You are not logged in.

#1 2017-08-31 11:10:13

Tondo

[SOLVED] System will not shut down on X1 Carbon 5 after flashing BIOS

I am experiencing very strange behaviour while starting and shutting down my laptop (X1 Carbon 5th gen).
Please excuse my terminology/english. I came from M$ world and I have been using Arch for only ~3 months, so I am surly a newbie. I can't event tell whether this is a HW problem or not.

Firstly, I see delayed boot messages (~20 sec). Normally, I see booting messages immediately after the starting "Lenovo screen" fades.
Secondly, when I shut down my laptop, it ends up in black screen and I can't do anything (not even switching tty with Ctrl+Alt+F2, ...). Laptop reacts to one thing only: long pressing of the shut down button.

These two issues seem to be related and occur subsequently. This seems to happen randomly. I tried to use some installed software to find out if it's usage influences this, but it does not seem likely. Sometimes it happens 2-3 times subsequently, sometimes it does not happen all day. I have spent last 4 hours finding out what produces this behaviour and capturing logs...

This started after my laptop was serviced - they replaced my motherboard (note that X1C 2017 has soldered RAMs and CPU). The reason for that was that my CPU overheated way too often (entire journal was about CPU throttling).

When I first noticed this stuff, I updated everything and flashed BIOS with latest version - without any effect.

Here is dmesg log when I experience "delayed boot messages"

Here is journal log after I shut down system via KDE.

I also tried not to shut down system via KDE, but via `shutdown now` in different session (switched tty). This is a bit interesting, because after last message, the system hangs up for ~20 sec and then display will slowly "fades away" - until it is just plain black (I am not sure how to even describe this - never seen this before). Here are shut down messages:

[  OK  ] Stopped Authorization Manager.