You are not logged in.

#101 2007-02-28 10:56:49

con
Member
Registered: 2006-05-11
Posts: 89
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire 3003lmi
works great. basically everything is supported, wifi with some help from ndiswrapper
more info here http://students.turkuai.fi/~coholteg/laptop


charlie dont surf!

Offline

#102 2007-02-28 12:05:05

quetzyg
Member
From: /home/quetzyg
Registered: 2006-08-03
Posts: 129

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I'm running Arch on an Uniwill 259EN3 rebranded as a Tsunami Speeder 259 Ultra.

Everything works!


ZzZz...

Offline

#103 2007-03-01 04:44:32

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Running Arch on a Compaq M700 , 500mhz, 192 mb ram, 10 gig hard drive.

Offline

#104 2007-03-01 09:57:24

Matrix
Member
Registered: 2006-08-16
Posts: 28

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Samsung R55
Everything works fine but i haven´t tested the modem or pcmcia.

Offline

#105 2007-03-01 11:10:15

STiAT
Member
From: Vienna, Austria
Registered: 2004-12-23
Posts: 603

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Quite any Dimotion notebook runs with arch, just wlan modules are needed smile.


Ability is nothing without opportunity.

Offline

#106 2007-03-11 04:05:42

akrito
Member
Registered: 2006-09-29
Posts: 10

Re: Laptops which run Arch

IBM (Lenovo) Z61t

Wifi (no ndiswrapper required smile), power management, sound and regular Xorg worked with very little effort.  I haven't messed with suspend or DRI yet.

My one complaint so far is with Lenovo.  Though this is a Core 2 Duo laptop, virtualization is disabled and can't be enabled in the BIOS.

Offline

#107 2007-03-11 06:34:11

brewin
Member
Registered: 2007-03-07
Posts: 4

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire 3102WLMi (aka 3100)
(Using Arch64)

- ATI X1100 video card detected as 200M but works anyway (vesa, ati, radeon and fglrx with Mode "1280x800" in xorg.conf)

- Atheros wireless works (madwifi)

- Realtek ethernet works  (8139too, detected)

- ENE Multi-card reader doesn't work and I've found no useful information on the internet to make it work.

- HDA-Intel sound works somewhat with ALSA 1.0.14rc2 and this in modprobe.conf:

alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel
options snd-hda-intel position_fix=1 enable_msi=1 model=3stack-dig   ## --- Does NOT work correctly with model=acer

There are still some major problems with sound. It only works if ALSA is disabled at startup and then use alsamixer to unmute. The volume settings get reset every reboot. Also, when the snd-hda-intel module is loaded this error is repeated hundreds of times: "hda_codec: invalid dep_range_val 0:7fff" (I've been trying to fix this for the past 8 months. It is a problem with ALSA that they are aware of but haven't fixed yet apparently.)

- PCMCIA, Bluetooth, hotkeys, etc. I haven't bothered with getting to work since I don't use them. PCMCIA might work out of the box, but I don't use it.

Offline

#108 2007-03-11 11:56:31

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I have a Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo 1655g. I replaced the default Broadcom 'Airforce One' wireless miniPCI card by an Intel IPW2200 cool after a few days - thinking the problems i had with getting wireless up and running were due to the card (which was partially so).

I use the fsaa1655g module to run wireless (it enables radio mode for the antenna), it seems this is purely a software switch (luckily someone took an old FOSS Fujitsu laptop radio module and adapted it to the newer Amilo series smile).

So wireless works perfectly now, as does the cardreader (i have SD cards and Memorysticks), and the Firewire 400.

Other than that... No complaints. Good laptop, although next time i won't go with onboard ATi GPUs tongue. And with the right measures i can almost get 3 hours of battery life out of my laptop tongue.

Next buy won't be a Fujitsu-Siemens though tongue. Zepto is my next target wink.


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#109 2007-03-11 12:51:34

borgcube
Member
From: Slovakia
Registered: 2007-03-11
Posts: 13
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I am running archlinux on a fujitsu-siemens amilo pro v2030. everything works fine. before i had problems with my graphics card (via, unichrome) in ubuntu, but in archlinux is working fine.

Offline

#110 2007-03-11 16:01:11

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Compaq Armada M300.. everything works well. I added a pcmcia wireless card and that works too.


I am a gated community.

Offline

#111 2007-03-13 01:00:10

majikstreet
Member
Registered: 2006-07-31
Posts: 96

Re: Laptops which run Arch

IBM ThinkPad T23... I have a ZyXEL card in the pcmia/whatever slot.. it is running gnome well..
specs:
512mb ram
60gb hd
dvd/cdrw drive

I bought it from usanotebooks.com .. recommended in case anyone is looking for a used laptop.

it boots faster than my desktop running ubuntu.. they both go to GDM..


arooaroo wrote:
syd wrote:

Here in NZ we cant spell words with more than 5 letters. So color will have to do.

You must be very special then because "letters" has 7 tongue

Offline

#112 2007-03-13 09:05:36

Wikimig
Developer
From: France
Registered: 2004-12-10
Posts: 77
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Gericom 1580 and no problem!

Offline

#113 2007-03-17 19:23:40

SiD
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-09-21
Posts: 729

Re: Laptops which run Arch

works fine on Acer Extensa 3001 WLMi
... using custom kernel for console-framebuffer and speedstep-settings

Offline

#114 2007-03-17 19:56:02

wuischke
Member
From: Suisse Romande
Registered: 2007-01-06
Posts: 630

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Clevo M400a, everything I use works fine. (I don't use the card slot, firewire. irda)

Offline

#115 2007-03-18 08:48:26

festgreifaah
Member
Registered: 2006-06-12
Posts: 51

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Samsung X11

Most things work.

Didn't try Bluetooth, Firewire, CardReader.
There are problems with standby. So I have to spend some more time on this issue.

Offline

#116 2007-04-16 10:13:13

Ryochan7
Member
From: Peoria, IL
Registered: 2006-01-02
Posts: 45
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Currently testing Arch64 on my new System76 Gazelle Value. Most things work well now.

Offline

#117 2007-04-16 12:01:49

Xilon
Member
Registered: 2007-01-01
Posts: 243

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I currently use Archlinux on my Macbook (Core Duo - not Core 2 Duo).

/me hides

Offline

#118 2007-04-16 18:31:29

ekerazha
Member
Registered: 2007-02-27
Posts: 290

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus A6770K: all is supported except the integrated webcam (however a driver for the webcam is under development https://sourceforge.net/projects/m560x-driver/ ).

Offline

#119 2007-04-19 21:50:17

chaosgeisterchen
Member
From: Kefermarkt, Upper Austria
Registered: 2006-11-20
Posts: 550

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Xilon wrote:

I currently use Archlinux on my Macbook (Core Duo - not Core 2 Duo).

/me hides

Everything working properly, if I may ask?


celestary
Intel Core2Duo E6300 @ 1.86 GHz
kernel26
KDEmod current repository

Offline

#120 2007-04-19 22:07:09

diogenes
Member
Registered: 2007-04-11
Posts: 17

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Inspiron 1100

--works great!

Offline

#121 2007-04-19 22:18:07

equadon
Member
Registered: 2007-04-12
Posts: 25

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Compaq R4000

Arch installs nicely, and it runs well in both GNOME and KDE.
However, since it has an ATI Xpress 200M graphics card, the propriety drivers and direct rendering doesn't work. (don't get ATI cards! :])

I would never have bought it if I had planned to use Linux from the beginning, and I do not recommend it.

Offline

#122 2007-04-20 09:19:37

plut0nium
Member
From: Mons, Belgium
Registered: 2007-01-18
Posts: 18
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Latitude D410 here...

Installed using an external USB CD Drive
Working quite well, although i haven't fine tuned everything yet

Last edited by plut0nium (2007-04-20 09:19:48)


Without evil there can be no good, so it must be good to be evil sometimes...

Offline

#123 2007-04-20 11:10:43

lloeki
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-02-20
Posts: 456
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

this thread is eing in the process of creating a difficultly searchable/browseable list+comments, maybe a wiki page with a vendor categorized laptop list+short comments could be useful?

Last edited by lloeki (2007-04-20 11:11:31)


To know recursion, you must first know recursion.

Offline

#124 2007-04-20 12:11:07

Lontronics
Member
Registered: 2006-08-28
Posts: 121

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Inspiron 9400

1920x1200 px widescreen
2,17G dual core
1G ram
120Gb harddisk

Offline

#125 2007-04-21 20:43:04

dw
Member
From: Vienna, Austria
Registered: 2006-11-25
Posts: 157

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I'm using arch on a hp pavilion dv9043ea and most of the components work pretty well. This notebook has a broadcom 4310 (uart) wlan card which I am using with the ndiswrapper drivers without any problems. Even the integrated ricoh webcam works fine (with self-compiled R5U870 drivers). 

Problems are, that I cannot get hibernate and suspend working correctly and that kernels > 2.6.20.3 won't boot on this notebook.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB