You are not logged in.

#1 2017-11-13 22:59:11

pmabres

Graphical Issues MacBook Pro (Integrated GPU not detected)

Hello! I'm new in this forum and I'm really sorry for my confusing or lack of understanding of Arch. I'm really a beginner and I thought that someone here could know a little bit more than I do so I can troubleshoot this issue.

I have a MacBook Pro Retina mid 2012 : SPECS

Some info about my system (taken from dmesg):

Kernel Version: Linux version 4.11.3-1-ARCH (builduser@tobias) (gcc version 7.1.1 20170516 (GCC) ) #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun May 28 10:40:17 CEST 2017

Apple Inc. MacBookPro10,1/Mac-C3EC7CD22292981F, BIOS MBP101.88Z.00EE.B07.1501071031 01/07/2015

Full DMESG:

dmesg logs

Full Xorg.0.log:
xorg.log

Full lspci -v:
lspci

"optirun glxinfo" output:
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 650M/PCIe/SSE2

"glxinfo" output:
OpenGL vendor string: VMware, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 4.0, 256 bits)

I'm using XFCE as my desktop environment and I start it manually after log in:
"startxfce4"
(I like it that way, just in case if I have any hard issue to troubleshoot)

I know that this is not recommended but I cannot understand why having a /etc/X11/xorg.conf is an issue when running bumblebee but here it is my /etc/X11/xorg.conf
xorg.conf
I didn't create the file, it was originally created by GUI "Nvidia X server Settings | nvidia-settings"

So after some info has been posted I Proceed to explain my Issue:

I've been experimenting installing Ubuntu first at this laptop but after some complications with earlier linux kernel versions I opted for installing archlinux because of support for newer releases.
So far it has been amazing, I couldn't be more happier with arch.  But there are some still remaining issues...

I'm connected through thunderbolt to an external VGA monitor. The detection works straight out of the box.