You are not logged in.

#376 2009-01-29 18:33:42

rebugger
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-10-28
Posts: 229

Re: Laptops which run Arch

works great with lenovo ideapad s10e (netbook) with xf86-video-intel-driver and broadcom-wl for wireless (even the webcam works)

Offline

#377 2009-01-30 02:30:05

r2apshktz
Member
From: GG.Cali
Registered: 2008-12-31
Posts: 5

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Cyrusm wrote:

didn't check to see if anyone posted this one yet, but works well on a Dell 1525 with broadcom BCM4312 wireless card.

Is it fully operational?

I'm looking to buy a new laptop (for school and general computing). I've played with the 1525 before (running vista<--ew) and think I might be comfortable using it.

Offline

#378 2009-01-31 09:03:14

ap0
Member
Registered: 2009-01-31
Posts: 6

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP pavilion ze4455EA - works fine

wireless/WPA2 (Prism 2.5): blacklist orinoco modules (uses hostap)

Offline

#379 2009-01-31 13:49:14

Lexion
Member
Registered: 2008-03-23
Posts: 510

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Macbook 2g using madwifi works well.  If you follow the wiki article everything works.


urxvtc / wmii / zsh / configs / onebluecat.net
Arch will not hold your hand

Offline

#380 2009-02-02 04:02:17

LeoSolaris
Member
From: South Carolina
Registered: 2008-03-30
Posts: 354

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I'm running 64-bit on a Dell Inspiron 1520 with an nVidia 8600GS, and the Intel 4965 wireless.

Everything works that I have ever tried. I have not used an external monitor, or the modem, but everything else is functional. Even the sound works correctly now that alsa has fixed one of their weird issues. (Never did try OSS, though.)

I used DuoLogic's howto in the wiki to speed up my boot time and now from POST (BIOS A09) to desktop (Openbox, currently) I'm at a cool 16 seconds, sans the time it takes to input all of my passwords.

I would recommend the 1520's. The 1525's are nearly identical, just faster processor options as far as I know. I am not sure if you can configure the 1520's with an nVidia card anymore, though.


I keep getting distracted from my webserver project...

huh? oooh...  shiny!

Offline

#381 2009-02-03 17:49:05

mihi
Member
Registered: 2009-01-27
Posts: 10

Re: Laptops which run Arch

LG Tarsia P310

The current LiveCD (2008.6) could not load the network drivers (e1000e and Intel 5300AGN), but after the installation of Kernel 2.6.28 (I downloaded the core repo onto an external hd) everything worked out of the box.

Offline

#382 2009-02-06 16:52:26

TheSaint
Member
From: my computer
Registered: 2007-08-19
Posts: 1,515

Re: Laptops which run Arch

mihi wrote:

but after the installation of Kernel 2.6.28 (I downloaded the core repo onto an external hd) everything worked out of the box.

Also mine. The iwlwifi-5000-ucode is not supported with that CD. Minimum kernel 2.6.27 is required.
Hope to have a newer CD to start from. New laptop suffering in this way, because of Centrino2 lack.

F


do it good first, it will be faster than do it twice the saint wink

Offline

#383 2009-02-06 19:51:14

dannytatom
Member
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2009-02-02
Posts: 229
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Runs fine on my Compaq Presario V5000, haven't fucked with wireless yet though.


dnyy in IRC & Urban Terror

Offline

#384 2009-02-06 20:18:15

Slammer64
Member
From: Ozark Mountains of Missouri
Registered: 2007-07-28
Posts: 113

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Runs fine on my old IBM Thinkpad R51


Somewhere, just out of sight, the Penguins are gathering!

Offline

#385 2009-02-11 03:35:40

crayxt
Member
Registered: 2008-12-19
Posts: 37

Re: Laptops which run Arch

adityaj wrote:

works fine on HP 530  Intel Core Duo CPU T2400 @ 1.83GHz.

I have same laptop, and it works great wink

I'm using KDE 4.2 from Kdemod.

Arch is up-to-date

But composition by KWin is so slo-o-o-o-w.... Intel's video card 945 GM haven't power to do it? wink


Всем выйти из Сумрака!!!

Уважение - это когда чтобы поприветствовать человека вытаскиваешь оба наушника.
my blog

Offline

#386 2009-02-17 09:08:06

1LordAnubis
Member
Registered: 2008-10-10
Posts: 252
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

works great on meh Thinkpad T60 and Alienware 7700


Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both.
-Benjamin Franklin
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.
-George Bernard Shaw

Offline

#387 2009-02-18 19:52:45

rafalp
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2007-09-12
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus F3SG. Works fine except for the webcam giving upside down images smile.

Offline

#388 2009-02-21 19:08:36

Magnu5
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2009-02-21
Posts: 19

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire 5102WLMi

Arch x86_64, webcam works out of the box (that was a nice surprise!), suspend, hibernate, fn-keys with acerhk from AUR.
Followed wiki for laptop and powermanagement. Card reader is untested.
Fglrx works too.

Offline

#389 2009-02-24 23:25:50

dr_relling
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2009-02-24
Posts: 6

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Lenovo Thinkpad W500

Everything works fine except for the switchable graphics card, which has to be preset to one in the BIOS.
Arch was a bit tricky to install due to the network nic needed newer driver/kernel than those on the install CD, but this is most likely solved on the latest release.

Offline

#390 2009-02-25 11:02:02

monovibe
Member
Registered: 2008-12-06
Posts: 9

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Sony Vaio VGN CR353

Arch i686 installed with fluxbox as WM

Items that work:
Wireless, suspend to ram, Ati gfx with catalyst, SD-card reader, Vol Keys

Item that fails to work:
Fn-keys

Items haven't tested:
web-cam, bluetooth

Last edited by monovibe (2009-02-25 11:04:47)

Offline

#391 2009-02-26 21:18:05

sistematico
Member
From: Campo Grande / MS / Brasil
Registered: 2008-07-26
Posts: 97
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

My note is a Intelbras i42 (aka Compal) is a Brazilian notebook.
The processor is an Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz
Still can not configure the Webcam, Fingerprint and Bluetooth, sad but the rest is all ok. big_smile


Lucas Saliés Brum
blog | medium | vk | twitter | github | .share
Forgive the spelling and grammar, English is not my native language.

Offline

#392 2009-02-27 23:53:44

resadent
Member
Registered: 2008-05-17
Posts: 35

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Extensa 5620G. All its stuff runs great big_smile. Right now I´m installing xfce 4.6 (thanks, pierre).

Last edited by resadent (2009-02-27 23:55:47)

Offline

#393 2009-02-28 00:29:55

seppo0010
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2009-02-14
Posts: 12

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Vostro 1510 works fine. I've tested the wifi, the webcam. I haven't tried the bluetooth yet.

Offline

#394 2009-02-28 00:41:14

HackBug
Member
From: Portland, OR
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 23

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba Satellite U405, 0 problems. Webcam, wifi, everything works great...

Offline

#395 2009-03-01 12:26:38

Raist
Member
From: Vinaros , Castello , Spain
Registered: 2008-09-27
Posts: 4

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Gigabyte W576V . 0 problems . Works all fine .

Offline

#396 2009-03-02 10:30:53

ProgDan
Member
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-10-04
Posts: 441
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

MSI EX600 YA here. Runs well, just some ACPI and power management problems.

Offline

#397 2009-03-02 11:20:48

vacant
Member
From: downstairs
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 810

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I have arch x64 running on my HP 6735s QL-62 dual core.

The only thing I've not been able to get working under Linux is the modem which I use once every three months to dial into orange to keep some old freeserve email addresses active - I dual boot vista64 business for that. I also have puppy linux loaded so may pursue slmodem further on that. I don't have bluetooth.

Wireless with proprietory "wl" driver and wicd works fine, touchpad/scroll areas fine, webcam fine, ati graphics fine (using xorg driver as I prefer it's output switching - I have a 42 inch TV so like to watch high def at 1280x768 on VGA (no HDMI or DVI output). Around 2200fps on glxgears with fglrx which is fine for a "business" laptop (£309 from PC World Business in Jan).

I also have kubuntu x64 installed.

I ordered an extra 1GB RAM so have 2GB ram, running a simple desktop I don't bother with any swap space. Suspend to ram works but on resume, the fan comes on at full speed and stay there even when the temp drops. I think this is a kernel problem.

Battery lasts at least two hours of browsing.

Last edited by vacant (2009-03-04 14:01:04)

Offline

#398 2009-03-02 13:07:17

MilosC
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-06-04
Posts: 79

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Inspiron 1300. Works fine, all hardware is recognized. I had problems with video driver when I started using Arch, but it's OK now.

Offline

#399 2009-03-03 00:52:52

jt512
Member
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 262

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Arch64 on a Gateway P-7805u FX.  Everything works except for suspend/hibernate. Had to manually configure multimedia keys. Running my scanner is buggy.

Last edited by jt512 (2009-03-03 00:54:53)

Offline

#400 2009-03-06 22:15:46

Renan Birck
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2007-11-11
Posts: 401
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire 7720-6902 w/ Arch x86-64. Works great, except for suspend/hibernate (which don't even work in Windows) and the modem (which I haven't bothered to install). Also, OSS doesn't work, get choppy sound and it doesn't disable the speakers when plugging headphones in, ALSA works OK.

Edit #2: Use this if your Acer, while running any x86-64 distro, becomes dangerously hot (as in hot enough to hurt):

http://bugzilla.kernel.org/attachment.c … ction=view

Extract it to /sbin and add "/sbin/acer5720_fancontrol.sh  &" to your rc.local. Now, it should work nicely.
Actually, a BIOS update would be better, but it requires Windows Vista, I don't trust those Windows-based updaters (my desktop can update from a FreeDOS floppy/CD), also I'm too afraid to do it, the Acer repair office is more than 500 miles distant from here and a broken laptop would mean an angry, unable to work me.

Last edited by Renan Birck (2009-03-10 22:30:49)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB