning your house down every spring and building another because the old one was a mess.


Resist the GNU world order.

Offline

#8 2017-03-19 14:56:00

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 4,361

Re: [SOLVED]I'm getting the following ACPI Error messages on each start up

Lots of users see those messages, me included. If everything still works as expected then just ignore them, otherwise report the problem upstream.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#9 2017-03-19 19:21:45

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 142
Website

Re: [SOLVED]I'm getting the following ACPI Error messages on each start up

Trilby wrote:

Doing a clean install every year to "clear up problems" is like burning your house down every spring and building another because the old one was a mess.

Yea, you're probably right. I'll probably just ignore it, as long as there's no problems associated with it.


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

#10 2017-03-19 19:23:08

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 142
Website

Re: [SOLVED]I'm getting the following ACPI Error messages on each start up

R00KIE wrote:

Lots of users see those messages, me included. If everything still works as expected then just ignore them, otherwise report the problem upstream.

ah, ok...I'll just mark this solved, and get on with my life then.

Thank you all


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Fair enough?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB