You are not logged in.

#1 2017-07-09 15:06:57

dr34m
Member
Registered: 2016-07-28
Posts: 47

[solved] strange firefox process string

Hi guys,

my firefox process i something like:

/usr/lib/firefox/firefox -contentproc -childID 1 -isForBrowser -intPrefs 5:50|6:-1|18:0|28:1000|33:20|34:10|43:128|44:10000|48:0|50:400|51:1|52:0|53:0|58:0|59:120|60:120|133:2|134:1|147:5000|157:0|159:0|170:10000|195:24|196:32768|198:0|199:0|207:0|211:1048576|212:100|213:5000|215:600|216:4|217:1|226:2|241:60000| -boolPrefs 1:0|2:0|4:0|26:1|27:1|30:0|35:1|36:0|37:0|38:0|39:1|40:0|41:1|42:1|45:0|46:0|47:0|49:0|54:1|55:1|56:0|57:1|61:1|62:1|63:0|64:1|65:1|66:0|67:1|70:0|71:0|74:1|75:1|79:1|80:1|81:0|82:0|84:0|85:0|86:1|87:0|90:0|91:1|92:1|93:1|94:1|95:1|96:0|97:0|98:1|99:0|100:0|101:0|102:1|103:1|104:0|105:1|106:1|107:0|108:0|109:1|110:1|111:1|112:0|113:1|114:1|115:1|116:1|117:1|118:1|119:1|120:1|122:0|123:0|124:0|125:1|126:0|127:1|131:1|132:1|135:1|136:0|141:0|146:0|149:1|151:1|152:1|154:1|158:0|160:0|162:0|164:1|165:1|171:0|172:0|173:1|175:0|186:0|193:0|194:0|197:1|200:0|202:0|204:1|205:0|210:0|214:1|219:0|220:0|221:0|222:1|224:1|225:1|228:1|233:0|234:0|235:1|236:1|237:0|238:1|239:1|240:0|242:0|243:0|245:0|253:1|254:1|255:0|256:0|257:0| -stringPrefs 3:7;release|174:3;1.0|191:332;  ¼½¾ǃː??։֊׃״؉؊٪۔܁܂܃܄᜵           ???‐’․‧???????‹›⁁⁄⁒⅓⅔⅕⅖⅗⅘⅙⅚?⅜⅝⅞⅟∕∶⎮╱⧶⧸⫻⫽⿰⿱⿲⿳⿴⿵⿶⿷⿸⿹⿺⿻ 。〔〕〳゠㈝㈞㎮㎯㏆㏟꞉︔︕︿﹝﹞?./。???|192:8;moderate| -greomni /usr/lib/firefox/omni.ja -appomni /usr/lib/firefox/browser/omni.ja -appdir /usr/lib/firefox/browser 5132 true tab

it's normal behavior?

Last edited by dr34m (2017-07-09 15:54:26)

Offline

#2 2017-07-09 15:13:39

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 25,894
Website

Re: [solved] strange firefox process string

dr34m wrote:

my firefox process i something like

We're missing an important verb here.  If that's what you use to launch firefox, yes it looks a bit odd, but you'd know why you are doing it.

I presume this must be some command line you saw somewhere, but where did you see it?  Is this output of some parsing of /proc/*/cmdline?  Or where did this come from?  What are you actually asking?

It looks like parameters incluing intPrefs are used by firefox to pass information to other process instances that it starts - so I might not find it odd if that is the command line used within firefox to spawn new (sub)processes.  But again that depends on where you go this command line: is it a child process of the main firefox thread?


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Online

#3 2017-07-09 15:28:40

eschwartz
Fellow
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 4,097

Re: [solved] strange firefox process string

I see a similar Firefox process all the time (in htop), it is the child process of another firefox process and started appearing since the last Firefox release -- I assume this is normal for Firefox e10s then.

I wouldn't worry about it.

Last edited by eschwartz (2017-07-09 15:29:34)


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#4 2017-07-09 15:33:01

dr34m
Member
Registered: 2016-07-28
Posts: 47

Re: [solved] strange firefox process string

Trilby wrote:
dr34m wrote:

my firefox process i something like

It looks like parameters incluing intPrefs are used by firefox to pass information to other process instances that it starts - so I might not find it odd if that is the command line used within firefox to spawn new (sub)processes.  But again that depends on where you go this command line: is it a child process of the main firefox thread?

yep you are right, sorry

here the full view:

ps -ef|grep [f]irefox
dr34m  9414     1 21 17:28 tty2     00:00:35 /usr/lib/firefox/firefox --new-window
dr34m  9461  9414  5 17:28 tty2     00:00:08 /usr/lib/firefox/firefox -contentproc -childID 1 -isForBrowser -intPrefs 5:50|6:-1|18:0|28:1000|33:20|34:10|43:128|44:10000|48:0|50:400|51:1|52:0|53:0|58:0|59:120|60:120|133:2|134:1|147:5000|157:0|159:0|170:10000|195:24|196:32768|198:0|199:0|207:0|211:1048576|212:100|213:5000|215:600|216:4|217:1|226:2|241:60000| -boolPrefs 1:0|2:0|4:0|26:1|27:1|30:0|35:1|36:0|37:0|38:0|39:1|40:0|41:1|42:1|45:0|46:0|47:0|49:0|54:1|55:1|56:0|57:1|61:1|62:1|63:0|64:1|65:1|66:0|67:1|70:0|71:0|74:1|75:1|79:1|80:1|81:0|82:0|84:0|85:0|86:1|87:0|90:0|91:1|92:1|93:1|94:1|95:1|96:0|97:0|98:1|99:0|100:0|101:0|102:1|103:1|104:0|105:1|106:1|107:0|108:0|109:1|110:1|111:1|112:0|113:1|114:1|115:1|116:1|117:1|118:1|119:1|120:1|122:0|123:0|124:0|125:1|126:0|127:1|131:1|132:1|135:1|136:0|141:0|146:0|149:1|151:1|152:1|154:1|158:0|160:0|162:0|164:1|165:1|171:0|172:0|173:1|175:0|186:0|193:0|194:0|197:1|200:0|202:0|204:1|205:0|210:0|214:1|219:0|220:0|221:0|222:1|224:1|225:1|228:1|233:0|234:0|235:1|236:1|237:0|238:1|239:1|240:0|242:0|243:0|245:0|253:1|254:1|255:0|256:0|257:0| -stringPrefs 3:7;release|174:3;1.0|191:332;  ¼½¾ǃː??։֊׃״؉؊٪۔܁܂܃܄᜵           ???‐’․‧???????‹›⁁⁄⁒⅓⅔⅕⅖⅗⅘⅙⅚?⅜⅝⅞⅟∕∶⎮╱⧶⧸⫻⫽⿰⿱⿲⿳⿴⿵⿶⿷⿸⿹⿺⿻ 。〔〕〳゠㈝㈞㎮㎯㏆㏟꞉︔︕︿﹝﹞?./。???|192:8;moderate| -greomni /usr/lib/firefox/omni.ja -appomni /usr/lib/firefox/browser/omni.ja -appdir /usr/lib/firefox/browser 9414 true tab 

Offline

#5 2017-07-09 15:43:00

R00KIE
Forum Fellow
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 4,734

Re: [solved] strange firefox process string

My guess is it's probably related to the transition to multi process firefox is doing. See http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n … 4-Released


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#6 2017-07-09 15:54:03

dr34m
Member
Registered: 2016-07-28
Posts: 47

Re: [solved] strange firefox process string

R00KIE wrote:

My guess is it's probably related to the transition to multi process firefox is doing. See http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n … 4-Released

Eschwartz wrote:

I see a similar Firefox process all the time (in htop), it is the child process of another firefox process and started appearing since the last Firefox release -- I assume this is normal for Firefox e10s then.

I wouldn't worry about it.

Thanks guys

(newbie question, but never see firefox process like this)

Offline

#7 2017-07-09 16:46:47

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 897

Re: [solved] strange firefox process string

From what I have observed it would only show up after loading some page with media, like HTML5 / Flash video.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB