You are not logged in.

#1 2006-06-22 15:10:02

riwa
Member
From: Lund, Sweden
Registered: 2006-04-04
Posts: 214

Can't create dir for powernowd.

I'm trying to install powenowd so I don't burn myself on the touchpad but when I'm launching powernowd it tells me:

165715/home/riwa/# powernowd
powernowd: PowerNow Daemon v0.97, (c) 2003-2006 John Clemens
powernowd: Found 1 scalable unit:  -- 1 'CPU' per scalable unit
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_max_freq: No such file or directory

PowerNowd encountered and error and could not start.
Please make sure that:
 - You are running a v2.6.7 kernel or later
 - That you have sysfs mounted /sys
 - That you have the core cpufreq and cpufreq-userspace
   modules loaded into your kernel
 - That you have the cpufreq driver for your cpu loaded,
   (for example: powernow-k7), and that it works. Check
   'dmesg' for errors.
If all of the above are true, and you still have problems,
please email the author: clemej@alum.rpi.edu

So I try to create a dir in order to create the file later on:

170605/home/riwa/# mkdir /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq

I have root access so I guess it's either a symlink or something. However, I have no experience with links (nor getting refused as root). I also don't know if I have sysfs mounted on /sys. Help appreciated.


If you must have must. Have must.
- DKE supporters about this wonderful swedish soda.

Offline

#2 2006-06-22 15:32:19

marteus
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2006-01-24
Posts: 30

Re: Can't create dir for powernowd.

powernowd requires the proper cpufreq module to be loaded (which creates that dir)

for pentium-m it is speedstep-centrino you have to load
for amd it is powernow-k6, k7 or k8

try loading it with modprobe and then run the powernowd daemon

Offline

#3 2006-06-22 15:35:41

riwa
Member
From: Lund, Sweden
Registered: 2006-04-04
Posts: 214

Re: Can't create dir for powernowd.

I have a Sempron Mobile 3000+ 1800MHz. Don't know if I should go for the 7 or 8 though.


If you must have must. Have must.
- DKE supporters about this wonderful swedish soda.

Offline

#4 2006-06-22 18:56:20

patroclo7
Member
From: Bassano del Grappa, ITALY
Registered: 2006-01-11
Posts: 913

Re: Can't create dir for powernowd.

You do not need to create by hand dir and files in /sys.

Just try the two modules for k7 and k8 and those files will appear automagically when you load the correct one (I think k7, but I am not sure: just try, it is harmless).

You need to list it in autoload in /etc/rc.conf, since the udev daemon does not load automatically the cpufreq modules


Mortuus in anima, curam gero cutis

Offline

#5 2006-06-22 20:16:34

riwa
Member
From: Lund, Sweden
Registered: 2006-04-04
Posts: 214

Re: Can't create dir for powernowd.

I made it. However, my computer lags big-time when doing it. My music keeps choppin. Is there a way to only scale down a little bit?


If you must have must. Have must.
- DKE supporters about this wonderful swedish soda.

Offline

#6 2006-06-22 21:28:22

patroclo7
Member
From: Bassano del Grappa, ITALY
Registered: 2006-01-11
Posts: 913

Re: Can't create dir for powernowd.

Please read powernowd documentation for different kinds of policies. You can also stop to use powernowd and use the in-kernel governors. E.g., ondemand gives you power only when you need it.
Use cpufreq-utils to set the governor (you need first of all to load the corresponding module) and monitor the situation.


Mortuus in anima, curam gero cutis

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB