You are not logged in.

#1 2017-04-08 12:41:04

serxxx

gpg-agent and ssh

Hi,

A number of people have had issues with gpg-agent and ssh support over the years; nothing I've found through Google has helped, and I'm hoping I'll get a tip here.

I've been using gpg-agent and ssh together for a couple of years at least under Ubuntu.  A month or so ago I switched to Arch and this is one of the few remaining issues I've been unable to resolve.  The behavior is, basically, that ssh isn't getting keys from gpg-agent.

Linux sting 4.10.6-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Mar 27 08:28:22 CEST 2017 x86_64 GNU/Linux
   Name            : openssh
   Version         : 7.4p1-2
   Name            : gnupg
   Version         : 2.1.19-1

The behavior I see is:

1. ssh-add works to add keys. I remove the keys from .gnupg/private-keys-v1.d/ and add them back with ssh-add and the keys show up in .gnupg/private-keys-v1.d/ as expected.

2. ssh-add -l (and -L) both fail with:

error fetching identities for protocol 2: agent refused operation
       The agent has no identities.
  3. ssh host prompts for the key password, indicating a failure to fetch from the agent.  -vvv reports

debug1: pubkey_prepare: ssh_fetch_identitylist: agent refused operation
  4. Enabling debugging in gpg-agent (guru) and using

watchgnupg

shows, for all "refused operation" messages:

4 - 2017-04-08 08:35:47 gpg-agent[2668]: ssh handler 0x7f9b5bfff700 for fd 8 started
        4 - 2017-04-08 08:35:47 gpg-agent[2668]: ssh request handler for request_identities (11) started
        4 - 2017-04-08 08:35:47 gpg-agent[2668]: ssh request handler for request_identities (11) ready
        4 - 2017-04-08 08:35:47 gpg-agent[2668]: ssh handler 0x7f9b5bfff700 for fd 8 terminated

I'm pretty stuck and don't know where next to turn.  Any suggestions?