You are not logged in.

#1 2017-03-11 18:32:23

Sori Ano

[SOLVED] Creating a simple PKGBUILD

Hi, I'm new at packaging, I wanted to create one of this plugin, which is literally one file to be installed in the /lib directory, the problem is that the package, for some reason, replaces the hole directory, making all files to disappear. How do I fix that? Here's the PKGBUILD

pkgname=plymouth-openrc-plugin
pkgver=0.1.2
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="Plymouth plugin for OpenRC "
arch=('any')
url="https://github.com/aidecoe/plymouth-openrc-plugin"
license=('GPL2')
depends=()
backup=('plymouth.so')
source=("https://github.com/aidecoe/$pkgname/archive/master.zip")
md5sums=('59c6cf5e4cfba53679e40efea5a64dcc')

build() {
	cd "$srcdir/$pkgname-master"
	make
}

package() {
	cd "$srcdir/$pkgname-master"
	make DESTDIR="$pkgdir" install
}

Last edited by Sori Ano (2017-03-11 21:14:38)

#2 2017-03-11 19:40:29

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Creating a simple PKGBUILD

First, remove the needless "HELP" from your title.  These are help forums, we know you need help.  Further, the post is in the Creating & Modifying Packages subforum, so we know it's for creating a PKGBUILD, so that tells us nothing.  Replace it with something informative like what tool/package you want help with.

As to the PKGBUILD, get rid of the 'backup' variable - that doesn't make any sense for a compiled object file.  You can remove the empty depends (if there really aren't any).  'arch' should not by "any" as this is compiled.  Also if you are pulling the most recent code from git, do not use the zip file, just use the git url and append '-git' to the pkgname and put 'SKIP' in the checksum array: otherwise this will break as soon as upstream makes a revision.  Alternatively, get a tagged version from their git history.

As to the problem you claim to have, can you describe that more.  The PKGBUILD you've shown could not have the effect you describe.