You are not logged in.

#526 2009-09-30 01:46:26

nictki
Member
Registered: 2008-12-06
Posts: 20

Re: Laptops which run Arch

ThinkPad R51 cool

Offline

#527 2009-09-30 05:32:36

AaronD
Member
From: Tosev 3
Registered: 2009-01-27
Posts: 29

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I just installed Arch on a Acer Aspire 6930 in it works very well.  KDE 4.3 works much better than I hoped on the Intel 4500HD GPU.  Wireless worked out of the box (although I'm working an issue with WPA and netcfg) and suspend/hibernate works perfectly.


--Aaron

Offline

#528 2009-09-30 08:31:52

knedlyk
Member
From: L'viv, Ukraine
Registered: 2009-04-14
Posts: 161
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Installed on Samsung n120 and it works well! I have LXDE desktop, it uses about 9Watt, everything flies smoothly. I started wiki page http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Samsung_N120 .

Offline

#529 2009-10-12 05:41:58

3])
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 215

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I'm using the Asus F8SN with the following hardware:


Initial specs:

CPU:Duo T8100
RAM:2 gb of ddr2 ram
HD:Western Digital WD2500BEVS Scorpio 250GB Internal 2.5" SATA Notebook Hard Drive
250 GB Capacity / 5400-RPM Rotational Speed / 8MB Buffer )

The rest is below:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 PCI Express Root Port (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce 9500M GS] (rev a1)
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN [Kedron] Network Connection (rev 61)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 01)
08:03.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 05)
08:03.1 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 22)
08:03.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 12)
08:03.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev 12)

What didn't work:
everything worked after installing the drivers, don't have any problem whatsoever, even my webcam works.


“There are two ways of constructing a software design. One way is to make it so simple that there are obviously no deficiencies. And the other way is to make it so complicated that there are no obvious deficiencies.”-- C.A.R. Hoare

Offline

#530 2009-10-12 07:33:58

snoopy33
Member
From: Paris
Registered: 2009-09-30
Posts: 14

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Hi,

Arch runing on HP DV 3525.

To fix brightness : install from aur nvidia-bl

For sound, it s easy :
alsaconf
sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
add :
options snd-hda-intel model=dell-m4-1

For the multimedia touch on the top panel : using dmsg, you obtain the keycode, and after, you use setkeycode to affect it.
The other touch run well.

Only no way to make the remote commander and the fingerprint reader work....

Hope this will help someone with this computer

Last edited by snoopy33 (2009-10-12 07:34:36)

Offline

#531 2009-10-12 09:59:18

kaaposc
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2008-07-16
Posts: 30

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire 5520
Apart from modem and firewire (don't have landline nor any IEEE 1394 device to test them), everything else Just Works (tm) smile
Had issues with atheros wireless adapter some time ago. But in spring this year one of kernel updates automagically told ath5k module to work with wireless adapter. Bye bye, ndiswrapper!

Offline

#532 2009-10-20 14:49:52

exiquio
Member
From: Santa Fe, NM, United States
Registered: 2009-10-20
Posts: 32

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I run the 64 bit version on an Aspire 5517 with a Radeon HD3200 graphics card. The open source drivers don't get the job done. Installing an 8-Series catalyst driver from AUR put my glxgears fps at 800 or so. It is a single core machine. I run it with cpufreq and use only 800MHz most of the time running a full gnome desktop. The built in wireless works with the standard kernel, but it seems a little buggy. I haven't messed with the card reader. Everything else works without much fuss.

Last edited by exiquio (2009-10-20 14:53:46)


"Unix is simple. It just takes a genius to understand its simplicity." – Dennis Ritchie

Offline

#533 2009-10-28 15:06:43

brbornia
Member
Registered: 2009-10-26
Posts: 11

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP DV6663
Everything is working fine. Better the any other distribution. This is my first week with arch, and for the fisrt time the sound under hdmi cable is working without workarounds.

Offline

#534 2009-11-05 09:27:16

dcc24
Member
Registered: 2009-10-31
Posts: 732

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Arch i686 on ThinkPad T61p.

Works:
Quadro FX570M with the nVidia 190 driver
Bluetooth
Suspend / Hibernation
Fingerprint Reader
Audio
Multimedia Keys
Thinkpad acpi
Fan control
Other stuff that you can imagine.

Doesn't work:
USB Mouse (probably lacks configuration)

Overall, it's a really good experience.

Last edited by dcc24 (2009-11-05 09:28:44)


It is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. (Mark Twain)

My AUR packages

Offline

#535 2009-11-05 16:41:13

Arthritis
Member
Registered: 2009-11-05
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I have what soloport has, a Toshiba Satellite M55-S3512  and it works great. I have had no problem with the Linux running on this system. Its worth the expense if it gets the job done.  good luck in your endeavors.

Liz
www.stimtein.com

Offline

#536 2009-11-12 04:16:31

vajorie
Member
Registered: 2009-03-12
Posts: 66

Re: Laptops which run Arch

hp pavilion zv5120us

Offline

#537 2009-11-12 06:02:08

Ogion
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-12-11
Posts: 367

Re: Laptops which run Arch

<-- I got Arch now in my EeePC 1000H as well. Everything just works fine, LAN, WLAN, KMS.. Haven't tried Bluetooth and Webcam (as i never really use those). Sadly my Fn-keys do not work properly, but that's a Hardwarething (they once got to drink some coffee hmm Since then they only go in pairs.. F1+F2 when you press either one of them, and etc. F3/F4 ...)

Ogion


(my-dotfiles)
"People willing to trade their freedom for temporary security deserve neither and will lose both." - Benjamin Franklin
"Enlightenment is man's leaving his self-caused immaturity." - Immanuel Kant

Offline

#538 2009-11-14 17:01:11

Оо
Member
From: /home/Serbia/Belgrade
Registered: 2009-03-21
Posts: 99
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Works as a charm on HP ProBook 4710s wink


In scientia veritas, in arte honestas. smile

Offline

#539 2009-11-14 20:19:28

hidefromkgb
Member
Registered: 2009-08-03
Posts: 146

Re: Laptops which run Arch

ASUS W2Pc, bought 2007.
Everything works excellent, including sound, Bluetooth, WiFi, LAN, 3D (ATI Radeon x1700 Mobility), suspending to HDD/RAM, power saving and additional keys (except they are now tuned at my taste, and act a bit different from what they were meant to in Windows).

Took me not more than a week to get it working smile

[UPD:] by the way, does anybody know where to buy a sane battery for W2P series? Mine cannot keep the laptop working for more than 2,5 hours, both in Arch and in Vista, AFAIR. This is really insufficient...

Last edited by hidefromkgb (2009-11-14 20:24:07)

Offline

#540 2009-11-15 07:25:53

mcsaba77
Member
From: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Registered: 2009-09-30
Posts: 52

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell VOSTRO 1400, with 2Gb ram, core 2 duo T9300, Nvidia 8400GM, intel pro wireless 3945ABG. Everything worked out of the box: webcam, card reader (recognized as RICOH), built in mic (needed some tweaking in kmix/multimedia settings), even FN keys. Multimedia keys (volume, mute, play/pause, etc.) works too (in Amarok for instance).

Offline

#541 2009-11-15 07:31:34

Wintervenom
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 1,011

Re: Laptops which run Arch

A TOSHIBA Satellite L305-S5919:  2.17 gigahertz Intel Celeron; four gigabytes of RAM.  Everything works perfectly, but I have not tested the modem.

Last edited by Wintervenom (2009-11-15 07:31:55)

Offline

#542 2009-11-15 08:32:39

seiichiro0185
Member
From: Leipzig/Germany
Registered: 2009-04-09
Posts: 226
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Vostro 1310 here, C2D 2.1GHz, 4GB RAM, Nivida 8400GS, Intel pro wireless 4965AGN WLAN, everything works without problems, including webcam, cardreader, Multimedia-Keys even suspend/hibernate work without any manual configuration


My System: Dell XPS 13 | i7-7560U | 16GB RAM | 512GB SSD | FHD Screen | Arch Linux
My Workstation/Server: Supermicro X11SSZ-F | Xeon E3-1245 v6 | 64GB RAM | 1TB SSD Raid 1 + 6TB HDD ZFS Raid Z1 | Proxmox VE
My Stuff at Github: github
My Homepage: Seiichiros HP

Offline

#543 2009-11-18 22:59:59

jpg
Member
Registered: 2009-09-26
Posts: 12

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I am running Arch on an ASUS G50VT.
Sexy and fast.

Offline

#544 2009-11-19 00:08:30

tvale
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2008-12-11
Posts: 175

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus UL30A.

Offline

#545 2009-11-19 00:39:52

llcawthorne
Member
From: Columbia, SC
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 142

Re: Laptops which run Arch

My Dell Studio 14z seems to like it well enough.  Of course, this is mainly an inexpensive "for school" laptop that I got because its color matched my school's color (red).  3 GB of RAM, Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 Ghz processor (normally scaled down to 1.2 Ghz, unless I am doing much), some type of NVIDIA graphics, looks like a 250GB drive.

Honestly, I had to cat /proc/cpuinfo to remember the chip, type free to remember the RAM, and add up the size of the partitions to remember the disk space.  I should've left that sticker on it.  But it works, for the most part.  I like this model for my purposes, since it is built for students and has around a 4 hr battery life and portability but still has a 14 inch screen and usable keyboard (as opposed to a netbook).

I am waiting for an ath9k kernel module that doesn't flake out on me, but it really isn't that annoying to remove/reload the module and re-run net-config everytime I wake the laptop up, and it only gives out the rest of the time when I am doing heavy transfers.


To understand recursion, you must understand recursion.

Offline

#546 2009-11-19 17:19:44

Devastator
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-05-27
Posts: 179

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba Satellite A500-1DN (Core2 Duo T6600, NVidia 230M...) - Everything important works out of box (wifi, cpu scaling, graphics, suspend to ram, most of multimedia keys and so on)


Some applications are WYSIWYG, and some are WYSIWTF.

Offline

#547 2009-11-27 11:42:07

fromthehill
Member
From: Helmond, Netherlands
Registered: 2009-11-27
Posts: 9

Re: Laptops which run Arch

used ubuntu for 6 months (almost everything worked out-of-the-box as of 9.10)
just converted my laptop to arch

Acer Aspire 8930G-644G32MN
intel core2duo t6400 2.0GHz
4GB DDR3
NVidea Geforce 9600M GT 1GB

Arch 32-bit (I know I should use 64-bit but with the PAE kernel everything works fine):
NVidea Geforce 9600M GT: Works! (used nvidia drivers from repository, native resolution)
vga+hdmi: works!
intel sound thingy: works! (used current ALSA from repository. doesn't work below alsa 1.0.19)
touchpad: works! (used xf86-input-synaptics to get it working)
ethernet: works! (works out-of-the box)
wireless: works! (installed iwlwifi-5000-ucode + wicd)
bluetooth: not tested, doesn't seem to work
cpu-scaling works!(cpufreq, see arch-wiki)
card-reader: not tested. (Adding pciehp.pciehp_force=1 to kernel parameters in /boot/grub/menu.lst should make it work)
hibernate: works!
sleep: doesn't work!:( (hdd disconnects after wakeup)

keyboard:
everything works exept: mediacenter-button, euro and usd button (don't see any input in xen)
other buttons are assigned or work when assigned to something

Offline

#548 2009-11-27 12:44:48

Nagian
Member
From: Altach, Austria
Registered: 2009-08-03
Posts: 70

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I am running arch on a HP Compaq 8510p. Everything I need works out of the box, the only exception is WLAN (works with iwlwifi-4965-ucode). I have not tested everything (i don't need a fingerprint scanner for instance).

Offline

#549 2009-11-27 16:25:05

mauz
Member
From: Medellín, Antioquia, COLOMBIA.
Registered: 2005-02-19
Posts: 31
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I have a SONY VAIO an it runs great.

Offline

#550 2009-11-27 16:25:37

djselbeck
Member
Registered: 2008-03-04
Posts: 26

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I'm running Arch on HP Mini 5101, everything works bluetooth,wlan everything. Wlan need broadcom-sta driver.

Greets

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB