You are not logged in.

#1 2017-08-30 19:52:49

lezned
Member
Registered: 2016-07-24
Posts: 6

[Solved] No network device

Hi all.

I made a fresh archlinux installation and during it my ethernet device was correctly identified, configured, and connected to network.
But after reboot it is not present.

Output of command

ip link

shows only loopback interface lo (same output for commandip a).

Output of command

lspci -v

shows network device:

Intel Corporation Ethernet Connection (2) I218-V

I tried to load the e1000e module but command

modprobe e1000e

shows following error:

modprobe: FATAL: Module e1000e not found in directory /lib/modules/4.11.9-1-ARCH

What should I do?

Thanks

PS: output of command uname -a is 4.11.9-1-ARCH, but folder /lib/modules/4.11.9-1-ARCH doesn't exist.
It exists the folder /lib/modules/4.12.8-2-ARCH instead. Is it correct?

Last edited by lezned (2017-09-01 06:48:30)

Offline

#2 2017-08-30 19:59:48

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 16,511

Re: [Solved] No network device

Your kernel was updated when your boot partition was not mounted on /boot.

Mount the boot partition and reinstall your kernel;  It should be cached and will not need a NIC.  Just use Pacman's -S switch (only)
Reboot, and check that the bootloader is now picking up the correct kernel.
Fix your /etc/fstab to automatically mount the boot partition on /boot.


Extra bonus points:  Unmount the boot partition which causes /boot to no longer be a mount point and act like a normal directory.  It should be empty when nothing is mounted on it.  It probably has a kernel and an initrd in there.  Clean them out.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2017-08-30 20:32:18

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 27,310
Website

Re: [Solved] No network device

Not an Installation issue, moving to NC...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#4 2017-08-31 23:28:10

lezned
Member
Registered: 2016-07-24
Posts: 6

Re: [Solved] No network device

ewaller wrote:

Your kernel was updated when your boot partition was not mounted on /boot.

Mount the boot partition and reinstall your kernel;  It should be cached and will not need a NIC.  Just use Pacman's -S switch (only)
Reboot, and check that the bootloader is now picking up the correct kernel.
Fix your /etc/fstab to automatically mount the boot partition on /boot.


Extra bonus points:  Unmount the boot partition which causes /boot to no longer be a mount point and act like a normal directory.  It should be empty when nothing is mounted on it.  It probably has a kernel and an initrd in there.  Clean them out.

Thank you, this solved.

Offline

#5 2017-08-31 23:30:33

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 27,310
Website

Re: [Solved] No network device

Please remember to mark your thread as [Solved] by editing your first post and prepending it to the title.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB