You are not logged in.

#1 2017-04-09 21:38:38

Lightman
Member
Registered: 2014-09-22
Posts: 11

[Solved] Correctly downgrading packages

My question relates to the correct way to downgrade the PHP package, but I suspect the underlying issue is just surrounding the correct use of Pacman.

I built a LAMP server and everything appeared to work as it should. Then I found out that the web application software I wanted to use required PHP v5.5. As I had build my LAMP server from the latest packages, my version is 7.1.

Shouldn't be a problem; PHP 5.5 is available on AUR. So, I download and build the packages. As expected, I am left with the .xz packages ready to install. I select the modules I'd like and run pacman.

sudo pacman -U php55-5.5.38-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Pacman does it's thing and installs PHP and my selected modules. Everything seemed Ok, so I checked my installed version.

php -v

PHP still reports 7.1. So, I restart my http service, and ultimately the whole box. But still I am on version 7.1.

After a little digging around, I find I have PHP installed twice. I can query the two versions...

php -v
php55 -v

They respond with their predicted version numbers. So, in short, I've messed this up somewhere. I'd just like the one instance, named PHP, that is version 5.5. What is the correct way of doing this?

Regards,

L.

Last edited by Lightman (2017-04-11 06:53:26)

Offline

#2 2017-04-09 21:49:27

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,787
Website

Re: [Solved] Correctly downgrading packages

You haven't messed up, you just haven't removed the 'php' package. You will also need to configure the application to use the php55 installation.

Also, to clarify: you are not downgrading in this instance, you are installing another version of an application side-by-side.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#3 2017-04-09 21:49:35

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: [Solved] Correctly downgrading packages

Arch is a rolling release, so you will always have the newest stable versions in the official repos.

You can additionally install older versions of some software from the unofficial AUR. It would then be up to you to configure your application to use the older version, eg. like so.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#4 2017-04-10 14:50:58

Lightman
Member
Registered: 2014-09-22
Posts: 11

Re: [Solved] Correctly downgrading packages

Thanks guys. I followed the blog you posted and everything works as it should again.

Offline

#5 2017-04-10 15:30:17

olegabrielz
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2015-12-23
Posts: 255

Re: [Solved] Correctly downgrading packages

Then please edit your first post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the title.


Be aware of my Newbie Powers

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB