You are not logged in.

#1576 2014-05-08 08:47:58

ramkatral
Member
Registered: 2014-04-21
Posts: 29

Re: Laptops which run Arch

So, as promised, I'm posting an update.  I finally went from external HDD booting to running straight off the internal SSD.  It's ridiculous how perfectly everything works right out of the box.

HP Split X2 Ultrabook
Intel i5 Haswell
4 Gb RAM
128 GB SSD
Intel Graphics
HD Truvision Webcam
Dual batteries (Both detected properly)

UEFI dual booting works excellent with Grub 2 after passing commands to the Windows 8 boot manager to not prioritize itsself at boot. 
Touch screen works flawlessly and needed no calibration.

I'm running gnome 3 because the ultrabook converts to a tablet, and I figured it was the easiest desktop to use in that mode.  In gnome, when I remove the screen from the keyboard portion, there are no hiccups in operation.  It transitions as smoothly as windows does.  Gnome 3 is very intuitive and functional in tablet mode.  The onscreen keyboard operates flawlessly.

All in all, I've had absolutely no failures of anything at all to work.  The only tweaking I've had to do was blacklisting some wireless modules from the kernel to prevent hard blocking problems.

Offline

#1577 2014-05-09 09:50:20

galux
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2010-05-19
Posts: 12

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Hi everyone

My Laptop

Lenovo Thinkpad T420 14'
500GB HDD plus 256 SSD (in a dvd bay)
16 GB RAM DDR3 1333 (yes, 16)
i5 2540 (2'60 GHz)
Battery 9 cells

Running Archlinux x86_64 prefectly, all works out the box. (with some work for mi side)
And that's all

Nice day

Last edited by galux (2014-05-09 17:04:18)

Offline

#1578 2014-05-22 16:19:08

xvzf
Member
Registered: 2014-05-18
Posts: 44

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire V3-772G
GTX 760
Samsung Evo 250GB

Wifi needs some tweaking, but works

Offline

#1579 2014-05-25 19:27:55

xaris
Member
From: Athens
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 14

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Gateway MX3225

256 RAM, Intel Celeron M 1.5GHz, Wifi (RealteK)
SoundCard Via AC97 (haven't fixed yet) : Works great now! (RealteK Via 8237)
modem (don't have a clue and don't give one big_smile)

Harris

Last edited by xaris (2014-06-01 14:50:27)


Simplicity is prerequisite for reliability.

Offline

#1580 2014-05-25 19:35:21

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 134
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

xaris wrote:

Gateway MX3225

256 RAM, Intel Celeron M 1.5GHz, Wifi (RealteK)
SoundCard Via AC97 (haven't fixed yet)
modem (don't have a clue and don't give one big_smile)

Harris

It's got a Dial-up modem?


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Condescension creates negative energy, and that's just not helpful.

Offline

#1581 2014-05-26 07:13:49

xaris
Member
From: Athens
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 14

Re: Laptops which run Arch

wchouser3 wrote:
xaris wrote:

Gateway MX3225

256 RAM, Intel Celeron M 1.5GHz, Wifi (RealteK)
SoundCard Via AC97 (haven't fixed yet)
modem (don't have a clue and don't give one big_smile)

Harris

It's got a Dial-up modem?

Yes actually but I haven't tested it.

here are the specs.


Simplicity is prerequisite for reliability.

Offline

#1582 2014-05-26 14:58:57

redbeard0531
Member
Registered: 2007-12-28
Posts: 12

Re: Laptops which run Arch

With the patched driver my touchpad was misdetected as a clickpad. This resulted in the left mouse button only working while I had a finger on the touchpad surface.  If this effects anyone else you can fix it by forcing the ClickPad=0 option with synclient (for current session) or  /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-synaptics.conf for all future sessions.

Offline

#1583 2014-05-27 00:50:30

riveale
Member
Registered: 2013-09-10
Posts: 49
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

redbeard, you had exactly the same problem I had. Yes, this happened after the most recent update of the synaptics driver or the kernel to 3.14 (not sure which, probably the driver), which changed the /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-synaptics.conf file to add some other rules and stuff it seems.

I set clickpad=0, but now it seems that palm/touch etc. detection does not work (I also basically deleted all the new stuff in the 50-synaptics.conf file). What does your conf file look like?

Thank you so much for pointing this out I totally forgot to post about it!

Are you using the rmi-hid driver and have you had any problems with it? Have you had any luck getting pinch-to-zoom etc. working (andrew says it's part of the xorg synaptics driver and not the device driver, so I guess it's a settings thing...?)

R

Last edited by riveale (2014-05-27 00:51:43)

Offline

#1584 2014-05-29 17:19:42

GSF1200S
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 435

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Lenovo Thinkpad T530 with Optimus.

Everything works on Arch and most other distros Ive tried. The mic mute button and led is perhaps the only thing that fails on some distros. There is a archwiki article on the T530, but its mostly outdated now as later kernels have fixed many of the problems which existed before. Sleep works, the wireless card has good connectivity and powersaving features on it is supported in the driver, all the hotkeys work, bumblebee works with optimus (i have to use primusrun instead of optirun for some reason), multitouch on the touchpad works, webcam and mics work fine, and the backlit keyboard (which is handled by bios) works fine as well.

About the only bummer is the ethernet card. It works fine/great, but doesnt support powersaving. I have tlp setup to auto-disable it when not in use, and I mostly use wifi anyways.

Ill give it a 9.5/10

Offline

#1585 2014-05-29 21:07:17

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 134
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

SoundCard Via AC97 (haven't fixed yet)

have you got this working yet?


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Condescension creates negative energy, and that's just not helpful.

Offline

#1586 2014-05-30 10:30:43

nivata
Member
Registered: 2014-05-30
Posts: 20

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Darkhunter wrote:

Asus UX32LN almost everything works and what didnt work I fixed in a hour and I am newbie. smile

Hi. I just bought this model (haven't received it yet). Can you explain briefly what didn't work and how you fixed it?

Offline

#1587 2014-06-01 14:51:57

xaris
Member
From: Athens
Registered: 2014-05-25
Posts: 14

Re: Laptops which run Arch

wchouser3 wrote:

SoundCard Via AC97 (haven't fixed yet)

have you got this working yet?

Hi wchouser3! I 've fix it now it's working great.


Simplicity is prerequisite for reliability.

Offline

#1588 2014-06-02 04:33:33

wchouser3
Member
From: Indiana USA
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 134
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Hi wchouser3! I 've fix it now it's working great.

Awesome!


If you can't be helpful, don't say anything at all. Condescension creates negative energy, and that's just not helpful.

Offline

#1589 2014-06-04 10:14:41

fennectech
Member
From: /home/fennectech/
Registered: 2014-06-04
Posts: 160

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Emachine E525    everything works great   accept the microphone       and this wierd lag i get every so often forcing me to reboot the thing    i suspect its something with uPower


[FennecTECH@ArchOS ~]$ cat about_myself
Hello there my name is FennecTECH I am a novice arch user though I am here to learn  I live in central Minnesota where I hangout in the console and make my way into X11. Nice to meet you all! Enjoy my home directory feel free to poke around. There is a solution to every problem, so long as you do not break the laws of physics.
=^_^=
[FennecTECH@ArchOS ~]$

Offline

#1590 2014-06-10 19:33:15

GermanyChris
Member
From: Southern Germany
Registered: 2013-10-14
Posts: 60

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Latitude E6500 w/ Intel 7260 AC/BT4 mini PCI-e card everything works just fine as do all my express cards and docking station.

Last edited by GermanyChris (2014-06-10 20:06:49)


Don't scab for the bosses Don't listen to their lies Poor folks ain't got a chance Unless they organize --Florence Reece

Offline

#1591 2014-06-18 14:33:33

starquake
Member
Registered: 2013-05-03
Posts: 4

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Latitude E6540. Been using it for a few months now and I haven't come across something that didn't work yet. Wifi, BT even the volume and brightness buttons.

Offline

#1592 2014-06-18 21:08:04

chronos
Member
Registered: 2014-06-18
Posts: 7

Re: Laptops which run Arch

DELL XPS 13 (Developer Edition)
Everything runs smothly and out of the box although the Trackpad can not be configured too well due to some hard coding in the driver (Right now it doesn't work but That's a Bug in the new kernel)

Offline

#1593 2014-06-19 18:25:08

ashlu
Member
Registered: 2014-06-19
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

New to the forum.. Figured this would be a good first post becuase I haven't seen too much info relating to the 2013 Dell XPS 15 9350. Almost everything works quite well out of the box. Suspend/hibernate, wifi, fn keys for display backlight, audio, haven't tried the track switching play/pause, though.

Having a little trouble with the Bumblebee and optimus for 3D stuff, but other wise the dual/triple head monitor setup works near flawlessly with KDE, and KDE is quite happy with the 3200x1800 resolution. Some GTK stuff can look pretty funky, but it gets better with some font/theme changes. 

Other issues: No multi touch on the trackpad or the touchscreen, but the touchscreen does have basic functionality.

Offline

#1594 2014-06-19 18:27:18

samiam
Banned
From: EAX
Registered: 2010-08-20
Posts: 58

Re: Laptops which run Arch

ashlu wrote:

Other issues: No multi touch on the trackpad or the touchscreen, but the touchscreen does have basic functionality.

Try touchegg.

Offline

#1595 2014-06-19 18:31:47

ashlu
Member
Registered: 2014-06-19
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I'll have to look into. I've been pretty lazy about getting that stuff to work because two finger scroll works, and I haven't had much reason to dig much deeper. Thanks for the reminder!

Offline

#1596 2014-06-21 19:12:19

SuperKomputerKid
Member
From: /space/milkyway/earth/oregon
Registered: 2014-03-23
Posts: 13
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I am using a Dell Inspiron 3521, with an Intel Celeron CPU, 4 gigs of RAM, and a 320 gig Disk. It also has 2 USB 3.0 ports. All works great, except for the screen, which is cracked sad. Because of that I use it hooked up to a Compaq W17q 1440x900 monitor. I also Use the GNOME 3 desktop, as I like being able to hit "super" and type what I am looking for, and I also like the Wayland support.


If somebody tells me that I'm a geek, I just say: "And you're a windows (or OSX) using pleb with no room to talk."

Offline

#1597 2014-06-22 05:34:17

rgomes
Member
Registered: 2013-11-15
Posts: 41

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Hi everyone,
I got away from this project for a while, and never got any progress done hmm
I was to come back, and see that the trackpad seems to have been working, and have been happily using the driver in the repo for the last couple of weeks, it was nice to have a functional trackpad smile
Unfortunately, it seems that the latest update has broken something, and the driver is no longer working (the trackpad is back to being used as a mouse hmm).
I am willing to cooperate as much as I can to get this to work again, let me know what you need.
When we get it to work again, I plan on updating the front page to explain how to get it to work.

Thanks!

Offline

#1598 2014-06-22 05:58:34

rgomes
Member
Registered: 2013-11-15
Posts: 41

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I downgraded the -ck kernel from 3.14.8 to 3.13.11, and the drivers work again, I'm going to keep it this way until I get in contact with someone, and need to test in the latest kernel.

Offline

#1599 2014-06-22 17:44:23

rgomes
Member
Registered: 2013-11-15
Posts: 41

Re: Laptops which run Arch

It seems that something weird happened.
I changed the kernel, and reset the synaptics config files, and it seems to be working now.
I will update the original article soon, after I experiment a bit more with multitouch

EDIT: No, it doesn't fully work, I figured out why sometimes it doesn't work with the new kernel, and other times it doesn't: if I have an external mouse plugged in, the trackpad has multitouch, otherwise it doesn't Maybe a timing issue with how drivers are getting loaded? It works without an external on 3.13

Last edited by rgomes (2014-06-22 17:47:18)

Offline

#1600 2014-06-23 06:58:08

meowcats
Member
Registered: 2014-05-06
Posts: 4

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP g7. AMD A8. Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]
Everything work out of the box except suspend. suspend is good, but black screen on resume.
Needs kernel parameters for suspend to work

acpi_sleep=s3_bios,s3_mode

battery life sucks. using tlp idle power ~12w.

Last edited by meowcats (2014-06-23 07:01:53)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB