You are not logged in.

#1 2017-04-24 14:01:20

Icarus_Radio

[SOLVED] Having difficulties configuring NVIDIA Optimus

I have just finished installing Arch Linux on my laptop few days ago and I am completely new to Arch.

My laptop has NVIDIA GeForce 960M and Intel HD Graphics 530. Therefore I would like to use Optimus.

Following the wiki page, I have already installed nvidia and xorg-xrandr packages. Now comes the confusing part -- I need to modify the xorg.conf file. However, every time I restart my laptop, this file will disappear. Also, I did not see any differences between pre-installation and post-installation(e.g. WM still use the low resolution).

Can anybody help me plz.

P.S. If you want to see any file, just tell me and I will show you ASAP.

Last edited by Icarus_Radio (2017-04-25 09:00:17)

#2 2017-04-24 15:15:24

V1del
Forum Moderator

Re: [SOLVED] Having difficulties configuring NVIDIA Optimus

While it is strange that that file disappears (as far as I know that shouldn't happen but you aren't the first to mention this), recent changes to the architecture don't make it necessary to use it anymore. If you've setup the xrandr offloading lines, Nvidia should be used. Check the output of e.g.

glxinfo | grep OpenGL #Needs mesa-demos

Nvidia the active renderer.

Also be aware that with this setup (since you mentioned it in your other thread) suspend and hibernate will not work, since these can't reinitialize the GPU properly. If this is something you need, you might have to fall back to using the intel driver and e.g. Bumblebee to implement a per application switching behavior.

#3 2017-04-24 16:09:40

Icarus_Radio

V1del wrote:

While it is strange that that file disappears (as far as I know that shouldn't happen but you aren't the first to mention this), recent changes to the architecture don't make it necessary to use it anymore. If you've setup the xrandr offloading lines, Nvidia should be used. Check the output of e.g.