You are not logged in.

#1 2017-06-30 19:11:24

fm2606

Upgraded to max memory Arch won't boot

Hi!  First time posting on the forum but I have been using Arch Linux for about the past 2 years.  To date I have been able to find all my answers to my problems from old posts on this forum or just Googling the problem.   I have installed Arch on a couple of different laptops, it is on my current desktop and I installed it successfully on a server I bought a few weeks ago.  Let me say I love Arch and the ability to configure it the way I want and install what I want.

The issue is with my server.  I bought a HP Proliant dl385 G6 with 12 cores and 12 GB of memory.  I had 0 issues installing Arch on the server, had some minor issues getting a static IP address set up (operator error!). I have been successfully running Arch and everything I want on the server since I bought it.  It is connected to my home network and I can access it from my desktop.  It runs Apache HTTP,  Apache Spark, Python, MariaDB, Postgres, and that is about it.

The DL385 G6 can support up to 128 GB (16 x 8 GB sticks) of ram so I bought the max amount from eBay.  It arrived today.  I installed the ram, boot up, POST recognizes all of the RAM but then Arch hangs at "loading initial ramdisk".  I removed the "new" used ram and reinstalled the 12 GB (12 x 1 GB sticks) and it boot up fine.

I then installed 64 GB of the ram I just purchased and Arch booted up just fine, logged in etc.  Thinking I had a faulty stick I started adding memory (in pairs) to try and isolate it.  I tried 80 GB and it hung up again at "loading initial ramdisk".  96 GB same thing.  Really not thinking it is a faulty stick(s) since POST does a memory test after each new configuration and recognizes the amount I install.

I am at a loss and can't find anything close to the issue I am having.  Anyone have any suggestions? 

Thanks

Curt

#2 2017-06-30 19:48:22

kgtuning

Re: Upgraded to max memory Arch won't boot