You are not logged in.

#1376 2013-06-23 22:04:05

LowEndGeek
Member
From: Redlands, CA
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 9
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Vostro 1400

Intel core 2 duo cpu 1.8 Ghz
3GB RAM
Intel GMA965 video card 256MB

everything works just fine, I haven't found anything yet that doesn't work

Offline

#1377 2013-06-26 14:21:58

imkentjr
Member
Registered: 2013-06-18
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

System76 Pangolin Performance (panp5)
Everything works after a little configuration (touchpad)
I havent tried to configure the fingerprint reader, but i dont like using it!

Offline

#1378 2013-06-30 13:05:17

Phry
Member
Registered: 2013-06-29
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus UX31-E-RY009V Zenbook - Everything works just fine, exept for the WLAN-Fn-Key whose LED is sometimes on when it should be off and vice versa- but who cares?

Last edited by Phry (2013-06-30 13:09:30)

Offline

#1379 2013-07-07 03:03:54

d3xtr
Member
Registered: 2012-02-05
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer S7 191. Everything works great. Secure boot disabled.

Offline

#1380 2013-07-07 04:14:33

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Laptops which run Arch

d3xtr wrote:

Acer S7 191. Everything works great. Secure boot disabled.

For anyone that might read this thread, I just want to point out that Arch Linux does support secureboot now.  The install media includes secureboot support.  But for your system, like everything else in Arch Linux, you will have to learn about and set up the FSF prebootloader manually.  But it is packaged now in the official repos.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2013-07-07 04:14:51)

Offline

#1381 2013-07-07 10:50:51

johskar
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2010-08-11
Posts: 8

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Phry wrote:

Asus UX31-E-RY009V Zenbook - Everything works just fine, exept for the WLAN-Fn-Key whose LED is sometimes on when it should be off and vice versa- but who cares?

ASUS Zenbook Pro UX32VD-R4002H (Slightly upgraded with a 250GB SSD and 10GB ram total)

Everything works fine on Intel graphics, haven't tried setting up switching between the on-cpu intel and the discrete Nvidia chip or doing it with secure boot yet.
^^ Except that the keyboard backlight and WLAN-Fn-Key Led doesn't always do as told... :-)

Offline

#1382 2013-07-07 12:14:13

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,162
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP Pavillion G6-1306: AMD A4-3305M, AMD Mobility 6480G HD, 4GB RAM, 1TB disk. Dual-boot with Windows 7.

H/W path        Device      Class       Description
===================================================
                            system      HP Pavilion g6 Notebook PC (B1R22EA#ABU)
/0                          bus         3566
/0/0                        memory      128KiB BIOS
/0/b                        memory      4GiB System Memory
/0/b/0                      memory      SODIMM [empty]
/0/b/1                      memory      4GiB SODIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1333 MHz (0.8 ns)
/0/10                       processor   AMD A4-3305M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
/0/10/11                    memory      256KiB L1 cache
/0/10/12                    memory      1MiB L2 cache
/0/100                      bridge      Family 12h Processor Root Complex
/0/100/1                    display     Sumo [Radeon HD 6480G]
/0/100/1.1                  multimedia  BeaverCreek HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6500D and 6400G-6600G series]
/0/100/4                    bridge      Family 12h Processor Root Port
/0/100/4/0      wlo1        network     RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
/0/100/5                    bridge      Family 12h Processor Root Port
/0/100/5/0      eno1        network     RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller
/0/100/6                    bridge      Family 12h Processor Root Port
/0/100/6/0                  generic     RTS5209 PCI Express Card Reader
/0/100/11                   storage     FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
/0/100/12                   bus         FCH USB OHCI Controller
/0/100/12.2                 bus         FCH USB EHCI Controller
/0/100/13                   bus         FCH USB OHCI Controller
/0/100/13.2                 bus         FCH USB EHCI Controller
/0/100/14                   bus         FCH SMBus Controller
/0/100/14.2                 multimedia  FCH Azalia Controller
/0/100/14.3                 bridge      FCH LPC Bridge
/0/100/14.4                 bridge      FCH PCI Bridge
/0/100/16                   bus         FCH USB OHCI Controller
/0/100/16.2                 bus         FCH USB EHCI Controller

Toshiba Satellite Pro C850-15T: i3-2370M, Intel Graphics 3000, 4GB RAM, 500GB disk. Dual-boot with Windows 7 (Yes, not 8).

Both work in the current set-ups. I don't know what the story would be if the Satellite Pro came with Windows 8 (as advertised on the Toshiba website), but I'm not complaining.

Last edited by clfarron4 (2013-07-09 11:35:14)


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#1383 2013-07-08 07:10:20

Dokan
Member
Registered: 2013-07-08
Posts: 4

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba Satellite U300 - 102

Satellite U300-102
Código: PSU30E-00S00NSP

    Windows® Vista® Home Premium
    Intel® Centrino® Duo (Intel® Core™2 Duo T7100)
    Wifi Intel® 4965AGN  Chipset Intel® GM965
    Toshiba TruBrite® WXGA TFT
    2560 (2048 + 512) MB
    RAM DDR2 (667 MHz)
    Intel® GMA X3100
    1,8 kg

http://www.toshiba.es/discontinued-prod … -u300-102/

Works fine but with a sound problem (alsa or hardware).

Offline

#1384 2013-07-08 07:47:27

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 2,151

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Sony VAIO VPC-EB2H4E
Everything works wihtout any problems.
http://www.sony.co.uk/support/en/product/VPCEB2H4E

H/W path         Device  Class          Description
===================================================
                         system         VPCEB2H4E (N/A)
/0                       bus            VAIO
/0/0                     memory         64KiB BIOS
/0/4                     processor      Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU       M 350  @ 2.27GHz
/0/4/5                   memory         128KiB L1 cache
/0/4/6                   memory         512KiB L2 cache
/0/4/7                   memory         3MiB L3 cache
/0/9                     memory         4GiB System Memory
/0/9/0                   memory         2GiB SODIMM DDR3
/0/9/1                   memory         2GiB SODIMM DDR3
/0/100                   bridge         Core Processor DRAM Controller
/0/100/1                 bridge         Core Processor PCI Express x16 Root Port
/0/100/1/0               display        Park [Mobility Radeon HD 5430/5450/5470]
/0/100/1/0.1             multimedia     Cedar HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5400/6300 Series]
/0/100/16                communication  5 Series/3400 Series Chipset HECI Controller
/0/100/1a                bus            5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
/0/100/1b                multimedia     5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio
/0/100/1c                bridge         5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 1
/0/100/1c/0      wlan0   network        AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
/0/100/1c.1              bridge         5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 2
/0/100/1c.1/0            generic        MMC/SD Host Controller
/0/100/1c.1/0.1          generic        R5U2xx (R5U230 / R5U231 / R5U241) [Memory Stick Host Controller]
/0/100/1c.1/0.4          generic        MMC/SD Host Controller
/0/100/1c.2              bridge         5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 3
/0/100/1c.2/0    eth0    network        Yukon Optima 88E8059 [PCIe Gigabit Ethernet Controller with AVB]
/0/100/1c.5              bridge         5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 6
/0/100/1d                bus            5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
/0/100/1e                bridge         82801 Mobile PCI Bridge
/0/100/1f                bridge         Mobile 5 Series Chipset LPC Interface Controller
/0/100/1f.2              storage        5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 4 port SATA AHCI Controller
/0/100/1f.3              bus            5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBus Controller
/0/101                   bridge         Core Processor QuickPath Architecture Generic Non-core Registers
/0/102                   bridge         Core Processor QuickPath Architecture System Address Decoder
/0/103                   bridge         Core Processor QPI Link 0
/0/104                   bridge         Core Processor QPI Physical 0
/0/105                   bridge         Core Processor Reserved
/0/106                   bridge         Core Processor Reserved

Offline

#1385 2013-07-08 14:42:12

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Laptops which run Arch

@progandy, what did you use to get that HW printout like that?

Offline

#1386 2013-07-09 09:34:53

adamrights
Member
From: New York
Registered: 2011-08-27
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

@WonderWoofy, he's using 'lshw' with the '-short' format, so the terminal command is, which is recommended to run as root would be:

sudo lshw -short

Offline

#1387 2013-07-09 11:37:56

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,162
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

adamrights wrote:

@WonderWoofy, he's using 'lshw' with the '-short' format, so the terminal command is, which is recommended to run as root would be:

sudo lshw -short

Ou... I've updated one of mine, and will the other to include this...

Does the following code mean I have a spare slot for RAM? I think that is how it reads...

 /0/b/0                      memory      SODIMM [empty] 

Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#1388 2013-07-09 12:45:53

chap
Member
Registered: 2013-07-08
Posts: 10

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus X5MS-N53SV

Everything is working except from the Nvidia GPU, I'm not using it here atm because I don't need it.

Offline

#1389 2013-07-09 15:42:24

firekage
Member
From: Eastern Europe, Poland
Registered: 2013-06-30
Posts: 491

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer E1-531

Acer AOD 270 (Atom N2600). On AOD 270 resume doesen't work because of the 3-rd party driver (intel is at fault, but they didn't make this chipset, it is producent by other company, so after resume screen is corrupted).

Everything works ok, even with fn keys and changing brightness of LCD backlight sceen.

Last edited by firekage (2013-07-21 13:21:55)

Offline

#1390 2013-07-12 23:10:52

botika
Member
Registered: 2013-07-12
Posts: 34

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Lenovo Thinkpad 430u,

AUR is the best I've ever seen.

Offline

#1391 2013-07-13 00:40:00

nourathar
Member
Registered: 2013-04-26
Posts: 73

Re: Laptops which run Arch

alienware m11x r2

everything worked out of the box, since I am on Arch I've been also managing the discrete graphics card with bumblebee and bbswitch.

Offline

#1392 2013-07-15 00:17:59

CryptAck
Member
Registered: 2013-07-14
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell XPS 13 Ultrabook

Minor issues with touch pad, but that's been pretty uniform across distros. Can't adjust the brightness with standard Fn + F4 / F5, likely something small to fix, but doesn't work OTB. I had troubles on another distro where turning off bluetooth killed wifi, haven't tried it on here yet, but my assumption is MMV.

Offline

#1393 2013-07-15 22:05:04

VanillaFunk
Member
From: MA. USA
Registered: 2013-06-10
Posts: 396
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Satellite L755--- all works fine big_smile


archx86_64 : awesomewm
https://github.com/dreemsoul

Remeber to feed the squirrels

Offline

#1394 2013-07-15 23:11:59

adamlowe
Member
From: Pasadena
Registered: 2013-07-09
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire 5750-6845
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz
8 gigs of RAM
Broadcom Corporation BCM43227 802.11b/g/n

Linux version 3.10.1-1-ARCH

The only problem that I had was wifi and I'm using broadcom-wl.

Offline

#1395 2013-07-16 03:31:10

papajonpizza
Member
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 2013-06-13
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

How did you get that Linux 3.10.1-1-ARCH?  I run full updates everyday (just did one just now, and didn't see an update to Linux 3.10  yet.  Are you running x86_64?

Maybe I gotta read the news  smile


adamlowe wrote:

Acer Aspire 5750-6845
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz
8 gigs of RAM
Broadcom Corporation BCM43227 802.11b/g/n

Linux version 3.10.1-1-ARCH

The only problem that I had was wifi and I'm using broadcom-wl.


Toshiba Z830 - 13.3" display | Intel Core i7 | 6GB RAM | 128GB SSD | Arch Linux -  XFCE desktop | [VMWare Player - Win7 Professional 64bit]

Offline

#1396 2013-07-16 03:43:09

HalosGhost
Member
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 1,486
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

papajonpizza wrote:

How did you get that Linux 3.10.1-1-ARCH?  I run full updates everyday (just did one just now, and didn't see an update to Linux 3.10  yet.  Are you running x86_64?

See [testing]

Maybe I gotta read the news  smile

Yes, yes you do.

All the best,

-HG


"All errors are ᴘᴇʙᴋᴀᴄ errors—It's just a matter of narrowing down which keyboard and chair." -Trilby
\ldots

Online

#1397 2013-07-16 04:15:16

papajonpizza
Member
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 2013-06-13
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Thank you HalosGhost.  I thought I was running [testing] but just examined pacman.conf and it is disabled by default.  Just as well.  My Arch is super stable. Thanks again.


Toshiba Z830 - 13.3" display | Intel Core i7 | 6GB RAM | 128GB SSD | Arch Linux -  XFCE desktop | [VMWare Player - Win7 Professional 64bit]

Offline

#1398 2013-07-16 04:30:01

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Laptops which run Arch

papajonpizza wrote:

Thank you HalosGhost.  I thought I was running [testing] but just examined pacman.conf and it is disabled by default.  Just as well.  My Arch is super stable. Thanks again.

It is probably a good idea to stick with non-testing repos unless you are actively prepared to have to fix your system at some pint or another.  Also, it you run [testing] you should definitely be subscribed to the [arch-dev-public] mailing list so that you can see the happenings in [testing].  By doing this, you will also see drafts of the news before they are posted to the front page, as you will be dealing with these packages before they hit [core].

Offline

#1399 2013-07-16 04:36:12

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,441

Re: Laptops which run Arch

WonderWoofy wrote:

...unless you are actively prepared to have to fix your system at some pint or another.

I've a difficult time fixing my machine after one pint or another  tongue


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#1400 2013-07-16 04:39:07

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I think one is probably okay.  But a few might make it difficult for most, and for me, I might abandon computing altogether, start drinking heavily and then find my way back onto the H train... so I probably shouldn't do that.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB