You are not logged in.

#1 2017-07-13 16:18:07

Lain

Problem with NVIDIA's drivers in a dual-GPU laptop.

First, hello to everyone.
I'm new to the forum, this is my first post, although I've already lurked on it for some issues.

Now, some information.
I have an ASUS laptop with two GPUs, the Intel integrated one and the NVIDIA dedicated one. Since it's always plugged and I need more performance, I want the OS to use the DGP (i.e. NVIDIA) when it comes to run games or heavy programs such as photo/video editing etc...
I have also graphic rendering problems sometimes, so I assume it's a driver-related problem, but I'm not an expert so I could mistake.

What I have tried:
1) The output of $ lspci -k | grep -A 2 -E "(VGA|3D)" is the following:

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 520 (rev 07)
	Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 10ee
	Kernel driver in use: i915
--
01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GM108M [GeForce 920MX] (rev a2)
	Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 10ee
	Kernel modules: nouveau

2) Downloading and trying both (but not at the same time, nb) the nouveau and the nvidia drivers (i.e. nvidia, nvidia-utils, nvidia-beta, xf86-video-nouveau)

3) Trying to install Bumblebee with both the NVIDIA proprietary driver method (that didn't work, maybe because I didn't manage to install them?) and the PRIME method (since the wiki says the nouveau install is deprecated). In short, I never managed to run Bumblebee properly, every optirun command give me this output:

[ 5307.148694] [ERROR]The Bumblebee daemon has not been started yet or the socket path /var/run/bumblebee.socket was incorrect.
[ 5307.148784] [ERROR]Could not connect to bumblebee daemon - is it running?

The PRIME output was:

Providers: number : 1
Provider 0: id: 0x46 cap: 0xf, Source Output, Sink Output, Source Offload, Sink Offload crtcs: 3 outputs: 4 associated providers: 0 name:modesetting