You are not logged in.

#1426 2013-08-13 17:32:14

cardinal-biggles
Member
Registered: 2013-05-24
Posts: 17

Re: Laptops which run Arch

cardinal-biggles wrote:

The other problem is overheating. It only happens when I'm doing something CPU intensive like Minecraft, but after buying a Belkin cooling pad, it's not a problem (I have a 2-inch fan cooling my Intel i7 CPU and that's it).

Actually, one time my laptop was kinda hot and it wouldn't boot. I kept getting kernel panics. I tried disabling the NMI watchdog via a kernel parameter and using the fallback initramfs, but I still got kernel panics. So I let it sit for a while, bottom up, and then opened it up and moved the 4GB memory stick to the other slot. It booted fine after that, no special kernel parameters or anything. This hasn't happened before, and hasn't happened since.

If it helps, it said something like "hw not ready," and my BIOS screen consistently took FOREVER to come up (this happens sometimes).

Any ideas?

Last edited by cardinal-biggles (2013-08-13 17:35:32)

Offline

#1427 2013-08-14 11:28:26

skiwi
Member
Registered: 2012-11-28
Posts: 26

Re: Laptops which run Arch

ZigBee wrote:

Lenovo Ideapad U310

13,3" - 1366x768
CPU: Intel i5 3317U 1.7Ghz
GPU: Intel HD 4000
RAM: 4Gb
HDD: 32 Gb SSD + 500 Gb 5400 rpm


Everything works perfectly. Amazing boot time ~7 seconds with / on ssd.
You need nomodeset for install because of kernel < 3.2 in install image.
Touchpad is synaptics clickpad, so for right click you need:

$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-synaptics.conf
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "touchpad catchall"
        Driver "synaptics"
        MatchIsTouchpad "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Option "TapButton1" "1"
        Option "TapButton2" "2"
        Option "TapButton3" "3"
        Option "ClickPad"         "true"
        Option "EmulateMidButtonTime" "0"
        Option "SoftButtonAreas"  "50% 0 82% 0 0 0 0 0"
EndSection

Great, thanks. My U310 is working perfectly.
Another couple of things that didn't seem to work directly for me
- networking with netcfg was very laggy, networkmanager works smoothly (also needed gnome-keyring for xcfce)
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NetworkManager
- fn keys were inverted (requiring Fn+F1 to get F1)
this turned out to be a BIOS setting, set "Legacy Mode" for fn keys.

Best laptop / system combination I've had so far.

Offline

#1428 2013-08-16 05:31:57

the dude
Member
From: Melbourne / Australia
Registered: 2013-08-16
Posts: 15

Re: Laptops which run Arch

IBM T30 works fine, still trying to work out "video hardware acceleration" It's hard to work out when you know nothing and this is your first even Linux install

    Intel Mobile Pentium  2.4GHz CPU
    Intel 845MP Mobile Chipset
    ATI Mobility Radeon 7500 video controller with 16MB
    256MB standard, 1 GB max, PC2100 memory
    40 HDD
    Intel AC'97 Audio with a AD1881A codec

Last edited by the dude (2013-08-16 05:34:09)

Offline

#1429 2013-08-16 16:49:30

ksolsim
Member
Registered: 2012-06-26
Posts: 22

Re: Laptops which run Arch

- Asus K52JB:

   CPU: Intel Core i3  M350  @ 2.27GHz
   memory : 4 GiB
   video: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5145 - 512 MB
   Hard Disk: 640 GB

- Asus A56CM:

   CPU: Intel Core i7-3517U  @ 1.9GHz
   memory : 8 GiB
   video: Nvidia GeForce GT 635M - 2 GB
   Hard Disk: 750 GB

Last edited by ksolsim (2013-08-16 16:50:07)

Offline

#1430 2013-08-16 17:52:13

zanny
Member
Registered: 2012-10-05
Posts: 70

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I'm in the market for a new developer machine, and the galago ultrapro seems like the obvious pick, besides the sizable price hike on the iris 5200. Gotta get 1080p ips matte screen, though. Anyone try Arch on it yet? Couldn't find a review since it came out (last month). Or know of any good 14 - 15.6" notebooks with either Intel or AMD graphics (the 4.11 kernel makes the amd integrated stuff look really solid on the radeon kms driver), an aluminum (or at least not cheap plastic) body, and a 1080p+ ips matte screen? Preferrably with as many open source driver hardware components as possible, I want to develop some kf5 patches on it and might need driver tweaks for wayland.

Offline

#1431 2013-08-16 19:51:59

Ebonwumon
Member
Registered: 2010-11-06
Posts: 3
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

zanny wrote:

I'm in the market for a new developer machine, and the galago ultrapro seems like the obvious pick, besides the sizable price hike on the iris 5200. Gotta get 1080p ips matte screen, though. Anyone try Arch on it yet? Couldn't find a review since it came out (last month). Or know of any good 14 - 15.6" notebooks with either Intel or AMD graphics (the 4.11 kernel makes the amd integrated stuff look really solid on the radeon kms driver), an aluminum (or at least not cheap plastic) body, and a 1080p+ ips matte screen? Preferrably with as many open source driver hardware components as possible, I want to develop some kf5 patches on it and might need driver tweaks for wayland.


I'm picking up my Galago from the UPS Depot ~4 hours from now and then throwing Arch on it. I'll give my feelings on it once I've gotten some decent usage out of it tomorrow or Sunday.

Offline

#1432 2013-08-19 21:12:06

finale
Member
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 18

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba P75-A7200

Requires the following boot option:

acpi_backlight=vendor

The kernel EFISTUB does not boot in recent kernels, so a bootloader (rather than an EFI boot manager) must be used.
Also, the CPU has reached 90°C under heavy loads, so I find it handy to temporarily throttle the CPU when playing games or compiling something, if I'm not in a rush.

Last edited by finale (2013-10-30 16:05:51)

Offline

#1433 2013-08-21 13:38:10

valtin
Member
Registered: 2013-08-21
Posts: 6

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Lenovo G560
Everything was fine till yesterday after the last update, I get kernel panic to any program I open in KDE, I also made a fresh installation and the problem persists.

Offline

#1434 2013-08-22 01:28:14

drekalots
Member
From: ::1
Registered: 2013-08-18
Posts: 5

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Mythlogic Nyx 1711
- CPU: Intel Core i7 2820QM 2.3Ghz
- RAM: 16GB
- HDD: 126GB SSD / 750GB
- GPU: nVidia 485M
- Screen: Matte / Full 1080

Offline

#1435 2013-08-22 22:00:58

labotsirc
Member
Registered: 2013-08-21
Posts: 81

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Razer Blade Pro (2013)

The only problem is that keystrokes get ignored 1/20 of the time.

Offline

#1436 2013-08-26 15:07:22

rep_movsd
Member
Registered: 2013-08-24
Posts: 37

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Precision M6500
i7 Nehalem quad core 2.0 Ghz
20 GB RAM
nVidia Quadro FX-2800 with 1 GB
Intel 330 SSD + Samsung 840 in software RAID-0

Runs brilliantly, but often heats up if using too many VMs (I often run 3 Windows VMs at once).

nVidia driver works great (~2000 glmarks) , so does nouveau(~800 glmarks)

Use the special "cheat code" Shift+Fn+1 5 3 2 4 from the tty to enable the BIOS thermal management console
Press Fn+R to enter that (This suspends all other stuff running, and runs in text mode, so don't do it from within X or you may lose display)
Set the fan RPMs to max, the BIOS is very conservative.

I use a custom bash script that uses cpufreq and i8kutils to keep the CPU between two temperature thresholds.

Offline

#1437 2013-08-27 03:22:42

cardinal-biggles
Member
Registered: 2013-05-24
Posts: 17

Re: Laptops which run Arch

rep_movsd wrote:

Use the special "cheat code" Shift+Fn+1 5 3 2 4 from the tty to enable the BIOS thermal management console
Press Fn+R to enter that (This suspends all other stuff running, and runs in text mode, so don't do it from within X or you may lose display)
Set the fan RPMs to max, the BIOS is very conservative.

Works on my computer too. Any way to undo this?

EDIT: Simply pressing Fn+1 works for me. Pressing it again puts things back to normal.

rep_movsd wrote:

I use a custom bash script that uses cpufreq and i8kutils to keep the CPU between two temperature thresholds.

Please share. I think it would be quite useful.

Last edited by cardinal-biggles (2013-08-27 20:46:55)

Offline

#1438 2013-08-27 20:31:33

zacariaz
Member
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 475
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Lenovo Ideapad y500.
Behaves reasonable well, though I had to remove the second GPU, at least for now, and of course I can't get the proprietary nvidia drivers to work with 3.10.

Offline

#1439 2013-08-30 08:08:36

explorer
Member
Registered: 2011-06-15
Posts: 38

Re: Laptops which run Arch

When running on battery, or if you disconnection from 220V, then freezes hard in 2-3 minutes. Helps only restart by switching off and on again.

What to do? Installed latest version of Arch Linux. My laptop Dell Vorsto 3700.

Last edited by explorer (2013-08-30 08:14:34)

Offline

#1440 2013-09-01 07:12:35

xtian
Member
Registered: 2013-08-25
Posts: 117

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Installed Arch on 08-28-2013 on my ThinkPad R40...

Offline

#1441 2013-09-01 09:02:23

phairland
Member
Registered: 2013-08-24
Posts: 15

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Samsung R730
17" wide-screen (nice for watching movies)
i3 intel core processor
640 GB HDD
8 GB Memory

One issue when installing archlinux, even in ubuntu as well, that the screen becomes full blast with the backlight and I am unable to use the FN backlight buttons to adjust it. When in Ubuntu 12.04 I have to install samsung drivers and other configurations.
When I installed archlinux under awesome wm I just made some keybindings to xbacklight (sudo pacman -S xorg-xbacklight) and now works perfectly. I once installed KDE4 and the backlight keys works out of the box.

I have as well a thinkpad X60, 12" screen which works very well.

Offline

#1442 2013-09-01 14:39:51

aiBo
Member
Registered: 2010-11-10
Posts: 36

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Thinkpad E335 with AMD E2-1800 APU

# lshw -short

H/W path       Device  Class       Description
==============================================
                       system      335564G (ThinkPad Edge E335)
/0                     bus         335564G
/0/0                   memory      128KiB BIOS
/0/2c                  memory      4GiB System Memory
/0/2c/0                memory      SODIMM DDR3 [empty]
/0/2c/1                memory      4GiB SODIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1600 MHz (0,6 ns)
/0/31                  processor   AMD E2-1800 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
/0/31/32               memory      128KiB L1 cache
/0/31/33               memory      1MiB L2 cache
/0/100                 bridge      Family 14h Processor Root Complex
/0/100/1               display     Wrestler [Radeon HD 7340]
/0/100/1.1             multimedia  Wrestler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6250/6310]
/0/100/4               bridge      Family 14h Processor Root Port
/0/100/4/0     enp1s0  network     RTL8111/8168 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller
/0/100/5               bridge      Family 14h Processor Root Port
/0/100/5/0     wlp2s0  network     BCM4313 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller
/0/100/7               bridge      Family 14h Processor Root Port
/0/100/7/0             generic     RTS5209 PCI Express Card Reader
/0/100/10              bus         FCH USB XHCI Controller
/0/100/10/0    usb5    bus         xHCI Host Controller
/0/100/10/1    usb4    bus         xHCI Host Controller
/0/100/11              storage     FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
/0/100/12              bus         FCH USB OHCI Controller
/0/100/12/1    usb3    bus         OHCI Host Controller
/0/100/12.2            bus         FCH USB EHCI Controller
/0/100/12.2/1  usb1    bus         EHCI Host Controller
/0/100/13              bus         FCH USB OHCI Controller
/0/100/13/1    usb6    bus         OHCI Host Controller
/0/100/13.2            bus         FCH USB EHCI Controller
/0/100/13.2/1  usb2    bus         EHCI Host Controller
/0/100/14              bus         FCH SMBus Controller
/0/100/14.2            multimedia  FCH Azalia Controller
/0/100/14.3            bridge      FCH LPC Bridge
/0/100/14.4            bridge      FCH PCI Bridge
/0/100/14.5            bus         FCH USB OHCI Controller
/0/100/14.5/1  usb7    bus         OHCI Host Controller
/0/101                 bridge      Family 12h/14h Processor Function 0
/0/102                 bridge      Family 12h/14h Processor Function 1
/0/103                 bridge      Family 12h/14h Processor Function 2
/0/104                 bridge      Family 12h/14h Processor Function 3
/0/105                 bridge      Family 12h/14h Processor Function 4
/0/106                 bridge      Family 12h/14h Processor Function 6
/0/107                 bridge      Family 12h/14h Processor Function 5
/0/108                 bridge      Family 12h/14h Processor Function 7

Wifi, sound, graphics, hibernating , trackpoint and brightness buttons work so far and only for the wifi I had to install an additional package form the AUR: broadcom-wl-dkms.
I haven't tested the camera and bluetooth yet, so I don't know if they work ootb.

The only thing I haven't got to work by now is suspend. It seems that it suspends fine but instantly crashes when I try to wake it up (by pressing the power button or by opening the lid) and doesn't respond to any keys (CTRL+ALT+DEL, power button). Hence I had to hard reset it. As I don't get any crash dumps, I'm not really sure where to start debugging this issue.

Offline

#1443 2013-09-01 14:59:57

bl4ckb0x
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2013-09-01
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Archlinux + KDE Running flawlessly on Fujitsu Lifebook LH532 Laptop (3rd Gen Ci3/ 4GB RAM)

Offline

#1444 2013-09-08 13:10:10

grabbexi
Member
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 51

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus U36SG-RX049V with Arch + wmii (WM)

Runs like a dream out of the box, bumblebee works pretty fine - management of graphics is ok. smile I would recommend.

Last edited by grabbexi (2013-09-08 13:11:05)

Offline

#1445 2013-09-09 02:37:45

Pse
Member
Registered: 2008-03-15
Posts: 383

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire V3-571 (Core i5 3210M, 16GB DDR3-1600, Atheros dual-band WiFi-N, 750GB, DVD-RW, USB 3). All is good (including special keys, hibernation, suspend-to-ram) except for one thing: the card reader (Broadcom BCM57765), which fails randomly (known Linux driver issue, no fix yet). Running Gnome 3 + extensions.

Last edited by Pse (2013-09-09 02:39:16)

Offline

#1446 2013-09-09 13:32:35

Zamajalo
Member
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Registered: 2013-08-26
Posts: 17

Re: Laptops which run Arch

ASUS K73BR
Screen: 17.3", 1600x900
CPU: AMD E450 1.65GHz
GPU: Radeon 7470M 1GB
RAM: 4GB DDR3
WIFI: Atheros AR9485
Bluetooth: Atheros

Main hardware:
Everything except GPU works out of box - radeon module can't boot without nomodeset parameter, but card works pretty good with catalyst driver (installed from unofficial repo), only problem is backlight control (not working, but indicator is shown) which is caused by fglrx. Problem can be solved with little script which controls backlight via aticonfig (manual echoing value to acpi_video0/brightness is not working, only way to do that is via aticonfig). Script is binded to Fn+F5/F6 with ACPI's handler.sh, so it works pretty good now. Links can be found at the end of the post, thank me later. smile

Additional stuff:
I had to write a script for touchpad handler (Fn+F9) because I haven't found another way. Also, I had some free time to write a Power4Gear (sort of) replacement which changes CPU governor when Fn+Space combination is pressed (default behaviour on windows)
Media player control buttons work as expected, calculator shortcut must be added in Keyboard settings (Fn+NumPad Enter)

Suspend and hibernation are working good (pm-utils and acpid), just set this in /etc/systemd/logind.conf to stop systemd from taking over acpi events:

HandlePowerKey=ignore
HandleSuspendKey=ignore
HandleHibernateKey=ignore
HandleLidSwitch=ignore

You can find my /etc/acpi/handler.sh here, touchpad control script here, Power4Gear 'replacement' here and backlight control script here. I was too lazy and with not too much spare time, so those scripts are written quickly in python... I hope you don't mind, at last they their job well.

That /etc/acpi/handler.sh script is configured for my needs, so if you don't need your laptop to choose between hibernate/sleep (depending on charger presence) when lid is closed and some other stuff, use it just as an example.

I'm using XFCE as DE, and there are no problems with it.


Using Arch Linux x86-64 (linux-ck-bobcat kernel) on AMD based laptop with HD 7400 series GPU.

dd if=/dev/null of=/dev/everything

Offline

#1447 2013-09-15 14:31:17

jantman
Member
Registered: 2013-09-14
Posts: 5

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Mid-2012 MacBook Pro Retina 15" 10,1 works mostly file, albeit some minor issues with Nvidia drivers, and I haven't gotten hibernate/suspend working yet, or screen or keyboard backlight.

I'm doing my entire install and config with Puppet, and some manual instructions to get to the point that Puppet will run. The code and instructions are at: https://github.com/jantman/puppet-archl … bookretina for anyone else who will find it helpful.

Offline

#1448 2013-09-16 18:01:40

surya
Member
From: Bandar Lampung, Indonesia
Registered: 2013-02-14
Posts: 3
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire 4741G
Intel Core i5, 2.53 GHz
NVIDIA GeForce GT420M

With XFCE Inside :3

Offline

#1449 2013-09-17 15:59:59

matanya
Member
Registered: 2013-07-03
Posts: 4

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba Satellite S855-S5378

http://us.toshiba.com/computers/laptops … 855-S5378/

and Asus k53e-b1

http://www.amazon.com/K53E-B1-15-6-Inch … B004LUU8WU

both work perfect out of the box.

Offline

#1450 2013-09-20 06:16:04

b1tH1de0
Member
Registered: 2013-06-05
Posts: 17

Re: Laptops which run Arch

6-year old HP 6710b (added 2GB of RAM for convenience) works perfectly. Although it falls behind with newer DEs (Cinnamon), DWM (still) works flawlessly.

Very happy with close-to-Gentoo performance while not spending weekend afternoons trying to manage it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB