You are not logged in.

#601 2010-01-17 17:25:13

n0dix
Member
Registered: 2009-09-22
Posts: 956

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell inspiron 6400 big_smile

Offline

#602 2010-01-21 00:02:07

Tiigon
Member
Registered: 2009-11-03
Posts: 65

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire 5520 here. I'm using the 64-bit version, and it works fine, but due to some compability problems (with software, not hardware) I'm going to switch to the 32-bit version soon.

Offline

#603 2010-01-21 11:15:11

elric
Member
Registered: 2010-01-14
Posts: 22

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP Compaq 6715s
Need to compile broadcom-wl to make wireless work.
ATI X1250 still doesn't have proper 3d (getting there, though).

Besides, it runs flawlessly.

Offline

#604 2010-01-21 18:38:43

senkil
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2009-01-10
Posts: 21

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell XPS M1710 - everything works perfectly
HP TX2 1399eo - works fine, touchscreen need working ntrig driver

Last edited by senkil (2010-01-21 18:42:40)


- stianlik

Offline

#605 2010-01-21 18:59:09

surfed
Member
From: Vienna Austria
Registered: 2009-10-30
Posts: 86

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell XPS 16 (1645) with intel i7, everything works including turbo boost.

Offline

#606 2010-01-22 02:09:36

Krause
Member
Registered: 2010-01-20
Posts: 81

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus eeePC 901; default 2.6.32 kernel

Works:  battery state monitor, ethernet, wifi, cpu scaling, graphics, fn keys, acpi functions, USB, external monitor
Did not try:  webcam, card reader

Offline

#607 2010-01-22 22:29:12

CUS
Member
From: Midlands, UK
Registered: 2010-01-22
Posts: 1
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Latitude D420.  Not experienced any problems at all, though haven't yet tried the card-reader.  Really impressed how smoothly the installation went.


So Talk About Games - friendly chat and gaming.

Offline

#608 2010-01-22 23:02:38

yimm
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 106

Re: Laptops which run Arch

MSI GT725 (carbon edition) - Everything works perfectly too. (64 bits version).

Last edited by yimm (2010-01-22 23:03:59)

Offline

#609 2010-01-23 15:06:23

tlvb
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2008-10-06
Posts: 297
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

ASUS F3T (3 years old):
Hibernate/suspend and modem not tested, everything else works.


I need a sorted list of all random numbers, so that I can retrieve a suitable one later with a binary search instead of having to iterate through the generation process every time.

Offline

#610 2010-01-24 10:40:17

barraponto
Member
From: Campinas, Brazil
Registered: 2009-10-15
Posts: 24

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Extensa 5620z
can't workout hibernate/suspend but everything else works ok.

Offline

#611 2010-01-28 05:53:41

piroko
Member
Registered: 2010-01-28
Posts: 14

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP mini 1000 netbook. Runs arch flawlessly. Literally everything works perfectly, and I have not had even one crash. Suspending/resuming ~6 times/day, and had an uptime of two months once before I decided to upgrade the kernel. An amazing little machine.

Offline

#612 2010-01-28 06:23:37

JPEC
Member
From: Amiens (FRANCE)
Registered: 2009-04-10
Posts: 14
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

A pink MSI WIND U100x! cool

When i bought it, it ran Suse Enterprise which was very crap and slow...
I run Archlinux with an hacked version of Dwm and xcompmgr, wicd, conky, an hacked version of fbpanel to have systray, mpd, gmixer, and some other light good softwares !

I got a pink one because this is the first serie sold in france of wind and i don't have the choice smile


Julien Pecqueur (JPEC)
--
[url]http://julienpecqueur.com - Unix, code & web![/url]
HTC Magic (Android) | Shuttle X27D (Archlinux + DWM) | Asus EeeBox (Debian Lenny Server)

Offline

#613 2010-01-28 07:12:05

teh
Member
From: Tijuana, Mexico
Registered: 2009-07-07
Posts: 374
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Compaq c762nr here.

Everything is working.


arst

Offline

#614 2010-01-29 23:21:55

RiouJ
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-09-20
Posts: 7

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell XPS M1530, works perfectly since this summer (when I set up arch).
Openbox (standalone) - Core 2 Duo T8300 - nVidia M8600GT.


Arch (x86_64 on C2D & Athlon X2 + i686 on Celeron Coppermine)
Arch user since summer 09.

Offline

#615 2010-02-05 03:09:18

insanemal
Member
From: Brisbane/Australia
Registered: 2009-05-05
Posts: 140

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba U500

Using OS ATI drivers. (lots of git packages and kernel)
Only issue is the "Cool and Quiet" (i think its called that) causes the fan to not fire up at all randomly

Offline

#616 2010-02-05 06:30:51

Mr Pink57
Member
From: a van down by the river
Registered: 2009-05-30
Posts: 91

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Gateway MX3560

Everything runs fine out of the box including the FN keys.

pink


Even a broken clock is right twice a day.

Diplomacy without force is like music without instruments.

Offline

#617 2010-02-14 05:12:37

ArchSoarer
Member
From: Cho-fu-sa
Registered: 2009-11-02
Posts: 23

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Running fine on a Satellite Pro L300D-SP5801, Turion 64 X2 with ATI Mobility Xpress x1250.

Issues:
*Webcam is not functioning properly (SOLVED)
*I'm not sure acpi events are being passed by acpid, and therefore I don't really know if I'm saving all the battery power I could when I disconnect the AC power.


UPDATE:
*Is very important to edit the /boot/grub/menu.lst archive with the option acpi_osi="Linux" on kernel line so your laptop can manage the fan. Otherwise, it will turn on by the 75 C degrees, in this scenario could be overheat and an abrupt turn off/reboot or worst (an useless processor).

UPDATE2:
*Yesterday I had another problem with pm_utils. On an hibernate state I plug in the AC power, started and finally power off properly. When I started my laptop again it was like I didn't have BIOS, after all night I tried to start it again... now I notice the fan is not working. I'm disabling pm_utils definitely.

(SOLVED): Use EXA instead of XXA in xorg.conf

Last edited by ArchSoarer (2010-02-23 21:30:07)

Offline

#618 2010-02-14 07:35:09

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Eee 1005HAB: as of 2010 Arch supports everything, including the (dodgy) Attansic ethernet controller. However, the 2009.X isos do not support said controller properly, so Arch has to be installed from a live environment via pacman-static.

Offline

#619 2010-02-14 09:48:39

dcc24
Member
Registered: 2009-10-31
Posts: 732

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Inspiron 1564
Core i3 330M, HD4330 GPU

Replaced the shitty Broadcom wifi card with an Intel 5100, works perfect.
Open source drivers for the ati card has serious corruption issues with HD4330. Reverted to X.org 1.6 using the doorknob repo, catalyst works fine.
Suspend/hibernate works.
Webcam works.
No acpi problems.
As of this writing lm-sensors doesn't support this CPU, or this chipset.

Last edited by dcc24 (2010-02-14 09:49:03)


It is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. (Mark Twain)

My AUR packages

Offline

#620 2010-02-22 21:25:47

samuele.mattiuzzo
Member
From: Treviso, IT
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 307
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Hp Mini1010el, everything works out just great (i just configured and used hdmi and vga output with desktop mirroring), wireless too, except i'm not able to have the integrated webcam working (i don't even know where to look for the model...)

Offline

#621 2010-03-03 02:29:05

tri1976
Member
Registered: 2009-09-07
Posts: 152

Re: Laptops which run Arch

lardon wrote:

Dell Latitude E5500 was quite difficult to set up because of the recent GM45 intel graphics. Everything works much better with libdrm-git and xf86-video-intel-git . There are still a few problems, though, but they should gradually disapear with the next version of the kernel.

I am setting up this same model laptop (Dell Latitude E5500) with Arch.  Everything is working except wireless interface.  WIFI light is on but it couldn't see any wireless network and slow down the system significantly.  My controller is Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g [14e4:4315] (rev 01).  I tried b43-firmware, b43-firmware-newest, b43-firmware-legacy from AUR and none of them solve the problem
Lardon, I know it's been awhile since you had posted the above thread, but I'm wondering if you get yours working?  If anyone else using this laptop, please give me some pointers.

update 03/06/2010: none of the b43 firmware work for me.  I follow direction on this wiki http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Broadcom_BCM4312 and it works.

Last edited by tri1976 (2010-03-06 15:11:31)

Offline

#622 2010-03-05 00:05:28

BrunoV
Member
Registered: 2010-03-04
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

DELL LATITUDE D531
The Wireless was the hard part. My controller is Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g [14e4:4315] (rev 01).  b43 and b43-firmware-newest did it. With wicd currently but heard that netcfg could be better ?
The X wasn't too easy also. I had to manually configure the touch pad.
I wanted to try Arch because I really like the "Awesome WM" and they say that Arch was the "corresponding" Distro .
Bruno

Last edited by BrunoV (2010-03-05 00:21:29)

Offline

#623 2010-03-05 00:28:05

tri1976
Member
Registered: 2009-09-07
Posts: 152

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Bruno, you didn't have to do anything special with b43-firmware-newest?  I had this installed also but it didn't work for me.  I too use wicd.  My system appear to stall here and there when wifi is turned on.

Offline

#624 2010-03-05 00:32:31

bgalakazam
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: California, USA
Registered: 2008-09-01
Posts: 76

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I no longer have it, but had it for about an year on Acer Aspire 5102WLMi .

Works: ATI + powersave mode, wifi, eth, touchpad, Fn key for brightness

Doesn't Work: modem, card reader, webcam



I am currently looking to buy a laptop (no netbooks) for Arch, but cannot decide on one. I also want it about $300 (2nd hand is OK).

Offline

#625 2010-03-05 08:57:35

BrunoV
Member
Registered: 2010-03-04
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Tri976
I guess that if your wifi light is on, you firmware is OK. (At first I didn't install the firmware).
I followed the advices here : http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wireless_Setup#b43
In the "MODULES=(...)", I just have "b43", but I guess that "!b43legacy" won't harm.

Did you test the installation ? http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wir … stallation
You should have a "wlan0".

I have dbus installed and followed the configuration described in http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wicd
I didn't have to join a special group.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB