You are not logged in.

#1 2017-06-13 16:35:05

Executor
Member
From: England
Registered: 2017-06-13
Posts: 20

[Solved] Asunder software not loading!

Hello,

Since the last update to Asunder the CD Audio Ripper software, it doesn't seem to want to load. Is this a mainstream problem or an Arch Linux problem like a dependencies failure? Is anyone else having the same problem?

Last edited by Executor (2017-06-14 12:57:25)


i7 4790K 4.0GHz, ASUS B85-PRO GAMER, 8GB RAM, GTX 750 Ti, Arch x86_64

Offline

#2 2017-06-13 16:45:11

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 2,802

Re: [Solved] Asunder software not loading!

Do you get any errors when trying to launch it from a terminal?


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#3 2017-06-13 16:47:56

Executor
Member
From: England
Registered: 2017-06-13
Posts: 20

Re: [Solved] Asunder software not loading!

Yes! Here it is:

~]$ asunder
Warning: could not load config file: Bad address
Fatal error: g_strdup_printf() failed. Out of memory.

I don't understand this error though...


i7 4790K 4.0GHz, ASUS B85-PRO GAMER, 8GB RAM, GTX 750 Ti, Arch x86_64

Offline

#4 2017-06-13 20:04:08

Henrikx
Member
From: https://bbs.archlinux.de/
Registered: 2014-02-06
Posts: 21

Re: [Solved] Asunder software not loading!

same here

Warning: could not load config file: Ungültige Adresse
Fatal error: g_strdup_printf() failed. Out of memory.

Offline

#5 2017-06-13 20:24:14

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 8,201
Website

Re: [Solved] Asunder software not loading!

Works fine here.

Please post the output of

pacman -Q asunder gtk2 atk gdk-pixbuf2 glib2 libcddb glibc linux
free -m
uname -a

Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

#6 2017-06-13 20:28:41

Henrikx
Member
From: https://bbs.archlinux.de/
Registered: 2014-02-06
Posts: 21

Re: [Solved] Asunder software not loading!

asunder 2.9-3
gtk2 2.24.31-1
atk 2.24.0-2
gdk-pixbuf2 2.36.6-2
glib2 2.52.2+9+g3245eba16-1
libcddb 1.3.2-4
glibc 2.25-2
linux 4.11.3-1

free -m
              gesamt       benutzt     frei      gemns.  Puffer/Cache verfügbar
Speicher:        3751         961        1064         157        1726        2394
Swap:          5002           0        5002

Linux myhost 4.11.3-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun May 28 10:40:17 CEST 2017 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Offline

#7 2017-06-14 07:06:32

Executor
Member
From: England
Registered: 2017-06-13
Posts: 20

Re: [Solved] Asunder software not loading!

Here's the output of pacman -Q:

asunder 2.9-3
gtk2 2.24.31-1
atk 2.24.0-2
gdk-pixbuf2 2.36.6-2
glib2 2.52.2+9+g3245eba16-1
libcddb 1.3.2-4
glibc 2.25-2
linux 4.11.3-1

and free -m

              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           7925        1173        5830          57         921        6450
Swap:             0           0           0

and lastly uname -a:

Linux 4.11.3-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun May 28 10:40:17 CEST 2017 x86_64 GNU/Linux

i7 4790K 4.0GHz, ASUS B85-PRO GAMER, 8GB RAM, GTX 750 Ti, Arch x86_64

Offline

#8 2017-06-14 07:57:59

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 8,201
Website

Re: [Solved] Asunder software not loading!

Okay, I've found out that this occurs if you have never run asunder as a user before. Using strace, I've found that Asunder is trying to read a number of files in the .cache folder. If these files do not exist, asunder fails to run with the spurious "out of memory" error.

Workaround is to run:

mkdir -p ~/.cache/asunder/
touch ~/.cache/asunder/album_artist ~/.cache/asunder/album_title ~/.cache/asunder/album_genre

Asunder should then launch correctly.

Unfortunately asunder's bug tracker isn't working for me at the moment, so I can't report this upstream. Someone has filed a bug on the Arch bug tracker, so it may be worth keeping an eye on that: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/54440


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

#9 2017-06-14 09:24:16

Henrikx
Member
From: https://bbs.archlinux.de/
Registered: 2014-02-06
Posts: 21

Re: [Solved] Asunder software not loading!

Wow..Super!!!!
Worked for me. Thanks.!!!

Offline

#10 2017-06-14 12:58:29

Executor
Member
From: England
Registered: 2017-06-13
Posts: 20

Re: [Solved] Asunder software not loading!

Yeh! Thanks WorMzy for that workaround, Asunder loads as expected now which means I can transfer all of my Music Files to my computer.

I've marked this thread as [solved]. Chears!


i7 4790K 4.0GHz, ASUS B85-PRO GAMER, 8GB RAM, GTX 750 Ti, Arch x86_64

Offline

#11 2017-06-15 15:00:24

fabertawe
Member
From: Lloegr
Registered: 2009-11-24
Posts: 265

Re: [Solved] Asunder software not loading!

Could I also just point out the preferences file has moved from ~/.config/asunder to ~/.config/asunder/asunder. If you don't delete or move the old prefs then Asunder will run with defaults that you won't be able to change!


i7 4790K 4.4GHz, ASRock Z97 Extreme6, 16GB 2400MHz, GTX 970, Arch x86_64

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB