You are not logged in.

#1 2017-08-30 22:46:16

EjDriver
Member
Registered: 2016-11-27
Posts: 5

[SOLVED]Motherboad dual hd alc 1220 issue (Gigabyte Gaming K7 X370)

Audio issue concerning Dual HD ALC 1220 on my Gigabyte K7 motherboard. So sound will not switch from line out (rear) to the front panel headphone jack (pluged in). When pluging in the headphone it only changes the volume of the speakers connected to line out.  I've used alsamixer and check to see the config. Its only showing one HD Audio. Also the mic input doesnot get recoginze when plugged in (front or rear).

Here is the kernel message. I believe the the chips are being combined and not seperated. *note pci listing*

 6.972603] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D0: autoconfig for ALC1220: line_outs=3 (0x14/0x15/0x16/0x0/0x0) type:line
[    6.972605] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    6.972607] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D0:    hp_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    6.972608] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    6.972611] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D0:    dig-out=0x1e/0x0
[    6.972611] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D0:    inputs:
[    6.972612] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D0:      Rear Mic=0x18
[    6.972613] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D0:      Line=0x1a
[    6.982081] nvidia: loading out-of-tree module taints kernel.
[    6.982086] nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
[    6.982086] Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
[    6.984692] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D1: autoconfig for ALC1220: line_outs=1 (0x14/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:hp
[    6.984694] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D1:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    6.984695] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D1:    hp_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    6.984695] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D1:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    6.984696] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D1:    inputs:
[    6.984697] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC2D1:      Front Mic=0x1a
[    6.993955] input: HD-Audio Generic Rear Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:08.1/0000:12:00.3/sound/card2/input8
[    6.994023] input: HD-Audio Generic Line as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:08.1/0000:12:00.3/sound/card2/input9
[    6.994070] input: HD-Audio Generic Line Out Front as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:08.1/0000:12:00.3/sound/card2/input10
[    6.994121] input: HD-Audio Generic Line Out Surround as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:08.1/0000:12:00.3/sound/card2/input11
[    6.994166] input: HD-Audio Generic Line Out CLFE as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:08.1/0000:12:00.3/sound/card2/input12
[    6.994210] input: HD-Audio Generic Front Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:08.1/0000:12:00.3/sound/card2/input13
[    6.994254] input: HD-Audio Generic Front Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:08.1/0000:12:00.3/sound/card2/input14

The motherboard is fine, I've tested the setup on windows 10 w/ no audio issues.

Last edited by EjDriver (2018-03-06 00:13:13)

Offline

#2 2017-09-06 02:52:38

EjDriver
Member
Registered: 2016-11-27
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED]Motherboad dual hd alc 1220 issue (Gigabyte Gaming K7 X370)

Update:

So I'm using the HDAAnalyzer to change some configurations. I can make changes to Node[0x14] PIN, by (unchecking Val (0,1) and checking HP and OUT under the Widget Control it will let the mic input pass through the headphone. Still cannot hear playback from apps. Sound option under gnome settings will see the front mic plugged in but still doesnt register input, same for headphones.

I've also downloaded and check the linux kernel for a dual codec patch located here:
https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/ke … aaeca4d4e4

The patch is already in place so no need to recomplie. But it may need to be configure for the current motherboard as it's written for MSI Z270-Gaming and Gigabyte AZ370-Gaming and SSID may need changing. I did notice the lspci shows Gigabyte Audio using HD Generic (snd_hda_intel and not the snd_realtek module). You can also see that in my previous post.

Last edited by EjDriver (2017-09-06 03:01:38)

Offline

#3 2017-09-06 06:54:56

mich41
Member
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 772

Re: [SOLVED]Motherboad dual hd alc 1220 issue (Gigabyte Gaming K7 X370)

Do you mean two physical ALC1220 chips? Then they will likely show up as two separate soundcards and you are probably playing audio to only one. Will need some tweaking in ALSA or Pulseaudio configuration, depending on which you use. Paste

aplay -l

Offline

#4 2017-09-06 22:26:41

EjDriver
Member
Registered: 2016-11-27
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED]Motherboad dual hd alc 1220 issue (Gigabyte Gaming K7 X370)

Here's the output of aplay -l

card 2: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC1220 Analog [ALC1220 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 1: ALC1220 Digital [ALC1220 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 4: ALC1220 Analog [ALC1220 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0 

I'm current looking at the pcm info.

Offline

#5 2017-09-07 06:40:34

mich41
Member
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 772

Re: [SOLVED]Motherboad dual hd alc 1220 issue (Gigabyte Gaming K7 X370)

Then I suppose one of these will play white noise to the rear jack and the other to the front.

aplay /dev/urandom -f dat -D plughw:2,0
aplay /dev/urandom -f dat -D plughw:2,4

If that's the case, you need to configure things so that audio is played to both 2,0 and 2,4 at the same time or switched between them when the front jack is plugged.

There are ALSA configs floating on the net which duplicate audio to two soundcards. And if you don't want to bother with it but you use Pulseaudio, I think it ought to support such functionality too but I can't help with that because I don't use this thing myself.

Last edited by mich41 (2017-09-07 06:41:20)

Offline

#6 2017-09-07 13:23:11

EjDriver
Member
Registered: 2016-11-27
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED]Motherboad dual hd alc 1220 issue (Gigabyte Gaming K7 X370)

I performed the test yesterday using a .wav file while I was looking at the pcm. Device hw:2,0 will play output to the rear line output. But nothing plays out of hw:2,4. I also did the same test for mic input but there's no recording being capture from the rear or front panel. I leaning toward it being a bug issue with the kernel that the previous patch fix for other motherboards. I'll do more testing on the weekend, for now I'm using usb audio.

Offline

#7 2018-03-06 00:07:32

EjDriver
Member
Registered: 2016-11-27
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED]Motherboad dual hd alc 1220 issue (Gigabyte Gaming K7 X370)

UPDATE

On-board sound and microphone working thanks to user Meclar from the Level1Techs Forums. Meclar found this link https://frdmtoplay.com/gigabyte-front-p … ith-linux/. The issue was coming from pulseaudio not enabling the module for headphone port (by default it only used the first device). Also the link does not explain how to enable the microphone port. Just repeat the steps substituting "sink" with "source" when loading the module.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB