You are not logged in.

#1 2017-09-24 04:34:28

nishantvarma
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2015-09-04
Posts: 27

[Solved] TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata

I am running the Arch Testing.

OS: Arch Linux x86_64
Hostname: archlinux
Kernel Release: 4.13.3-1-ARCH

However I get this error at the boot time:

[    0.000000] [Firmware Bug]: TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata; please update microcode to version: 0xb2 (or later). Do I need to check out the update mentioned in https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/microcode?

I have Intel-ucode-20170707-1 which the latest available in Pacman. Can anyone help me solve this?

Last edited by nishantvarma (2017-09-24 05:07:40)

Offline

#2 2017-09-24 04:37:50

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 7,247

Re: [Solved] TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata

You have it installed, but are you actually loading it?

Online

#3 2017-09-24 05:06:45

nishantvarma
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2015-09-04
Posts: 27

Re: [Solved] TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata

Thank You Scimmia. I am using rEFInd, so I had to do this manually. Grub used to do it automatically so I never got into this problem.

Last edited by nishantvarma (2017-09-24 05:08:12)

Offline

#4 2017-10-20 12:38:08

archuser881
Member
Registered: 2017-10-20
Posts: 2

Re: [Solved] TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata

Hello,

I am getting the exact same issue, can you tell me how to fix it or redirect me to documentation (noob here).

Thanks.

Offline

#5 2017-10-20 12:40:18

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 3,353

Re: [Solved] TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata

Welcome to the forums archuser881 smile

Please search the wiki before posting, the link in the first post has all you need.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#6 2017-10-20 12:43:01

archuser881
Member
Registered: 2017-10-20
Posts: 2

Re: [Solved] TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata

Sorry,

indeed it had, and in the delay it fixed the issue.

PS: I will more careful in the future, I promise smile

Last edited by archuser881 (2017-10-20 12:43:56)

Offline

#7 2017-11-18 08:42:04

atilaneves
Member
Registered: 2015-09-18
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved] TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata

I just ran into this problem. The way I fixed it was to downgrade intel-ucode by using downgrade from the AUR. I also had to use `nomodeset quiet splash` to even get any output on the screen to fix the problem (away on holiday and didn't have a USB drive with the ISO to chroot).

Atila

Offline

#8 2018-08-13 10:44:37

Haythanina
Member
Registered: 2016-02-28
Posts: 8

Re: [Solved] TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata

Hello All,

I face the same issue.
I have tried to search the solution in the forum, i did not see.

As I cannot go further (my laptop does not go further than displaying the error), how can i do ?
Must I boot from an usb key ?

Thanks


Brand LENOVO T430S  RAM 4 Gb Hard Drive SSD 256 Gb

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB